4/8 Emmett PMPS 140

KLD

Member Since 2024
Hi! Been a while since I’ve posted about Emmett. He’s been on steroids since January at a very high dose, as well as being on a high carb hydrolyzed diet at vet request (to see if he has any additional allergies causing the condition needing the steroids to treat). Thusly, it has taken me a while to find a correct dose, which I really never accomplished.

That being said, he’s been having his prednisolone dose steadily dropped for a while now. He has just started at 1/2 tablet (2.5mg) every other day, and is just now seeing some regulation.

Also, please don’t judge me for all the skipped doses and my less than ideal handling of dosing… I’ve been very overwhelmed recently.

Anyway, I would like to ask for any advice. I am HOPING I can get him back into remission once he’s off the steroids (but the HC food is a complication). But I am very nervous what is going to happen on the days he doesn’t get the prednisolone, and how that will affect dosing.

For example, he once had a day (Feb 19) I had to rush him to the vet in the morning (ended up being constipation) and he didn’t get his pred or insulin that morning. Despite his blood sugar being in the 20’s for weeks prior, it dropped to normal levels just after one skipped pred dose and no insulin.

Just looking for general advice or experiences in this situation.

Thank you!!
 
Welcome back - your last post for background for other readers: 1/13 Emmett AMPS 353 +5 459

Also tagging @tiffmaxee who has also had to deal with eosinophilic granuloma but has gone the novel protein route.

Good to hear Emmett's pred dose is getting reduced and look at the difference in his numbers! You are on a lot smaller dose of pred than you were on Feb 19th, so hoping it's not an indication of what you'll see in the future. We've seen people here using steroids EOD, with not really drastic results, though more like what you are seeing which is a day of lower numbers with the pred not on board.

What time of day are you giving the pred, on the days you are giving it? Just wondering if you can figure out how long after giving it that it starts to impact the numbers and how long it's effect lasts in Emmett. It's a bit of an ECID thing.

Since you are following SLGS due to the high carb food, and using an AT, you might want to consider reducing the dose as a result of that 86 you got a week ago on this dose. That 86 was also just three cycles after a skipped dose, so on a reduced depot.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Thank you! That’s actually helpful.

He gets the pred at the exact same time as his insulin (7am/7pm because I split the dose in two). He also gets Atopica at 7am and restoralax for constipation twice a day, but I don’t imagine these are affecting his BG.

I’m really annoyed with myself because I had to skip his dose this morning. I didn’t realize I was completely out of syringes. I had one back up syringe given to me by a human diabetic, but I didn’t know how to read the numbers on it so obviously wasn’t going to risk it. By the time I could get more needles it made more sense just to skip this dose unfortunately. Frustrated with myself because he’s being doing so well lately.
 
I never noticed Restoralax impacting Neko's BG's. Lots of people here give PEG to their cats, so don't think that would do anything.

Splitting the pred dose in half each day is a good way to go, so you can gradually remove it's influence on his numbers. When you go down to 1 dose per day, which I presume is the next step, you can decide whether you'd like him to have slightly higher numbers at night (so you can sleep) or the day. If the pred effect happens fairly quickly, then you'd give the pred at the PM shot time. Good luck.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Thank you! Much appreciated.

If I’m remembering what the vet said at his last check up, I believe the next step is stopping the pred entirely (but continuing with Atopica), followed by another check up in another two weeks.

Hoping it all goes smoothly.
 
Hi. So sorry you are dealing with EGC. I am using novel protein. Only problem is each lasts about 1-2 years and then the lip sores return. I am currently making her food and feeding bison. I will be in trouble when it causes a reaction. The RX food should work without prednisolone I think if food is the culprit. They know so little about this. I also give her 1/2 a regular strength Zyrtec daily which helps with dermatitis and might also help with EGC I have read.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Hi. So sorry you are dealing with EGC. I am using novel protein. Only problem is each lasts about 1-2 years and then the lip sores return. I am currently making her food and feeding bison. I will be in trouble when it causes a reaction. The RX food should work without prednisolone I think if food is the culprit. They know so little about this. I also give her 1/2 a regular strength Zyrtec daily which helps with dermatitis and might also help with EGC I have read.
Oh that’s really interesting! Emmett’s only known trigger in chicken. However, he has/had a bump under his tongue that the vet described as the most difficult case of EGC she’s ever seen. It’s required multiple surgies and very high doses of steroids, plus antibiotics, to make a difference. The bumps that show up on his lips and paws clear really easily by removing chicken or more typical doses of pred.

The vet wanted to see if any other proteins were unknowingly causing a reaction, hence why he’s on his current food. She went through so many options for novel proteins, but unfortunately Emmett has had a varied diet and tried them all before, so she didn’t want to go for any of those flavours. So he’s eating a soy based one.
 
I am now feeding bison. There are some crazy novel proteins out there. Where I live I can’t get kangaroo. I’ve used so many also including chicken,turkey, venison,pork,beef,lamb,. She only had duck briefly but didn’t like it when Small Batch did something to it. I could try it but it’s high phosphorus.
 
I am now feeding bison. There are some crazy novel proteins out there. Where I live I can’t get kangaroo. I’ve used so many also including chicken,turkey, venison,pork,beef,lamb,. She only had duck briefly but didn’t like it when Small Batch did something to it. I could try it but it’s high phosphorus.
My problem is that Emmett is SO picky. He basically only likes seafood and rabbit. Thankfully, he’s been eating the prescription stuff because his desire for dry food is higher than his desire for a certain flavour lol.

His vet debated trying kangaroo, but she opted for the soy based one because she had never tried kangaroo before.
 
Neko loved kangaroo, it was her absolute favourite protein. And it's real meat, unlike soy. A more complete protein for them.
My vote was to try the kangaroo for that reason. But the vet wanted to go with the soy, since she was more familiar with it. Once he’s less of a mess and I have more mental capacity for this, maybe I will explore the kangaroo again.
 
Back
Top