Luckyducky
Member Since 2012
Hello everyone, and thank you all so much again for your help so far. I started posting on these forums a few weeks ago about my cat Lucky, a stray I adopted that turned out to have diabetes (the posts so far are here, here and here). I've just now finished another full curve (exhausting, but worth it!) after switching to 0.75u twice daily a week ago, and was hoping for some guidance and insight into the new numbers.
AMPS 356
+2 311
+4 222
+6 173
+8 213
+10 365
PMPS 410
+2 397
+4 376
+6 326
+8 352
+10 335
AMPS 320
Here's Lucky's full spreadsheet too.
These are the questions I have, I hope you all can help:
1. Is this a normal curve? It looks like the Lantus is working, but it doesn't look like "a smile followed by a smile" like I was expecting, more like a "smirk followed by a bumpy downward slope." Is there anything I might be doing wrong that could be causing this? It seems like a million small things could go wrong to throw the numbers off, but I also feel like I'm following all the procedures properly and getting the measurements accurately.
2. Would it be good to increase the dosage to 1u twice daily? The numbers have been pretty high for the last few weeks, and Lucky doesn't seem to be dipping very low during his cycles right now. I'm kind of confused by his recent results, since his glucose levels don't seem that much better from when he was on 0.5u twice daily (and I'm worried about going back to 1u twice daily considering how low Lucky's numbers got on that dosage). Then again, I increased his food intake from 2 1/3 cans to 3 1/2 cans over the last few weeks too, so I wonder if that has anything to do with the higher-than-expected numbers.
3. Do you think I ought to continue following my vet's dosing suggestions? My vet is very friendly, with years of experience and a very flexible response to a lot of the information I've brought to her from the FDMB. Still, I've been worried that she might not have very much experience with feline diabetes. She wasn't aware that Solostar pens existed, and she was under the impression that doses could only be given in whole units (which is why part of Lucky's SS shows a dosage of 1u once daily mid-March). She also gave a strange dosage instruction of 0.5u AM and 1u PM at the end of March, which some FDMB members mentioned didn't make sense given Lucky's numbers and was generally bad practice for Lantus users. She was also encouraging me to feed Lucky dry diabetic cat food, which seems to be the opposite of what most sites online have suggested. I hate to break ties with the vet since she's been very empathetic to our case and was knowledgeable enough to make Lucky's initial diagnosis of Diabetes, but still, I hate to put Lucky at risk if she doesn't have enough experience to dose the insulin. Do you guys think my vet is still okay to go with, or do you think maybe I should switch vets? Or alternatively, is it even necessary to talk with the vet every time I change a dose?
4. I recently bought ketone strips (the Walgreen's brand "Ketone Test Strips") to test Lucky's ketone levels, thanks to some recommendations from some of the forum members. Considering Lucky's recent high numbers, it seemed especially important to test and make sure he wasn't becoming ketoacidotic. So yesterday I decided to test his urine, but wound up scratching my head to try and figure out what to make of the reading. I followed the instructions pretty carefully: Lucky went to his litter box and I placed a petri dish to collect his urine, dipped the strip in, wiped the excess off the side of the dish and waited 15 seconds to determine the color. The thing is, the strip wound up with a grayish color that didn't seem to match any of the colors I was supposed to compare against the bottle. Here's a photo, if it helps: http://i1101.photobucket.com/albums/g42 ... 030101.jpg
Thank you all again for your experience and guidance. I'm slowly getting a handle on managing Lucky's diabetes, and a lot of it is thanks to the knowledge and help provided on these forums. You guys are saving Kitty's life, and I'm very much so thankful for it!
AMPS 356
+2 311
+4 222
+6 173
+8 213
+10 365
PMPS 410
+2 397
+4 376
+6 326
+8 352
+10 335
AMPS 320
Here's Lucky's full spreadsheet too.
These are the questions I have, I hope you all can help:
1. Is this a normal curve? It looks like the Lantus is working, but it doesn't look like "a smile followed by a smile" like I was expecting, more like a "smirk followed by a bumpy downward slope." Is there anything I might be doing wrong that could be causing this? It seems like a million small things could go wrong to throw the numbers off, but I also feel like I'm following all the procedures properly and getting the measurements accurately.
2. Would it be good to increase the dosage to 1u twice daily? The numbers have been pretty high for the last few weeks, and Lucky doesn't seem to be dipping very low during his cycles right now. I'm kind of confused by his recent results, since his glucose levels don't seem that much better from when he was on 0.5u twice daily (and I'm worried about going back to 1u twice daily considering how low Lucky's numbers got on that dosage). Then again, I increased his food intake from 2 1/3 cans to 3 1/2 cans over the last few weeks too, so I wonder if that has anything to do with the higher-than-expected numbers.
3. Do you think I ought to continue following my vet's dosing suggestions? My vet is very friendly, with years of experience and a very flexible response to a lot of the information I've brought to her from the FDMB. Still, I've been worried that she might not have very much experience with feline diabetes. She wasn't aware that Solostar pens existed, and she was under the impression that doses could only be given in whole units (which is why part of Lucky's SS shows a dosage of 1u once daily mid-March). She also gave a strange dosage instruction of 0.5u AM and 1u PM at the end of March, which some FDMB members mentioned didn't make sense given Lucky's numbers and was generally bad practice for Lantus users. She was also encouraging me to feed Lucky dry diabetic cat food, which seems to be the opposite of what most sites online have suggested. I hate to break ties with the vet since she's been very empathetic to our case and was knowledgeable enough to make Lucky's initial diagnosis of Diabetes, but still, I hate to put Lucky at risk if she doesn't have enough experience to dose the insulin. Do you guys think my vet is still okay to go with, or do you think maybe I should switch vets? Or alternatively, is it even necessary to talk with the vet every time I change a dose?
4. I recently bought ketone strips (the Walgreen's brand "Ketone Test Strips") to test Lucky's ketone levels, thanks to some recommendations from some of the forum members. Considering Lucky's recent high numbers, it seemed especially important to test and make sure he wasn't becoming ketoacidotic. So yesterday I decided to test his urine, but wound up scratching my head to try and figure out what to make of the reading. I followed the instructions pretty carefully: Lucky went to his litter box and I placed a petri dish to collect his urine, dipped the strip in, wiped the excess off the side of the dish and waited 15 seconds to determine the color. The thing is, the strip wound up with a grayish color that didn't seem to match any of the colors I was supposed to compare against the bottle. Here's a photo, if it helps: http://i1101.photobucket.com/albums/g42 ... 030101.jpg
Thank you all again for your experience and guidance. I'm slowly getting a handle on managing Lucky's diabetes, and a lot of it is thanks to the knowledge and help provided on these forums. You guys are saving Kitty's life, and I'm very much so thankful for it!