4/6 RosyPMPS 301/+5 328 22g needle ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/6 Rosy AMPS 414 Still red!

Rosy we discussed this red business yesterday!

At least it's a low one, hope she is down a floor or two already
 
Re: 4/6 Rosy AMPS 414/+4 302

Well Serryn, lets hope rosy got bored with those red numbers.
She got to be ashamed that she's the only one wearing those red on this page!

AM+4 302, that's a bit better. Too bad I cannot stay home this afternoon for more testing, hoping to see her with some yellow, maybe?
 
Re: 4/6 Rosy AMPS 414/+4 302

I think that's near enough to call yellow, and maybe a nice yellow PMPS for you tonight too - what do you think Rosy?

I hope you are having a great afternoon :-D
 
Re: 4/6 Rosy AMPS 414/+4 302/+10 245

Thanks Serryn! I havent met my friends for mths already. This afternoon since dh was at home, I joined my friends for an afternoon tea. Must have missed Rosy's "possible" blue during that period.

AM +10 245 Food was given at +8.5 so I'd suspect Rosy has a bit of blue during her nadir? Hope this girl has settled her bounce.
 
Re: 4/6 Rosy AMPS 414/+4 302/+10 245

Nice recovery of yellow there Rosy! You have a rainbow kitty today. Hope you had a great time with your friends and great that you got out.
 
Re: 4/6 Rosy AMPS 414/+4 302/+10 245PMPS 301

Thanks Melissa & Tarragon! Haven't really left home for months other than doing grocery shopping, banking, visits to vets & such, I felt really uneasy leaving Rosy & the rest at home. Guess I got stucked already! :lol: Cant wait to get home for a +10!

Rosy PMPS 301 gave steamed chicken & 1u.

Rosy has been fighting not to have her ear pricked these few days. I need dh to help holding her a bit so that I can prick & get the meter testing. Ive been giving her treats after the tests, maybe she's fed up because she's feeling better already? Or maybe her ear is hurting? Comparing to the rest of the kitties here, Rosy got less testing which I dont understand how other's accept the pricking.
Using a thinner needle 24g, 25g was not working for Rosy because the drop of blood was so little that the meter could not work on it. Massageing & kneading her ear was more irritating to her so I stick to using the 22g.
 
Re: 4/6 RosyPMPS 301/+5 328 Dosage inc+ ?

PM+5 328 Another purple. gave her canned supper.

:?: Should I increase the doseage?
This is the 23rd cycle of Rosy on 1u dosage. During the last 6 cycle, Rosy remained in the red & purple zone. Although she had a PM session with green numbers, a few blue & green scattered around, I am not sure if this is the right doae for her to get into more regulated blue or green. Physically Rosy looks fine; good appetite, but I did notice the quantity of urine is a bit more.
Should I stay with the same dose or increase it back to 1.25 or 1.15 (if I can make a 1.1u)?
 
Re: 4/6 RosyPMPS 301/+5 328 Dosage inc+ ?

Actually, a 22 gauge needle is huge! I use a 30 gauge. (The lower the gauge of the needle, the bigger the hole it makes. The higher the number, the thinner the needle.)

I think it's fine to increase Rosy's dose to 1.25u.
 
Re: 4/6 RosyPMPS 301/+5 328 Dosage inc+ ?

I was thinking yesterday that if you still weren't seeing action by last night it could be time to go back up too...

ETA: I also think increase by the 0.25 and then next time Rosy earns her reduction try shaving in down instead of the full decrease, she's on a fairly small dose so maybe the 0.25 decrease was a little too much for her.
 
Re: 4/6 RosyPMPS 301/+5 328 Dosage inc+ ?

Thanks! I'd go up to 1.25 for the AM shot which is due in 2 hrs time.

As for the 22g needle, I have tried the 24, 25, 29& 30 g. For 29, 30 ; no blood at all. For 24, the blood was so little that I've to knead & squeeze which irritate Rosy even more. Sometimes the blood was so oittle that the meter cannot read :oops: And the needle will just poke through her ear.
For 22g, I never poke through her ear & can get blood without too much squeezing. The blood from a 22g poking is not very much. The bleeding will stop immediately after I apply pressure to the wound.
Can it be that the dsh cats in the east are smaller built that their blood capillatery are thinner, thus more difficult to get sufficient blood? Rosy is 4.2kg
 
Have you tried warming her ear before you prick her? It is enough for Vyktor to rub the prick site for a little while first but maybe Rosy would like to try a rice sock?
 
It can take a while for the capillary bed to increase. Until it does, a thicker needle will allow you to be more successful at getting blood. However, the prick will be more painful. I would give a thinner needle a try and see if you're able to get blood now that you've been testing for a while.
 
I'll try warming her ear again. I've been doing the warming few wks back but as the weather is quite warm how & Rosy is bleeding more easily, I've stopped. I used a pill bottle filled with hot water for the warming.

The trial on thinner needle was done this week when Rosy bleeds more easy than mth ago.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top