4/8 Boo AMPS - 90 / 5.0

Status
Not open for further replies.
Whether you reduce is up to you. According to the tight regulation protocol, reductions are based either on a drop in numbers below 50 or a cat spending 7 days (14 cycles) in normal numbers.
 
We're monitoring him closely and making decisions based on each set of new numbers. His lowest nadir was 3.7 (67 US), so we're still unsure of how he'll react to BG values of 2.8 (50 US) or lower. One thing we're not sure of is whether a cat's weight/build has any effect on the lowest BG values he/she can safely tolerate? Given that he's a really fat cat, I have some suspicion that his body may be more comfortable (i.e., naturally sit) at a slightly higher BG level within the non-diabetic range; however, I haven't been able to find any information online to support or refute this. We'd certainly like to hold him at 1.75 units for at least a week if we safely can, though.
 
I do not know of any correlation between a cat's weight and how comfortable they feel at lower BG numbers. I agree with Sienne....it is up to you when you reduce. But if you are following TR, I'd let him earn his reductions according to the protocol. That gives him the best chance of continuing down the dosing scale.

Because you all watch him so closely and test him, then you are in control if his numbers go below 50. And there is almost always someone on line who can help walk you through it.

His SS looks great!!
 
Thanks for the encouragement. I had to leave Boo with his dad today, and he couldn't get a nadir reading, but we'll post his PMPS number when we take it this evening and then monitor him through his nighttime nadir.
 
PMPS 4.8 / 86
I've been unable to get testing done today so far. Vidya got the PMPS test.
I also may have made a partial furshot with our dose.

Separate from that I'm also a personal wreck today.
 
The PM numbers look good. It's helpful if you put any test numbers in your subject line. (You need to edit the first post in this string for the edits to be visible.)

What kind of difficulty are you having with testing? Can we help?
 
TheNewTeddy said:
I've been unable to test without poking straight though his ear and I think he's had enough of that.

I use the lancet pen - I can't freehand without going through his ear or not poking hard enough either. You'll learn where to 'aim' to hit where you need to hit.

Teddy - you learned things today so it was a day worth living and a day closer to comfortable for you. It's OK to be a wreck, get some rest and tomorrow is a new day!!!

HUGS to both of you!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top