4/6 Tessie Lou - AMPS 341-Discouraged, Worried

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
Good morning everyone,
First of all, WOOT and HOORAY! for our Binks and Celi!

Not to be a wet blanket on such a happy occasion, but here at Tessie's house, things are yukky. To recap the past week, Tessie Lou had a dose increase on 3/30 to 1.75 units, which didn't have any effect. She stayed in 300s in amps mostly. So, per protocol, on 4/4, I increased her again to 2.0 units, and again, nothing much happening, just those darn pink numbers.

I don't know what this means, or what to do. I am so discouraged as I write this. Can there be other underlying issues that cause diabetes, and make it appear that insulin doesn't work? I feel so bad for her! She is acting ok, nothing different. Appetite and LB are good. Maybe time for some diagnostic tests for underlying issues?
 
Any infection or inflammation can cause BG numbers to rise. You note that Tessie is prone to UTIs. Could she be starting to have a problem in that area? Does she need a dental?

It's possible that the pinks are a bit of NDW. Let's see how she does by tomorrow with regard to her numbers. Some cats need a little longer than others for a dose to settle.
 
Aww, I'm sorry you are feeling discouraged. Sometimes an underlying infection can cause BG numbers to be higher. That is why most diabetic kitties need dental cleanings more often. (Gingivitis - inflammation - infection)

Also it is very possible that Tessie hasn't reached an effective dose yet. I see that she's only had a few green numbers. You are not at a high dose and I would keep on keeping on until you get the breakthrough dose. It may be just around the corner.

I know it's hard to see her stuck with so many pinks and yellows, but I feel that you are doing the right thing by continuing with steady increases. One day she might get that "snap" and then everything falls into place.

Hang in there, you are doing fine!

Edit to add: oops, I type slowly. I concur with Sienne!
 
Sandy: I just wanted to give you some support; I know how discouraging and frustrating this can be. It's a game of patience which is not my strong suit. They kept telling us that it's a marathon not a sprint. I am just now truly realizing what that means. Hang in there. It is a good idea to get things checked out but if all is ok...it's just finding that dose that kicks in for her. (((Sandy)))
 
:YMHUG: Sandy :YMHUG: Finding the right dose is so frustrating. Some cats take longer to get through NDW than others, but it is nerve wracking wondering if you are waiting too long. You will find an answer! And yeah, that awful word, Patience!
 
Hi Sienne, Marje, and CD,
Yes, she is prone to UTI's or what turns out to be cystitis (vet confirmed). So, it could be that, although I haven't seen any of the usual symptoms. Also, she just had two weeks of Amoxicillin for that three weeks ago, which really had very little effect on her numbers either. Vet had said her teeth looked good in Feb.

Ok, we'll give it another day then and re-evaluate tomorrow. Thanks, guys. We'll keep fumbling along--I just feel so inadequate as her caregiver. Going to go crawl under the covers for awhile. Lack of sleep does not help one's reasoning ability. :YMSIGH:

Edit: Thanks, Ann. Yes, patience. I'm trying...
 
Hi guys .. just also wanted to say I know how hard it is to see our kitties up on those high floors .. it's hard not knowing what to do for them, or what could be causing the high numbers .. sometimes it is just a matter of stepping back and knowing that you are doing everything right but it just takes time and patience ...

one day, when she was having some really good numbers I told peter that sometimes I can vision little tiny men in her, massaging her pancreas, trying to get it to work .. then peter said, oh you mean like "vita-men"? :lol: So whenever she was having good numbers days her vita-men were hard at work .. and when she was having high number days, we blamed those dang lazy vita-men! Kinda silly but it got us through on those high number days ...
 
no advice, i'm right there with you. punkin's at 7.25 today, doing the same thing as tessie lou just higher up. i'm telling myself that perhaps punkin won't be one of those kitties that goes OTJ, but if not, at least he's basically healthy and definitely alive to share my life! hang in there.
 
Ok, we'll give it another day then and re-evaluate tomorrow. Thanks, guys. We'll keep fumbling along--I just feel so inadequate as her caregiver. Going to go crawl under the covers for awhile. Lack of sleep does not help one's reasoning ability.

You've gotten great input, so I'm just here to give hugs. Looking for that right dose is so stressful -- especially when you're not getting enough sleep.

You are doing all the right things. Just keep plugging along. :YMHUG:
 
Devon, thanks for stopping by. Love the vita-men! Little mini-masseuers, huh? I could use about a hundred of them working on my neck muscles today. :lol: :lol:
Julie, I know, I've been watching Punkin's numbers, too. It's just crazy sometimes, isn''t it? BTW, Punkin and Anya's pics on your profile are adorable! Love the story about Anya stealing things!

I posted this to Roni and Moonie's condo, but I think I"ll add it here, too. I was thinking of how this is Bink's Big Day, and his life is going on in a wonderfl new direction, and how poor Maverick's life on this earth is tragically over so soon. It reminded me of that song, Circle of Life, from Lion King. We're all on this circular path together. And, if I went over to the Heatlh Forum today, there would no doubt be one or two "newbies" just beginning on the path of Feline Diabetes. Anyway, FWIW, here are the lyrics:

Circle of Life
From the day we arrive on the planet
And blinking, step into the sun
There's more to see than can ever be seen
More to do than can ever be done
There's far too much to take in here
More to find than can ever be found
But the sun rolling high
Through the sapphire sky
Keeps great and small on the endless round

It's the Circle of Life
And it moves us all
Through despair and hope
Through faith and love
Till we find our place
On the path unwinding
In the Circle
The Circle of Life
 
I found another verse to the Circle of Life:

Some of us fall by the wayside
And some of us soar to the stars
And some of us sail through our troubles
And some have to live with the scars

There's far too much to take in here
More to find than can ever be found
But the sun rolling high
Through the sapphire sky
Keeps the great and small on the endless round
of the Circle of Life...

