4/8 Billie PMPS 235 +3 43! +3.5 71 +4.5 55 +5.5 89 dose question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello L&LL!

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-249-3-5-54-4-61-5-81-pmps-250-4-239.135854/

Well, Billie just got the cheesecake that I have been saving for her! +3 43?! Her appy has been fantastic this evening (yay!!!!!), so the drop definitely wasn't from a lack of food on board. Overall, she has been doing a lot better today. She just seems more comfortable, and she had a normal poo. I think the advice to stick with food that I know works is good advice. My basis for experimenting was to find more options because she can be picky and has been known to get sick of the same food, and I'm nervous about her not wanting to eat if her pancreatitis is still flaring up. But, today has been great, and I did find a new trick - microwaving. This morning, she wouldn't touch her Instinct pork at first. I heated it up just a bit, and she devoured almost all of it.

I totally don't know what to do with her dose now. We have been all over the place. Her appy seemed to be improving a few days ago, so we went back up to 1.75 on Monday. Then, she had an off day yesterday. I gave her a 1u BCS last night because I had to work and was scared she'd drop. This morning, I decided to reduce to a fat 1.5, thinking if her appy is still unpredictable, it might be smart to reduce at least a bit. Today has been all happy appy, and I'm hopeful that keeps up, but my crystal ball isn't talking.

The cheesecake propped her up quite well... +3.5 71. Maybe I'll try a regular 1.5? Or stick with the fat 1.5 and monitor carefully. My overall goal is to keep her in healthy numbers.

In any case...she absolutely loved her cheesecake!!!
 
No dose advice from me. It's great she has such a good appy. I bet she enjoyed the cheesecake. I hope she surfs safely tonight.
 
Thanks Carla!! She sure did enjoy the cheesecake. She came up, then dipped a bit, then came up again after eating some LC (nice and warm from the microwave). I'm leaning toward trying 1.5 and seeing what happens with that. I'm thinking maybe her pancreatitis flare is subsiding, and that is what is causing her numbers to come down.
 
I'm glad Billie is feeling good again. It must have to do with the food. I'd worry about a different food if she loses interest and not until then. I'd stick with what is working.
 
The best suggestion I can make is to pick a dose and stick with it. If you're concerned about numbers dropping too low, then you might want to start with a lower dose and if you need to work your way up, that may be a reasonable strategy if there are times when you can't test. Making too frequent changes in dose without allowing the depot to stabilize will ultimately result in wonky numbers.
 
Thanks Elise and Sienne! I think I will try 1.5 and see how she does. She was at 1.75 maybe a week ago, then I dropped to 1.5 because her appy was on and off, but her numbers were not great at 1.5 (although that could be pancreatitis related as well as dose related)...then I raised back to 1.75 when it seemed like her appy was improving, lowered again when her appy got off...and here we are. Hopefully, she'll look better on 1.5 now than she did last week. As long as she's eating and feeling good, I'm happy.
 
Good idea to stick with the 1.5 U. Consistency is what Lantus needs, and it seems that it is also what Billie needs. Have a fine evening, Deanna,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top