4/8 Ella pm +3 315 +4 284 +6 230 +7.5=178 +8=158

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
Ella AMPS 304
Ella's dosing time are now at 6:30 am/pm (Eastern time)
 
Re: 4/8 Ella AMPS 304

I'm curious to see if Ella's numbers will be different today as I really encouraged her to eat her entire morning meal. Hopefully it will work out for her as I'd rather not isolate her in the bedroom all day.
 
Re: 4/8 Ella AMPS 304

You forgot to link to yesterday and just when I want to go back to find out why she might be confined!
 
Re: 4/8 Ella AMPS 304

I don't believe we talked about confining Ella in yesterday's condo. A few days ago there was some discussion in regards to a feeding schedule for her. I have four cats so I am unable to leave out her food as it will be gobbled up by the rest of the crew. I thought about buying an autofeeder so that I could spread out her meals but that would mean she would have to be isolated for 9 hours a day which in turn might stress her out. I'm trying to get her eating around my schedule:)
 
Re: 4/8 Ella AMPS 304 +2 245

Good morning, Tamara!

Nice +2! :smile:

Here's the link to yesterday's condo.

Regarding the food...one option is to move the shot time even earlier, that would help you and Ella out in a couple of ways. It would allow you to get more tests in before you leave so you could get an idea of how the cycle will go, and it would allow you to spread her food out more. The only drawback to it would be that you will need to get up earlier...but you could go btb for a bit after you test, feed and shoot, some people do that. Just a thought...

ETA: I should say it would allow you to get a test later in the cycle before you leave (not necessarily more tests!)...I really like the +2, it's often gives you a good idea if the cycle will be active or not.
 
Re: 4/8 Ella AMPS 304 +2 245

Good Morning Tamara and Ella,

I like Laurie's suggestion. Even a half hour earlier might do the trick and you would have time to feed breakfast in two installments before you leave for work, rather than just one.
Ella is doing really well (as are YOU!).

Happy Easter!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/8 Ella AMPS 304 +2 245

Hi Laurie,

If I move the shot time earlier then I won't be home to give her the snack. As is stands now she will have to wait until +10 to get some food which I know I'm not supposed to do as it will affect her bg at pmps. On the other hand I understand the importance of doing as many tests as I can. If I move her to 6:oo and then give her the last feeding before I leave at 7:30 then she will have to wait 10.5 hours until her next meal. Is that too long between feedings?
 
Re: 4/8 Ella AMPS 304 +2 245

Frankly, it would be better to eliminate the +9 snack anyway....we only suggest a snack after nadir if the cat has some sort of health issue that requires it or if they are close to OTJ..unless you are managing low numbers, of course....other than that, all it does is push up the PMPS. If you are feeding after nadir, there's not much insulin effect to counterbalance the food. Look at yesterday....she went from 286 to 354 at PMPS, she may have not risen that much without the snack.

If Ella were my cat with your schedule, I would shoot at 5:00/5:00, feed PS and a couple of mini meals before leaving (last one as I walked out the door) and not feed her until PMPS, or isolate her with the autofeeder and set up snacks until +6 at the latest. I'm not saying that's what you should do....it's just what I would do.

If you think she needs to eat more in between, can you come home at lunchtime or have someone else stop in and give her a snack? Just trying to think of other ideas....
 
Re: 4/8 Ella AMPS 304 +2 245 +4=300 +6 309

No curve for Ella today and she is quite tired. Perhaps overloading her with food this morning is having an effect on her numbers.
I can't do 5/5 as it is just too tight for my schedule. Sometimes the traffic is awful or Greg needs to stay a bit late to coach ( we carpool). 6/6 would work better for us. Are people on the board at 5:45am?
Unfortunately, I can't come home at lunch and don't have anyone that can stop in. That would be amazing!
 
