4/8 Ducia amps 267, +5 49/47, +11 248, pmps 275, 1U reduced

Status
Not open for further replies.
Give a bit of food and test again in 10 min. I see he was low yesterday too. I haven't used lantus so I don't really do dose advise on it, but I'd say you need to reduce back to 1.
 
Wait for 20-30 minutes after she's eaten the high carb food. It takes time for the food to digest and impact the blood sugar. If you test after 10-15 minutes, you won't see the impact of the food.
 
I see she's at 59 now, that's good. Since you've already fed her some low carb, wait 30 minutes and test sgain.

And congrats on the reduction. Time to try 1.0 units again.
 
Excellent. We're fairly far along in the cycle, but her drop from +2 was pretty steep, so it's good that you were able to (I hope) stop that. Hopefully now she'll behave--are you listening, Ducia? The next test in 30 better be 50 or above!
 
30 min after 2 tsp 6% pate with 2 tsp MC gravy only bg is 61.

It is her +6.

Is it ok to give 1 tsp of 6% pate, without any gravy of course?
I’d really like to see her close to 70+.
 
I am around. Did you feed a spoonful of food?
Thank you for being around JanetNJ!
I fed with MC gravy first, then LC pate with gravy and in 60 min is up to 61.
She is at her +6.
She used to stay low until +8, but (knock-knock on wood) without dramatic drops.
I think I can offer her some another 2 tsp of LC pate.
What do you think.
Ducia is appears completely normal. She actually was having a great day today.
I wanted to give her ears a vacation and almost missed the drop.
 
And congrats on the reduction. Time to try 1.0 units again.
That is a sweet music to my ears.:) Low 50s yesterday and below 50 now - good reason as I see it.:D
However, I was presented with somewhat conservative but very well educated opinion that per TR protocol Ducia had to go below 50 on 3 occasions before a reduction is truly earned. Yes, she is newly diagnosed. But she's been on Lantus for about 6 weeks now, she lived un-diagnosed probably for a while with high Bgs and has history of ketones.
I think that I will reduce to 1U tonight but I'd appreciate your feedback on the conservative view point.
 
We'd like to see her hitting greens regularly, just not low greens, so maybe let's see what the 1.0 dose will do. I know it's very stressful from your end, but this is pretty exciting, to see how far Ducia has come in the last couple weeks!

I'm going to need to take off soon, but I want to wait until the next test before signing off. It should be soon, right?
 
Nan, thank you AGAIN, so much!!:bighug:

I will reduce tonight and see what the next 2 or 3 cycle will be like.

I am, amazingly, not stressed. Must those iron b**lls I was presented with after shooting the Green.:D

Ducia is 61 again , which is 30 min after 2 tsp 4% pate with water. She went to sleep. I worry she might go lower again in her sleep and I wouldn’t know. I hated to interrupt her pokey holiday.But safety first. 24 hours ago she held the sixties well without food.:)

When should I test again and when should I offer another two teaspoons?

The nadir must be over, she appears flat in BGs, 61 is a good number if it stays and she still has 6 teaspoons to eat (LC only) to complete her daily ratio ( She is still slightly underweight).

If she is above 70 now I would easily wait an hour before testing. But she is not.:confused:

Suggestions?
 
Last edited:
Yeah, this is kind of a borderline call-- I agree that she's probably fine and it would be good to give her an hour's break. Unfortunately, I am going to have to recommend a half hour before the next test for the following reason: she's been holding steady, but it's with steady input of food. We don't know yet what she would do on her own. I would hold off on the food and test in 30. If she's up or steady at that point, I think you can give her a break.

See if other people weigh in before the 30mins is up.

I am, amazingly, not stressed. Must those iron b**lls I was presented with after shooting the Green.:D

You are becoming a seasoned pro!
 
How right you were to recommend to test earlier - Ducia is 57.
It is one hour after 2 tsp LC.
More food, more frequent testing until I get the stable BG?
 
Yep, she's just floating along, steady as a rock!

I'll let Wendy guide you at this point, she has way more expertise than me. I do like the numbers Ducia is giving you lately, though!
 
Yesterday's post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-8-ducia-bouncy-night-amps-267-2-294-4-124.175992/
However, I was presented with somewhat conservative but very well educated opinion that per TR protocol Ducia had to go below 50 on 3 occasions before a reduction is truly earned. Yes, she is newly diagnosed. But she's been on Lantus for about 6 weeks now, she lived un-diagnosed probably for a while with high Bgs and has history of ketones.
I think that I will reduce to 1U tonight but I'd appreciate your feedback on the conservative view point.
Can you tell me which post/day had that discussion? I'd like to go back and read it. I can see the merit to that point.
 
57 and 61 are practically the same numbers, within meter variance.
All right then, I'll hold the testing for one hour. She tries to go to sleep.

I was wondering earlier as to what was your opinion on the legitimately reduced dose for tonight and its potentially beneficial effect for her ketones?
What if she bounces to the Pinks, and given a lower dose for the entire night the ketones gain some hardly fought for ground?
 
