4/7 PZI Dosing Help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay,

Here's the scoop today. Any suggestions for his PM insulin, which he is due for right now? 1 unit?

Also, any ideas on food along with the insulin dose recommendation? Should I not put out the wet food tonight with that lower number?

AMPS 417 - 1.5 units
+7 154

PMPS 292 - ?
 
When you say around, do you mean like testing throughout the night? I won't be able to do that. I may be able to test later tonight but not sure. Should I do the .5? Will it be too high tomorrow a.m. with the .5 though? Maybe I can do the .5 and leave the wet food out for him all night just in case. Will that help it from becoming too high? The numbers are starting to look better though, aren't they? This is great.
 
Yes, your numbers are looking good. No - not testing all night but a test before bed - maybe +2 or +3 to see that he isn't headed sharply down. And at home, so you can observe behavior. Lots of kitties will come get you at night if they feel like they are going low. I think I would do the one unit and leave food out. He can eat to bring himself up if he needs to. You have some good momentum going and your nadirs are not in scary numbers at all.
 
Wet lo carb. No dry - that can really mess his numbers up for a couple cycles. The only time I would feed dry is if you are in the middle of a hypo and need to bring up his numbers - and that would be a last resort, after you have tried higher carb wet.

Don't be scared of those 150 - you are really aiming for nadirs in the 60 -70 to 100 range. The scary numbers are 40 and below. He is a way from that. HIs numbers are very safe. The only caution is that we have so little data and it is hard to predict what he will do. But I think one unit will be fine.
 
Nice nadir today. Looks like the diet change may be kicking in and helping those #'s. Yay! Let us know how tonight and tomorrow go.
 
Well, I just tested him 3+ and he's at 263. Does that sound about right? I thought he would be lower than that 3 hours after his 1 unit of insulin, when he was originally at 292 3 hours ago. Not much of a change. He will continue to drop for the next three hours, correct? It still seems high, but then again, I've never tested him so soon after insulin before so I really don't know what to expect.
 
Looks pretty normal especially if he ate in there somewhere. You want softer curves, Mandy. The drastic drops aren't good for him. We would expect him to continue to drop at +6 and possibly later.

The trick is not to let each number mean something and worry you. Just think of it as gathering data.
 
Okay, that makes sense.

I'm sorry if I sound all frazzled - LOL! I just want to make sure I'm doing everything right for big 'ol Brad. His health is now completely in my hands and I get nervous about it. I'm sure I'll feel more comfortable soon with all of your help. I'm starting to understand it a little better now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top