AZJenks
Member Since 2014
4/5
Oh Jenks. What are you up to?
For reference, please look at the dates leading up to 12/9/2014 on Jenks' spreadsheet. We're having a repeat of that event.
So Jenks got a reduction from 5.50U to 5.25U on 4/4 after two successive days where he went into the low 40s. He's currently in his third cycle at that reduced dose.
Today, OH notices Jenks following her around meowing for food a couple hours after AMPS. Recognizing this as uncharacteristic behavior, she tested him to discover a 34 (awesome job, OH! *high five*). She gravied him and gave him some karo and tested him until he came up to 77. He later peaked at 97 and started to come down throughout the day. He was dropping as PMPS approached, so I fed him, which gave him a mild food bump but didn't stop him from dropping again into shot time.
Looking at the course of the last several days, his AMPS readings have been dropping with each successive day and his PMPS readings have remained steadily low.
I was hoping to avoid a dose reduction so close in time to the last one without giving him several more cycles to adjust to it. On 12/9/14, I took a similar reduction after only three cycles at the new dose, only to have it take another 4 months at that dose to get where we are now.
So I had an internal debate.
The aggressive treatment part of me wanted to hold him at 5.0U to let him acclimate to the dose, arguing that:
(1) The last two reductions in a row took a long time to have any effect;
(2) We could closely monitor him and react to any reading;
(3) with Jenks, any number in isolation could be a total fluke;
(4) It's probably just leftover depot action, it will clear up in a few days; and
(5) by reducing further, we risk disrupting the current delicate balance, having his numbers get away from us, and then going through this long chase all over again.
The conservative part of me said that his body is telling us that it's getting too much insulin and that it's time to go to 4.75U, responding that:
(1) a low 30s reading is no joke, leaving no room for error;
(2) the protocol calls for an immediate reduction for a reading in the 30s;
(3) we've been struggling to keep his numbers up at 5.0U, having to gravy him once or twice daily;
(4) his morning readings are dropping steadily, leading to the very likely possibility that tomorrow's AMPS could be 50 or under;
(5) his safety is paramount.
Conservative part wins. Jenks earned a reduction to 4.75U tonight. Only 19 more to go Jenks!
Oh Jenks. What are you up to?
For reference, please look at the dates leading up to 12/9/2014 on Jenks' spreadsheet. We're having a repeat of that event.
So Jenks got a reduction from 5.50U to 5.25U on 4/4 after two successive days where he went into the low 40s. He's currently in his third cycle at that reduced dose.
Today, OH notices Jenks following her around meowing for food a couple hours after AMPS. Recognizing this as uncharacteristic behavior, she tested him to discover a 34 (awesome job, OH! *high five*). She gravied him and gave him some karo and tested him until he came up to 77. He later peaked at 97 and started to come down throughout the day. He was dropping as PMPS approached, so I fed him, which gave him a mild food bump but didn't stop him from dropping again into shot time.
Looking at the course of the last several days, his AMPS readings have been dropping with each successive day and his PMPS readings have remained steadily low.
I was hoping to avoid a dose reduction so close in time to the last one without giving him several more cycles to adjust to it. On 12/9/14, I took a similar reduction after only three cycles at the new dose, only to have it take another 4 months at that dose to get where we are now.
So I had an internal debate.
The aggressive treatment part of me wanted to hold him at 5.0U to let him acclimate to the dose, arguing that:
(1) The last two reductions in a row took a long time to have any effect;
(2) We could closely monitor him and react to any reading;
(3) with Jenks, any number in isolation could be a total fluke;
(4) It's probably just leftover depot action, it will clear up in a few days; and
(5) by reducing further, we risk disrupting the current delicate balance, having his numbers get away from us, and then going through this long chase all over again.
The conservative part of me said that his body is telling us that it's getting too much insulin and that it's time to go to 4.75U, responding that:
(1) a low 30s reading is no joke, leaving no room for error;
(2) the protocol calls for an immediate reduction for a reading in the 30s;
(3) we've been struggling to keep his numbers up at 5.0U, having to gravy him once or twice daily;
(4) his morning readings are dropping steadily, leading to the very likely possibility that tomorrow's AMPS could be 50 or under;
(5) his safety is paramount.
Conservative part wins. Jenks earned a reduction to 4.75U tonight. Only 19 more to go Jenks!
Last edited: