4/7- Boots: AMPS 123; (Last night: 75@5.50; 67@4.50; 55@3.50; 156@PM shot(.5) Dosing Adjustment Reccomendations 🙏🏽😸

Dessi

Member Since 2026
Hello,

I wanted to get reccomendations to see if I should adjust Boot's dose a bit lower in view of the lower numbers he's been having. The last curve was so weird because his preshot numbers are usually never that low so a couple of times I just gave a token dose as the sheet shows. However, his numbers elevated so much thereafter that I thought I'd try his normal .5 dose to see how he responds. He's pretty much maintained a low preshot number in the evenings the past couple of days (elevated in the mornings after the preceding evenings each time I had given a token dose) so today I just went ahead with it.

3hrs later he was at 55 and an hour after that, 67. Will test again in a few mins at next hr mark. Would have normally been nervous but hes acting normal & I read on the FB group that giving the usual shot at a lower preshot number doesn't necessarily mean that the value will drop drastically- rather that with Lantus eventually the curve will be more flat. I hope I understood right.

Thoughts appreciated! 🙏🏽😸
 
Your signature says you are following SLGS for dosing. With SLGS, you reduce the dose by 0.25 units whenever they go under 90, which he did tonight. Time to try 0.25 units again.

You are right that shooting a lower number means they usually won't drop the same amount of points as they can if they start at a higher number, meaning lower preshots can be flatter cycles.
 
Ok thank you- that helps! It was 123 this morning, I think because he didn't really eat during the night but he's eating now & seems fine. I wonder if I should still move forward with the .25 or reduce it even lower tho. I don't wanna take too many chances, but I guess if it potentially means that he's inching closer to remission, I don't want to compromise that either by not dosing high enough 🤔😕
 
Your signature says you are following SLGS for dosing. With SLGS, you reduce the dose by 0.25 units whenever they go under 90, which he did tonight. Time to try 0.25 units again.

You are right that shooting a lower number means they usually won't drop the same amount of points as they can if they start at a higher number, meaning lower preshots can be flatter cycles.
Oh, btw! Does that mean mean that I stay at the lower dose moving forward (so .25 for a while) or just in general .25 reduction after a low number? I ended up just giving him a token dose this am since it made me nervous to do much more.
 
Oh, btw! Does that mean mean that I stay at the lower dose moving forward (so .25 for a while) or just in general .25 reduction after a low number? I ended up just giving him a token dose this am since it made me nervous to do much more.
After an earned reduction, you will hold that lower dose for 7 days with SLGS, then evaluate with a curve to see if you require an increase or should hold the dose.

Please post with any questions 😻
 
Back
Top