4/7 Gus Increase to 3U

Status
Not open for further replies.

bev5477

Member Since 2011
Someone on this forum told me that it's a marathon, not a sprint. ~O) ~O) ~O) Happy Morning. Hope everybody gets those springtime BGs.....green. Mr. Gus btb! He must be exhausted after eating his lumberjack breffis. The boy likes him some FF.
 
Re: 4/7 Gus >600 Sigh!

Aw...while Trixie never gave me numbers that high, I understand your sigh oh so well. We've been at this several months now, and just in the last few days it looks like she's turned the corner (knock on wood). Gus had some better numbers yesterday, so I'm confident he'll get there...like you said, marathon. In the meantime, it sounds like he's a happy boy, and that counts for something!

Amy
 
Re: 4/7 Gus >600 Sigh!

Bev:

I want to encourage you to check in about dose after 4 cycles. I don't want Gus to lose momentum. With numbers in this range, the protocol allows you to increase every 2 days (4 cycles) and increase by as much at 0.5u.
 
Re: 4/7 Gus >600 Sigh!

Good morning guys .. I know you are frustrated with these higher numbers .. it can take time .. we did this ourselves for nearly two years, not quite as high, but frustrated nonetheless .. hope gus shows you some action again today .. have a great day guys!
 
Sienne, thanks for your direction. I completely trust your judgement and will follow your advice and raise Gus to 3U this PM. But, I need to tell you that I am afraid to do that. Gus was at 3U for 6 cycles back on 3/27. At this level, he started becoming lethargic and was limp as a rag. He acted withdrawn and was urinating at a ridiculous rate. I thought we were going to lose him and because of that, I went to 3.5 to counteract the HI #s. Of course, that just made things worse. I guess that I just need reassurance that going to 3U will be OK. Can you explain to me why that won't happen again? I really don't mean to be so high maintenance. Once burned, twice shy. The protocol is tried and true and I realize that to find his correct dose, I need to go up. nailbite_smile
 
Bev:

Were you testing at the time this happened? If so, it's hard to know if Gus was feeling crummy because his numbers were high.

You don't have to increase by 0.5u. If you want to go more gradually and increase by 0.25u, that's fine. Gus may need additional time for his body to adjust to a dose and increasing more gradually may work better for you. There's no way to tell. You're at home and see how he's responding. The other thing to keep in mind is that because Gus is used to being in higher numbers, he may temporarily feel crummy when the numbers start coming down. Again, his system needs time to adjust. Let me see if some of the others can stop by and offer some insight.
 
His diet is more aligned with the protocol now than it was before. Could his diet have messed up his adjustment to 3U? I was testing then and his #s are on the SS. Actually, he is acting totally different on 2.5U now than he was on 2.5U prior. I'll be getting his +6 BG in less than an hour from now. We'll see how he does.
 
just want to send you some encouragement to hang in there. i didn't realize how impatient i was until i started doing this! it's been a learning experience all around. you're doing great and the thing to remind yourself is that Gus IS making progress. You have to look at several days to see it, but he is. One number is only one number. overall he's better. hugs!
 
I came to this board seeking help and advice and I'll use the help and advice that I get. After a PMPS of >600, Gus got his dosecrease to 3U. Maybe he just needs a little nudge.
 
Best of luck Bev. It is a difficult time but I have faith that Gus will see some improvement. The diet change probably does make some sort of a difference.
I think everything counts when you are dealing with living creatures. Even the moon can influence us earthlings. @-)
Let's be optimistic that you will see better numbers very soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top