4/7 Cinco AMPS 166 +7 95 +15 287

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
VACATION RECAP:
4/5: 2.5 units
AMPS: 202 (at home)
AM+4: 36 (boarding)
AM+5: 137
REDUCTION EARNED. Per vet, 2.0 units.
PMPS: 429
PM+3: 174

4/6:
AMPS: 335
AM+3.5: 110
PMPS: 134
PM+5: 40

We're back! I'm exhausted. We got home late last night. Our two friends left early this morning, and I took my DS to the airport around noon. I picked Cinco and Minka up from boarding on the way home. Cinco has been very restless since he got home - totally not like him. I was so surprised I checked his BG again at +7 to make sure he hadn't gone cliff diving again, but he's just surfing. :mrgreen:

I dropped Cinco and Minka at the vet at 8:30 Saturday morning. Sometime around noon they called and left a message on my cell phone that Cinco had dropped very low and the vet wanted to discuss his dosage. I got the message around 3 and called back. Cinco had dropped to 36, so they gave him 5ml of karo, and he came back up to 137 the next hour. I spoke to the tech in charge of Cinco's care and he said the doctor wanted to drop him to 2.0 I suggested 2.25, since that would be the next logical dose, but they don't like quarter units, so I agreed to the 2.0. He said the vet also wanted to do a Fructosamine test, which I approved. (They didn't take it until this morning, and it came back at 364, which the interpretive guidelines says is "good".) He bounced way up to 429 at PMPS (which was actually done at AM+14 :sad: ). He jumped off that cliff 3 hours later. Sunday morning he bounced again, and broke it that afternoon. I was shocked to see the 40 at PM+5, as no one mentioned that to me, and there were no notes about giving him food, etc. :shock: Although that technically doesn't qualify for another reduction, it makes me feel better about the .5 reducie the vet ordered. Today he's looking good, so maybe that is the right dose. He sure seems to be feeling better than he has in a while! :-D

Now I'm back to the problem I had last weekend. Since they were so kind as to change his shot times to 8:00 am and pm, we are in a bind about when to shoot tonight. We have to leave by 6:00 pm for bowling, at the latest, which would be a 2 hour early shot. We won't be home until 10 pm, at the earliest, which would be 2 hours late! AYE!!!! :dizcat So once again I have to decide whether to do a late shot and back his times up all week, or skip alogether and get back on track tomorrow morning. He didn't seem to suffer from skipping last Sunday, but he seems to be on a roll here and I hate to break that momentum. What to do??? confused_cat

I've tried to read a few condos this afternoon, but I'm still running around trying to get things back to normal, so I won't really get into it until tomorrow. Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/7 Cinco AMPS 166 +4 110 +5.5 93 +7 95

I am happy to hear that Cinco is feeling well.

I would probably shoot 2 hours late and then back up if it were possible. However, I am sure you will get back on track with skipping as well. I guess I am not that decisive.
 
Re: 4/7 Cinco AMPS 166 +4 110 +5.5 93 +7 95

Hi Tricia, welcome back. I hope you had fine and maybe restocked the cellar a bit? :cool: Cinco does seem to like diving at the vet's office. Does he eat there as well as he does at home? Congrats on the reduction. He's looking pretty good today. :mrgreen:

I think I'd shoot late too and make it up later. Who knows, he might bounce and give you a chance to move things up a little faster. But regardless, he will recover. He did last time.

Almost time for the cone to come off?
 
Re: 4/7 Cinco AMPS 166 +4 110 +5.5 93 +7 95

Hi Tricia! I'm glad you had a nice trip and hope you enjoyed the wine ;-) . Cinco was sure a busy boy while you were gone! :mrgreen: . Congrats on the reducie! Good luck with the dose conumdrum! So nice of them to change your times :lol: . I hope it will all work out for you and that you have a good evening bowling. :-D
 
Re: 4/7 Cinco AMPS 166 +4 110 +5.5 93 +7 95

Welcome home....it sounds like a whirlwind there right now! Congrats on the reducie...work it, Cinco! I am sure that no matter what you decide(d) for tonight, it will work out well. Enjoy bowling!!
 