Makes me smile through my tears for all these kitties we love...
 
That's a great song, Sandy, and so appropriate for the occasion tonight.

I'd like to chime in on the "don't be discouraged" theme. I am lucky with Rusty because he was well regulated (by Claudia and Phoebe) before he came to us. But with Stu we were up and down all over the place. He was already a long-term diabetic when he was switched to Lantus (because PZI Vet was discontinued). He was put on way too high a dose and we almost lost him (I found this board at just the right moment). Don't be discouraged. Tessie Lou will be fine when you get that dose just right. It does take time.
Hang in there!

Ella
p.s. Stu was doing really well last spring as far as diabetes goes, but then in the summer he was diagnosed with both Hyper T and CRF. Eventually also a cancer diagnosis and we lost him in late September. But for a few months it really seemed that he was going to get well regulated and he looked and acted just great.
 
(((Sandy)))
don't be discouraged.....you are doing your very best for Tessie Lou....you have gotten great input here today...just hang in there....

in case you don't know our story....Rocket would have been on his way to his second remission had it not been for the latest finding of cancer...so he started the prednisolone and buprenorphine...which the pred sent his numbers in the pink and yellow...something we weren't used to seeing....it is scary but as the dose increased (per protocol) we are now at 3.5u bid....he seems to be reacting to that dose (knock on wood) and we are seeing blues and some greens....though with his cancer dx we won't ever reach a second remission....moral of the story....Tessie Lou will react to lower numbers when the right dose comes to her....so hang in there....it will come....

one thing though....not sure if you are testing at home....but at those numbers if it were me i would test for ketones....just a thought
 
what an appropriate song!

just want to throw out two things here...you are in NO way inadequate as his caregiver...you are doing a wonderful job!

and it took awhile for us to find the right dose for the Binkster...we just kept plugging away with some great coaching and support from the forum...
and the one day, his system tripped...and it was a mad dash off to the races...and then back up the dose ladder for awhile...then off and running again.

Hang in there, girl...and we'll hang in there with you!
 
Hi Sandy - love the song - very nice, and thanks for posting it. :-D

I too can't add too much to what has been said - I agree with them all. I think in some regards we have all been there. It sometimes takes time to find that breakthrough dose, when things finally start to click. Hang in there. It takes patience and time, but it will come.
 
Hey!! Cut That OUT!!! Moonie & I have been here a long time, sometimes she responds to a dose, sometimes it takes a while, up, down & all around, is where we been!!
She is well, she is happy, I have learned that is what matters--There is no race to OTJ, but there is the good health goal!
You have been doing a great job--Please dont do that to yourself..
Moonie used to get feline acne on her chin--tiny little black specks, which would get irritated & a tiny bit infected & raised her bgs several times, until I got it under control..See a simple explaination for an almost indistinguishable problem!
You are doing great, give yourself a pat on the back! HUGS from US!
I never knew the words to that song, very beautiful!
 
Hi Ella,
Really nice of you to drop by. I didn't know that about poor Stu. Why do they have to get all this stuff (CRF, Hyper T, cancer) on top of the diabetes? It must have been a terrible blow, especially after he had such a good run with the diabetes. :YMSIGH: Well, I'm sorry for your loss, and I appreciate your sharing his story. I have heard others talk about Stu, but I think he passed before Tessie was diagnosed in November. I'm so glad Rusty is regulated. And I know he is an opera singer! I think Tessie is a bit smitten with him, after hearing him sing at the last couple of parties! She's a singer herself, you know--very melodious, especially in the early morning. She loves to hear the sound of her own voice travelling up the stairs to my bedroom! ;-)

Rusty, wasn't Bink's OTJ party fun? Maybe we could do a duet sometime? Kind of like Celine Dion and Andrea Bocelli! :-D :oops: Tessie Lou

Dear Claudia, you're such a peach to stop by and lend support. I've been following Rocket's situation for awhile now. That awful cancer! He is such a trooper, and I always think of him on his patio bundled up and soaking up the rays. You are a great mom to him, and your perseverence gives me strength to keep at this. Tessie is really pretty lucky to just have diabetes to deal with. We'll get there on the dosing, and thanks for the ketone testing tip. I will do it tomorrow for sure. I have the strips, just haven't done it in awhile. It is definitely time.

Julie, glad you like the lyrics. I think they're pretty appropriate for our little sugarcats...and, I guess for us caregivers too! :smile:

Oh, Celi! I hope I haven't rained on Bink's parade. It has been so cool to watch him make it to the Falls! When one of our kitties makes it, we all feel regenerated--like filling the car with gas! :-D You and Binks are just the greatest. Can't tell you how many times you've made me laugh out loud with his antics and your pictures. Thanks so much for stopping by on Bink's Big Day! We'll definitely hang in, and hope to see you in LL often!

Binksey! What a great party, dude! We are all so excited for you--maybe I'll see you at the Falls someday...Tessie Lou

Michelle and Roni, ok, I will stop beating myself up now. I think my melodrama today was partially due to lack of sleep. I don't have to look far to see others who have weathered this disease a lot longer and with more complications than Tessie and I have. Roni, the acne thing is something I never would have thought of--so glad you got it under control and it had a good effect on Moonie's numbers. I'm going to get a +5 and then head to bed--the real thing, not the couch. :oops: Thanks again, guys.

Tessie was PMPS 296--still no change. Thank you all for the much needed encouragement today. I feel better, and tomorrow's another day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top