SophieFRA
Member Since 2023
Thank you all for your helpful pointers on shot target areas etc. Very helpful.
@Bandit's Mom
@Margaret (and Pearl)
@Wendy&Neko - responding to you here since I’m mindful of not continuing yesterday’s post. But not sure how to quote while carrying over. So just putting your comment below in quotation marks. Thanks so much for your advice and questions.
“OK, it's the wording, you don't need a biopsy to treat, but you do need a biopsy to diagnose what you are dealing with and what is the proper treatment. The treatments for IBD and SCL are NOT the same so it is good to know what you are dealing with. SCL treatment starts with steroids, IBD might but also might be controlled with just a novel protein diet and probiotics. With SCL you can start to taper off steroids after clear remission whereas for some cases of IBD, it continues to be always needed. Chlorambucil is part of SCL treatment, but only for IBD if severe. Since it's a chemo drug, and potentially carcinogenic, you only want to give it if you have to. I'm on my third cat with a SCL diagnosis, this last one has both IBD and SCL, diagnosed 5 years ago with IBD and emerging SCL. You are lucky that Raven is responding well to the novel protein diet. That can be a clue that IBD is part of the picture, and hopefully the only thing in the picture.
Does that "custom" in your signature mean custom dosing? Just curious as I didn't see anything else that could refer to how you are changing doses.”
— regarding your question re custom dosing. I started with SSGS (in fact much too slow as I learned since I kept same dose for several weeks). I was encouraged to try TR - which I did for a couple of cycles but then got spooked by lower numbers. It also just wasn’t compatible with my work schedule and I did feed some dry which I learned didn’t work with TR. So I went back to SSGS. But I’m getting quite frustrated with Raven’s continuous high numbers — and now that I’m feeding a raw only diet — I’m trying to go back to TR (as far as my work schedule allows - I dont want to do anything to risky while I’m gone for 12 hours). I realize this is not ideal but trying to find the best compromise. Let me know if you have thoughts.
Very helpful info on IBD vs SCL. The raw food has been a game changer so I’m hopeful this is all that’s needed at least for now. Zero GI issues now and he has been putting on weight. I need to weigh him. But he’s filling out visibly (in a good way - he had very fallen in flanks).
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-298-5-316-6-297-8-296-pmps-306-3-268.276168/
@Bandit's Mom
@Margaret (and Pearl)
@Wendy&Neko - responding to you here since I’m mindful of not continuing yesterday’s post. But not sure how to quote while carrying over. So just putting your comment below in quotation marks. Thanks so much for your advice and questions.
“OK, it's the wording, you don't need a biopsy to treat, but you do need a biopsy to diagnose what you are dealing with and what is the proper treatment. The treatments for IBD and SCL are NOT the same so it is good to know what you are dealing with. SCL treatment starts with steroids, IBD might but also might be controlled with just a novel protein diet and probiotics. With SCL you can start to taper off steroids after clear remission whereas for some cases of IBD, it continues to be always needed. Chlorambucil is part of SCL treatment, but only for IBD if severe. Since it's a chemo drug, and potentially carcinogenic, you only want to give it if you have to. I'm on my third cat with a SCL diagnosis, this last one has both IBD and SCL, diagnosed 5 years ago with IBD and emerging SCL. You are lucky that Raven is responding well to the novel protein diet. That can be a clue that IBD is part of the picture, and hopefully the only thing in the picture.
Does that "custom" in your signature mean custom dosing? Just curious as I didn't see anything else that could refer to how you are changing doses.”
— regarding your question re custom dosing. I started with SSGS (in fact much too slow as I learned since I kept same dose for several weeks). I was encouraged to try TR - which I did for a couple of cycles but then got spooked by lower numbers. It also just wasn’t compatible with my work schedule and I did feed some dry which I learned didn’t work with TR. So I went back to SSGS. But I’m getting quite frustrated with Raven’s continuous high numbers — and now that I’m feeding a raw only diet — I’m trying to go back to TR (as far as my work schedule allows - I dont want to do anything to risky while I’m gone for 12 hours). I realize this is not ideal but trying to find the best compromise. Let me know if you have thoughts.
Very helpful info on IBD vs SCL. The raw food has been a game changer so I’m hopeful this is all that’s needed at least for now. Zero GI issues now and he has been putting on weight. I need to weigh him. But he’s filling out visibly (in a good way - he had very fallen in flanks).
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-298-5-316-6-297-8-296-pmps-306-3-268.276168/