Thanks for the pointer. I remembered reading it but couldn't remember how far back it was. The technique of holding a dose for 3 drops below 50 is a good one for kitties that are failing reductions. If you reduced back to 1.0 now, it would be the third time going back there, as the other two reductions failed. One thing that has changed in the meantime is that Ducia is seeing a lot more green than she was even a week ago. It's possible that this time she could hold the reduction. But I agree that with the DKA in recent hstory, it would be good to try to keep her on this dose, if possible, for two more drops under 50. You do test enough to do this safely. This time as well, she came up fairly easily. If you had a hard time keeping her up over 50, that might have been an additional argument for a reduction.
 
One thing that has changed in the meantime is that Ducia is seeing a lot more green than she was even a week ago
Also she was fed the lower LC of 4%, not the reg 6% as at the time of prior reductions. I am going to shop for Tiki Cat 0% and other good brands with good caloric value and three and fewer carbs content tomorrow.
But I agree that with the DKA in recent history, it would be good to try to keep her on this dose, if possible, for two more drops under 50.
Urine tests come consistently Negative for some time now. On March 19th a doctor at the ER tested her pee and declared it negative although it was not a real urinalyses test. She dipped whatever stick their use in the clinic in the pee that my poor girl made in her kennel. Ducia eats well , around 300 Kcal/day and gains weight steadily. The April 1st blood work WBC count shows she has no current inflammation or infection. So if the formulae for the ketones to re-produce is innapetance+stress/infection+ not enough insulin then Ducia has the former two under control. Her insulin reactions might have been sabotaged by her stupid bean serving her 6% LCmeals instead of 4% or lower.
You do test enough to do this safely. This time as well, she came up fairly easily. If you had a hard time keeping her up over 50, that might have been an additional argument for a reduction.
I do test often. And I also can see the damage that the constant, often twice an hour, testing does to her. For instance yesterday I haven't let her sleep during her usual sleepy hours. It disrupted her day entirely. She wasn't a happy kitty, she did look old and sickly. Testing and interrupted sleep do damaging things. There is a murmur in her heart, I don't need to overload it. I couldn't help thinking that the aggressive TR approach helps the pancreas but ruins a lot of other things.
It is not my comfort I am after, I swear. I shot the green recently and was awarded with a pair of balls :) lol, I but when I was steering her I knew the process although it brought the desirable result, was wrong. Unhealthy. Somehow not wholesome - repair one at the expense of the other.
What do you think?
 
Last edited:
I opened your condo to say "great job steering her blood sugar!" You've had hours of flat green and that is perfect.

But I see your last post and hear your concern. It's really common for a kitty who has become used to high numbers to seem exhausted or yucky when they first get into normal numbers. I think of it like caffeine - your normal state is uncaffeinated, but if you are used to having coffee every day and then skip it, you feel horrid for a few days while your body readjusts. It seems to be that way for cats too, when their blood sugar has been high and first gets back into normal range. Their normal range is under 80 on human meters, but it can take a few days to get used to what that feels like. Then it's not uncommon for people to report that their cats act young again.

What I can see on the spreadsheet looks really good. She's had 2 days with long stretches of green. Putting her body into green numbers gives her body the opportunity to heal - if it's possible for her pancreas to do so. I'd try to stay the course for a few days and see if her behavior doesn't improve as well. Also, the longer she stays in green the more you'll be able to trust she will do so, and you can cut back on the testing.

I hope you can hang in there - she's really looking good data-wise. Hopefully she'll start to feel it soon!
 
I opened your condo to say "great job steering her blood sugar!" You've had hours of flat green and that is perfect.
TY! I am really happy for her. She keeps the green on her own since +6, without me influencing it with food. Just her own , natural Green BGs.:D
It's really common for a kitty who has become used to high numbers to seem exhausted or yucky when they first get into normal numbers. I think of it like caffeine
Ducia and I passed that stage a while ago. She is completely asymptomatic to being in blue or green now to the point that I could not say whether she is 120 or 49, just like it was today. I think she is kinda used to the green state now. But he is definitely and demonstratively ENJOYS low 100s!
I couldn't decide for myself: does it worth its while making her feel physically bad/down by interrupting her sleep to test every hour and to hurt her ears with needles every 30 min or so? The spreadsheet says she does well; her pancreas must in the seventh heaven. But she looks sickly in the process of constant testing/sleep deprivation. Not a caffeine withdrawn bean, no. Sickly, old, weak sick animal. The one who doesn't want to play, nor to eat, nor to interact, just to crawl in a dark corner and hide there with his/her happy pancrea.
Just thinking aloud about what am I doing.
Sorry.
thank you for stopping by to support and to encourage.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
She went 9 days without any green - I would think that's likely more than long enough for her body to feel differently when she does get to green.

Perhaps she'll feel better tomorrow. I sure hope so.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top