4/7 Gracie AMPS 187

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele & Gracie

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11111

Good Morning All-

Gracie has been doing better with her numbers. We have gone back to 1 unit if PS is over 180/nadir at/above 90 and .5 units if below 180/90.

We had a blue surf last evening and we started the day at 187 this morning. I only gave a .5 and left her separated with a can of FF to nibble throughout the day. I'm chewing my knuckles worrying but I couldn't bring her to work and I couldn't stay home because I have meetings all day. Ugh! nailbite_smile

For whatever reason, she seems to drop 100 or more points during the course between shots...Is that typical with Lantus or is this just during the adjustment period?

Mike's tied up with meetings all day today too, but he's going to try to break away at lunch (nadir time!) and do a check. His work is only 5 minutes from home. Lucky dog!

Please keep your fingers crossed that Miss Gracie doesn't drop too low...

Hope everyone has a good day-
 
Michelle--You need some help with Gracie--The dose hopping is hampering your progress here--
Lantus needs consistancy & patience--I dont know much about your situation, but you definitely need guidance here!!
Increases & decreases are done by 0.25 units only & have to be earned when the cat's numbers drop, below 59 for a newbie anf these are earned!! We have dosing advisors to help when you need a dose change--You arent giving Gracie a chance to even absorb the dose for a few dose to see how she wiil do...
Please put dosing advice into your heading & read the Tilly protocol sticky.. We are Just here to help!!
 
Thanks for the advice, Roni-

I understand that consistancy is key. However, I am basing the adjustments of 1 unit & .5 units my vet's direction, on Gracie's nadir and her exhibition of hypoglycemic symptoms at a BG level of 88.

Because of this, we prefer to keep her a little higher than what most folks here recommend.
 
OK Michelle, I realize you are new here--The cumulative knowledge of feline diabetes here is so much more than the vet's limited knowledge, that you need to look at the 118 cats that have gone into remission here since 2008...we keep up with the latest studies, meds, foods, and medical advances, and are doing this here since 1996-
I am by NO MEANS undermining your vet & his knowledge, but we have only FD cats here, and vet has, what a handful of FD cats...

Please read some people's condos and profiles & Look at our spreadsheets--The success here is made by tremendous experience & the thousands of cats that have passed through here--even a ferret!

Just take a look, see what's around--we all listened to the vets in the beginning..

Lantus was not meant to be used the way you are using it--It is a gentle and long lasting insulin that needs to be given every 12 hours, consistant dosage..Please let us know if we can be of help...By the way, 187 is a great AMPS number!
 
Hi Michelle,
You can keep Gracie higher and still shoot consistently. Even great vets don't necessarily know how Lantus works. Hope you might consider reading some of the stickies that explain how Lantus works.
I'm somewhat saddened cause I can see, from SS, that Gracie would do so well if her dose was adjusted to shoot same amount in AM/PM. Lantus dosage is based on the nadir not the PSBG.
Please don't think I am giving you a hard time, it is not my intent.
D
 
Hey Michele!

I remember your mentioning that Gracie had hypo symptoms with a BG of 88. I didn't see them described on your SS and I couldn't remember what the symptoms were. If it's not too much trouble, could you describe them again?

While on the one hand, I agree with Roni that Lantus likes consistent dosing because of how the shed works. On the other hand, I don't want you to feel like you should ignore the advice of your vet. I do tend to think that we are much more used to dealing with low numbers here but that doesn't mean that Gracie isn't sensitive to lower numbers. I do wonder if there's a compromise. Maybe shooting a 0.75 consistently or even a 0.5. It may be something to discuss with your vet. Quite frankly, I don't know if there are other veterinary meds that are depot-type medications and that require more than once a day dosing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top