Re: 4/8 Ella AMPS 304 +2 245 +4=300 +6 309

Hi Ella,

I managed to give her two installments today by +1 but it may have been too much. She is tired and looks kind of uncomfortable today:(
 
Re: 4/8 Ella AMPS 304 +2 245 +4=300 +6 309

Hi Tamara,
She may well be tired with all the changes that are going on and because of having to eat all her food before +1 this morning. I think that rather than giving her all of her food before +1, you try to give her half at PreShot, and the other half just as you are going out the door in the morning (is that 7:30?). So if you went to a 6 A.M/ 6 P.M. cycle schedule, you would feed the A.M. cycle's food in 2 equal "sittings", at AMPS (6 A.M.) and at +1.5 (7:30 A.M.). You could do a test at +1.5 (even though it wouldn't give you as much indication of how the cycle will go than a test at +2 would, it would be a better indicator than a test at +1). In the evening you can spread the food allotment out and feed at PMPS, +1, +2, [+3]. Since you will be home in the evening, you can collect more data on the evening cycle than you can on the daytime cycle. On weekends you can do in the AM cycle what you are doing in the PM cycle during the week (you can also do a curve on the weekend). This approach will give you a pretty good idea of how Ella handles her food and her insulin.
Sound like a plan that will fit into your schedule?

Keep on truckin'!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/8 Ella AMPS 304 +2 245 +4=300 +6 309

She may just be tired from all of the changes. Her whole system is adapting to the change in food, wet food affects the BG so differently. Is she less frantic to eat now? How is the rest of the whole cat report....peeing, pooping, preening, purring, playing? We call them the 5 Ps, and they are all clues to how our cats feel...a cat is more than her numbers, after all! I would get a ketone test if you can.

I think you should increase tonight to 1.25u unless she pulls a surprise before then (meaning lower numbers.) That will give you 3 cycles to monitor before you go back to work....it looks like she has plenty of room for the increase.
 
Re: 4/8 Ella AMPS 304 +2 245 +4=300 +6 309 +9=266

Hi Laurie,

Just tested + 9 and Ella was 266. She was starved and so I gave her an 1/8 which she was clearly not satisfied with. She is so used to getting a +9 snack and I don't have the heart to take it from her right now. However, If I switch her to 6/6 , she'll have no choice and I will attempt to mimic the weeks routine beginning tomorrow.

I was under the impression that Ella was on the start low go slow protocol as I'm not home to test enough for tight regualtion. If we are using the start low then wouldn't I need to hold the dose for 5-7 days? I'm guessing that you are suggesting an increase as I have the opportunity to do so safely now but once I'm working again she'll be on the start low protocol?

What would be considered a low number where I wouldn't want to increase her dose tonight?

She is preeing, purring,playful (when I initiate),peeing but no poo yet today. Neg keytones.

We are leaving for Easter dinner tonight. I will be checking her bg @ around 6:00pm, feeding and shooting at 6:20 (as I was a bit late this morning). We will then be gone for 2.5 hours or so.

I'm assuming I eye out the .25 or is there a trick i should know about:)

Hope the easter preparations are coming along nicely :-D
 
Re: 4/8 Ella suggested dose increase tonight (?)

Hello,

I'm shooting in an hour and it was suggested by Laurie that we increase the dose .25 if her numbers aren't too low. I realize and appreciate that families are getting ready to celebrate easter with their loved ones so there may not be that much action on the forum tonight. I myself will be running out the door after the dose. Can someone please clarify what number may be too low to shoot her at 1.25? I don't want to be scrambling at the last minute:)
Also, am I just eyeing out the .25?

Thanks so much!
Happy Easter!
 
Re: 4/8 Ella suggested dose increase tonight (?)

Tamara:

I know you are doing SLGS but I wonder if you might want to think about the TR a little more. There are lots of people here that are following TR but have the same kind of schedule. It will be her best way to get into healing numbers, get regulated, and hopefully go OTJ.

Even if you are following SLGS, I think I would still increase her tonight because she needs more insulin and you will be there, as Laurie said, for three more cycles to see how she adjusts. Since her numbers are still fairly high and you will be home hopefully by +2.5, then I think you are ok to increase. If you think you might be longer than that, you might want to hold off until tomorrow. Then, if you still want to do SLGS, you can hold the 1.25u for a week depending on whether she earns a reduction before then or not.

I was trying to find the .25u photo but can't put my fingers on it right now. But it is going to be where the top (syringe side) of the plunger is half way between 1.5u mark and 1u mark. Your 1.25u may not look like mine so what is most important is that it is consistent as you can get it.

Have a lovely dinner with your family. And if you feel any trepidation about increasing tonight, then wait until the morning.
 
Re: 4/8 Ella suggested dose increase tonight (?)

Thanks Marjorie!