Re: 4/7 Cinco AMPS 166 +4 110 +5.5 93 +7 95

Hi Tricia,
It sounds like Cinco wasn't a happy camper on his "vacation". He will surely find his rhythm again when he has had a chance to be home for a few days.
I'm not sure if this will work for you this time, but you might have an opportunity to try it in the future. It' s the 18-hour schedule that I read about in one of the old posts on the board. We used it with Rusty once and it sort of worked. If you can't be home for the evening shot, you can give it 6 hours late. Skip the morning shot and then give your evening shot at your normal time. The advantage of this is that you don't have to make up hours in increments over numerous days.

Hope you had a good vacation,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/7 Cinco AMPS 166 +4 110 +5.5 93 +7 95

Thanks for the visits and kinds words, Amy, Rachel and Wendy.

Yes, we had a wonderful time and bought lots of wine. Every year we say we are going to buy a lot less wine, and every year we buy more than we planned! DH says we did buy less than last year, though. We don't have a cellar, unfortunately, so once all the wine racks are full, we stack the boxes in the garage. Of course, in the summer we move the boxes into the house. I can always use help drinking the wine, so if anyone comes up this way, stop in for a glass!

I have no idea why Cinco went so low at the vet, even after the reducie. I do know he is happy to be home. The friends we stayed with have two cats, Fred and Ginger, but Fred stayed under their bed all weekend. Ginger was a little friendlier, so I did get some kitty time. :-D

The countdown to collar removal has begun. One day and a wake up, as we used to say in the Air Force! The vet tech that took care of Cinco said he hand fed him. He ate well, which is what I care about.

Ella, I like that idea. When you say "6 hours late" do you mean 6 hours after his normal shot time (6:30), or 6 hours after what would have been the shot time based on the AM shot (8:00)? I might just try that - it makes more sense than totally skipping the shot. Thanks!
 
Re: 4/7 Cinco AMPS 166 +4 110 +5.5 93 +7 95

6 hours after what is the "new" shot time: 8 p.m. (so the shot would be given at 2 a.m.; you would skip the 8 a.m. shot and shoot again at 8 p.m.). I'm sorry, I didn't realize that you were planning to put his shot time back to where it had been. I thought you were going to keep the new time of 8 a.m, p.m. If you are going to re-establish his 6:30 shot times, I think it would be OK to give the shot at 2 a.m. (as above), skip the morning shot, and go back to your "old" time of 6:30 p.m. for the evening shot. His "shot memory" will carry him through!

Ella

p.s. On reflection, I think that you could shoot 6 hours after your "old" time of 6:30 P.M. (so: 12:30 A.M.). Then skip the morning shot and resume your 6:30 p.m. schedule. I'll be interested in seeing how he does, whichever schedule you decide to do.
 
Re: 4/7 Cinco AMPS 166 +4 110 +5.5 93 +7 95

I like the 18 hour schedule, too, for certain occasions but I think it works best as long as you are not trying to shoot later or early.....you just need to space the shots out a bit for schedule flexibility.

I'd either shoot late and work my way back or skip.

Glad you had a super time and he's doing so well. Almost cone removal day!!!
 
Re: 4/7 Cinco AMPS 166 +4 110 +5.5 93 +7 95

Welcome back, Tricia!!!
I'm glad you had such a wonderful trip.
And Cinco is looking great today!
 
Re: 4/7 Cinco AM+5.5 93 +7 95 +15 287

Thanks, Ella and Marje. I was pretty much sold on the 18 hour thing, but if Marje doesn't think it's best in this instance, perhaps I'll save it for another occasion (I'm sure there will be one). In that case, I think we'll skip the shot and start back at 6:30 tomorrow morning. I just wish they'd stick to the times I told them, so we wouldn't have these issues, but I guess 6:30 am conflicts with their shift changes. :roll: We have another weekend away scheduled at the end of the month, so we may be dealing with this again then. After that, nothing planned till November.

Hi Mariko: Yes, Cinco is looking good. I'm delighted. I always worry that these little disruptions to his schedule will set him back, but (knock on wood) he seems to be rolling with the flow pretty well! :-D
 
Sorry I missed Cinco's condo yesterday. I'm glad he's doing good. Good luck getting back on track with shot time. I'm glad you had a good trip.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top