4/7Ravan/amps237/+4 219/+8 148/pmps157/+4 115/+7 105/

JoyBee&Ravan

Member Since 2018
http:/ /www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-6ravan-amps81-4-170-7-155-pmps-280-5-207-8-138.212868/

You got this.jpg
 
This day did not start out very good!!:arghh:
Ravan's BG is still high.
Peggy Sue kept waking me up all night. This morning she has blood in her urine. Her blood work didn't show any sign of infection? Just high liver enzymes.
Ravan goes to Vet tomorrow for blood work to check his Kidneys. I'm going to call & see if I can bring Peggy Sue in again. I am so very tired.:(
 
From yesterday:
about the amount of CBD drops changing.
I increased the CBD at the beginning of March. I felt his BG really started to come down when I increased.Now I just don't know. He's acting normal Good mood, Eating OK.That's why I didn't expect this.
How's he eating today?

Brainstorming with you...
Like you, I've never been all that excited about throwing a lot of scripted meds at cats in hopes one will stick. I much prefer going with natural supplements whenever possible. However, one thing I found with Alex and I don't know if it will apply to Ravan, but I thought worth mentioning... I took 'breaks' from one supplement at a time when she was receiving a lot of them. We'd repeat 6 - 8 weeks on than 2 - 4 weeks off and then repeat. I alternated so she was almost always off at least one supplement. It's a lot like the supplement instructions given to humans.

Another thought I had was about the CBD drops. Yes, research has been done, but it's so new to veterinary use. Could there be an effect on long term or increased use? A concern I've had all along about CBD use with cats is the oil is metabolized in the liver. This is just me thinking out loud... it would seem to me delivering cannaboids to the system in a liposomal form would make much more sense. It would take the burden of breaking down the oil off the stomach and then the liver. I wish I knew more...

Years ago I remember some caregivers talking about fish oil triggering p-titis attacks/flares in their cats. I couldn't wrap my head around how something that was supposed to be so good for cats would trigger p-titis in some, but not all kitties. Alex was taking Nordic Naturals Fish Oil at the time. It's considered to be a high quality fish oil... very, very good for cats. Alex took it for quite some time without any problems. Then all of a sudden her p-titis flares would coincide with giving fish oil. Fish oil was one of the supplements in her rotation of supplements so I stopped giving it. Unfortunately, it didn't stop the p-titis flares completely because in the meantime I also figured out the stress of having my children and grandchildren staying here for several days (they all live out-of-state) was also a trigger for p-titis flares, but stopping fish oil noticeably decreased the flares.

Where I'm going with this... Nordic Naturals is an oil. The CBD drops most give their kitties comes as an oil. Does it/could it eventually cause a stomach or liver related problem or irritation or inflammation? I don't know.

I wish I had answers, but like I said, I'm just thinking out loud.

I thought the Yellow was a bounce? I guess not . He got a Blue +8 last night but went back up today?
As caregivers, we want answers for everything. Sometimes there isn't an explanation. Honestly, once I stopped trying to figure everything out and just went with what needed to be done at the moment... I was able to relax, take life in stride, and simply enjoy Alex.


You sure have a lot on your plate. Just bring Peggy Sue with you tomorrow. If your vet is anything like mine he/she will look at her.

Remember to take care of yourself, too. This can be so stressful.
:bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
CBD use with cats is the oil is metabolized in the liver.

I was also wondering about that. Ravan's been taking it longer & a larger dose & his Liver enzymes are OK. Peggy Sue had high Liver Enzymes last year. ( before I start giving her CBD) Milk thistle brought it down to nearly normal .
I do give fish oil every day. I read that a study was done & cats that had fish oil lived longer.

The only other supplement is for his Kidneys.
CBD is anti inflammatory I think that why Ravan's BG came down when I increased his dose to Every day . I always give less than recommended just 8 drops as opposed to 1/2 eye dropper.

I'm really worried about Peggy Sue she's only peeing a tiny bit. Doesn't look like she's straining but I don't think she drinking much water. I started giving her a syringe of water with a few drops of pure cranberry in it I'm also giving 100cc of Ringers to hopefully flush out toxins.

Thanks Jill for the advice & kind words.:):bighug:
 
@LizzieInTexas

It's Peggy Sue that has the blood in her urine not Ravan. Peggy Sue had high liver enzymes nothing appeared to be wrong with her kidneys.
I was up all night with her.She's dripping blood. This is something new,just started last night? I'm glad you told me about the cranberry I'll stop giving her the drops in water. I ordered D-Mannose .

I called the vet this morning & will bring her in at 2:30. She's still eating a bit of raw food & some canned also. This morning she had a tiny BM in the litter box & peed.
I managed to get a clean sample when she started peeing. I'll bring it with me to the vet.

She wanted to go outside so I went with her & she laid in the sun & looked very happy.She also keeps nibbling on grass.( the grass is clean, no fertilized or anything)

My Vet feels because of her age I should let "Nature take it course" I'm very frustrated because I don't even know what's wrong with her. He said if an ultrasound found a lump he'd need to do a biopsy . If it's cancer there really isn't much hope of doing anything that will save her.

It's just killing me watching her waste away. She's still doing normal Peggy Sue things. She doesn't appear to be in pain. I think the CBD helps. I won't force her to take meds if she fights it.
This morning in bed she woke me up by laying on top of me & purring. This is just breaking my heart!

I've buried so many over the years but it does not get any easier.
 
Back
Top