It's hard to say what time I will be home...probably +2.5 but could be +3

I just tested her and she was 279. I will do another test in about 30 minutes. if she is hovering near this number or lower yellows is it ok to dose her at 1.25?

I'll only be feeding her 3/8 before I go but I can put her in the bedroom with the rest of her snack and an ice cube.

Happy Easter!
 
Re: 4/8 Ella suggested dose increase tonight (?)

Tamara....let me look at her SS again really quick.

Also...I meant to tell you that maybe in lieu of LC wet food for her snack later in the cycle, perhaps you could give her boiled chicken breast....it has no carbs. That's what I do for a snack for Gracie if she is absolutely ravenous; but
I don't have to worry as much as you do because she nadirs super late. However, when she was on lantus, I didn't give her snacks or food after +6...she adjusted. She was used to getting fed small amounts whenever she wanted it.
 
Re: 4/8 Ella suggested dose increase tonight (?)

Ok...I'm back. Yes...if she is still high yellow/pink, I'd go ahead and give the increase and test her as soon as you walk in the door. Leaving food out is a good idea.

Have fun!
 
Re: 4/8 Ella pm +3 315

Thanks Marjorie!!!

I apologize I didn't have my patience pants on earlier...I was getting a bit nervous with the increase coupled with the fact that I had to leave nailbite_smile

Ella was 315 +3. She ate the snack I left for her and then had her last bit just now. I will test her again soon.
 
Re: 4/8 Ella pm +3 315 +4 284

Tamara...you're welcome!! All is fine. Did you do the dosecrease? I didn't have a chance to look at your SS yet.
 
Re: 4/8 Ella pm +3 315 +4 284

I did. She's stalking a giant centipede right now so she's doing ok:)
I'll do a +6 unless you think I need to do every hour.
 
Re: 4/8 Ella pm +3 315 +4 284

I think a +6 is absolutely fine and if she's still high.....you can probably go ahead and sleep unless she has come down a great deal.
 
Re: 4/8 Ella pm +3 315 +4 284

Will do! What would be considered a great deal? In the early yellows or blues?
 
Re: 4/8 Ella pm +3 315 +4 284

hi tamara!

Here are the pictures of doses. Tons of good info on this page. scroll down about 1/2 way to the photos of syringes. the important thing on any dose is to just be consistent - your .25u doesn't have to be the same as my .25u, you just have to be able to repeat your .25u. it helps some people to take a used syringe and draw up the dose with something colored, tea, colored water, etc. so you can see what you did before.

i'm glad you went ahead and increased the dose. you don't want ella to be too high for too long.

enjoy your holiday!
 
Re: 4/8 Ella pm +3 315 +4 284 +6 230

Ella +6 230

Do I need to test every hour or can I still go by 2?
She would love some food too but do I hold out? I'm not sure if she'll make it to the morning but I'll try.
 
Re: 4/8 Ella pm +3 315 +4 284 +6 230

If you're tired, I think you're fine to feed her a little and go to bed. You can always test once more before bed if it makes you more comfortable. She might dip her toes into blue, but it doesn't like she is dropping at a rate that would put her anywhere near too low.
 
Re: 4/8 Ella pm +3 315 +4 284 +6 230

Hi Libby,

Thanks for the reply:)
She's not begging anymore...she just was hopeful after the last poke:)
Does anyone ever feed a bit of food to prevent a bounce or is that counterproductive in getting the liver used to low numbers? In the past she's bounced from being in the blues. I'd hate to see her in the reds tomorrow but understand if I have to let her bounce in the blues (if that even happens).

Thanks!
 
Re: 4/8 Ella pm +3 315 +4 284 +6 230

I was going to say to go to bed and you could check her in a few hours but looks like she's ok. I'm conservative but ...well...I have Gracie :-D

Glad she is coming down :-D

Feeding won't cause the bounce to not happen. Feeding a diving number can help control the dive and minimize the bounce but if shes going to bounce, food won't stop it.

Hope you get some rest.
 
Re: 4/8 Ella pm +3 315 +4 284 +6 230

Thanks for checking in Marjorie:)
Will take a test in the next forty five and then will hopefully get to bed as i'll be up four hours later to dose her ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 4/8 Ella pm +3 315 +4 284 +6 230 +7.5=178

she's in the blues at +7.5 and not asking for food so i won't give her any.
it looks like i'll be up at +9....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top