? 4/7/17, Sprocket, PMPS/271, +2.5/132, +3.25/101, +4/123, +5/165 day1bounce.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darnell & Sprocket (GA)

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-8-5-312-pmps-458-advise.175929/#post-1934468

Hi. Fed at 3am @1.2oz wet.
By 6am, threw up some liquid
Had 2 poops over night, less smelly & soft but formed.
Took his famotidine & cyproheptadine with pill pockets.
Have the duck n pea flavor but he will take sometimes.
334 this am, he was 320 when i shot 3.5u yesterday
Eating well. Ff chicken @ 1.5oz
Afraid to shoot 3.5. Iffy on 3.25.
Why not 3 units?
 
Last edited:
I would go with the 3.25 because of the recent DKA issues, and because he is probably in a bounce cycle. It's up to you as you hold the syringe, but that's my experienced opinion. Do you have plenty of supplies (meaning test strips and high carb)? I don't think you'll need them, but best to always be prepared.
 
Do you switch his ears for testing? I used to try to (not always) test with one ear for a few days, then test with the other ear for a few days. And I used a tiny dab of neosporin with pain relief on the ear I was testing before I went to bed. I used the cream because I felt it absorbed over night and didn't leave residue, but a lot of people use the ointment.
 
I try to use both. Especially yesterday. Whatever ear I could get. Today his ears r sore.
I put Neosporin ointment on them last night plus a few times yesterday.
He ate 2 oz. I will leave out more wet.
Cyproheptadine kicks in within 2 hrs n he will eat more.
He eats 1 can ff pate with another small cat every 4 hrs. He usually eats 2oz of each can.
Yesterday with all food shoving he ate alot.
Thurs food: about 520 calories or so.
12.5oz wet ff most low carb, half the higher carb.
Plus 4.5 tblsp of zero & evo dry.
6 pill pockets. 75ml of fluids at 9:15pm
Ok gonna leave more food test at 930am in 2.5 hours. Gonna try to sleep some.
Thank you. Please follow today.
 
Another trick to keep the ears from bruising is to always spend a few seconds applying gentle pressure on the poke site after a test. They do heal quickly, so hopefully today will be a day when you can give him a little break on testing and give him some healing time.

Hear that, Sprocket? No dramatic dives = fewer pokes!
 
Lol. Thanks Nan. I told him!
I do put pressure on it right after with a baby wipe (natural unscented).
Just tested again at noon, +5 @241.
Will test at 6pm unless he acts funny.
After a good shower I will look back more on comments & try to make some sense out of everything.
Thanks
 
Good to see Sprocket back in the yellows for now after last nights big bounce. Good job keeping his numbers up. Bounces can last up to 6 cycles, some cats clear them quicker. When they are clearing bounce, sometimes they get some momentum going and drop a little more then normal so keep an eye out for the bounce clearing.

Sounds good on the testing, hopefully the little break will help his little pin cushioned ears!
 
What do you mean drop a little?
Will that cause him to go to low if a shot time?

Also, is there a food or treat to give him if he gets hungry right before bg & shot time that won't effect his bg?
 
Breathe!

This would be a good time to try feeding him during a descent to slow him down. Low-carb should be fine to start.

Are you able to stay up to monitor tonight?
 
I am trying hard but i dont know if I can do this everyday. I have anxiety issues already. I cant be scared like this. I am shakig. Crying. Barely eatig, dizzy.
I am not strong like you all who do tight regulation .
I am scared
 
You can do this, really you can! We've all gotten freaked out by the stresses of taking care of a diabetic cat, anxiety issues are going to make it that much harder to get ahold of things, but it can be done. The best thing you can do is to just take it one step at a time. You've been doing a fantastic job keeping him safe-- take a little time to pat yourself on the back for that!

Right now, Sprocket seems like he's moving out of his latest bounce, so it'll be good to steer him with some food to make sure that his descent isn't too steep. Some medium-carb food should really help to level him out. Once you see how he reacts to that, you'll have another tool you can use in keeping him safe!
 
Ya but if i end up sick or in hospital. It wont help him.
I trying.

Ok11:16pm / 123. Gave reg carb food under 5%. Ate 1/4 of can but he is full now. He has alot of food since 6pm
 
Last edited:
Good morning! Looks like a nice safe blue night! Sorry, yes, I tend to be an early-to-bed type, last night was even a little late for me to be up. But you did great!

How is Sprocket feeling/behaving?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top