4/6 Rocky PMPS 320 +2 237 +4 60 +6 44 +6.5 67 +7 56 + 8 78

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning, (not really)

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116718

So, I gave Rocky the stinkin' reducie, AGAINST my better judgement.

With a SUPER CRAPPY morning AMPS like THAT, in the REDS, and having not been fed a lick of food for the past 3 hours since PMPS +6, I do not think I should have given him less insulin.

It just takes Rocky FOREVER to recover from a bounce and he has failed reductions time, and time again. :roll:

I think the only thing that Rocky is telling me from last night is, "You fed me too many times, and too much food at all of those 50s. You should have waited longer to see where my BG was going. I would have been fine, but you freaked out because of the two low numbers. It just takes my pancreas a few extra minutes to realize that it has been given some good food."

The events of last night are REALLY going to set him back... it will probably be DAYS before Rocky see numbers in the blues again. Maybe months before we see even a 99.

I think I should change Rocky's rules, protocol to read-

"Do NOT follow Rocky's dosing.
Rocky does not get reducies when AMPS or PMPS is 400 or above."​
cat(2)_steam​
 
Re: 4/6 Rocky AMPS 439!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I feel your frustration....that certainly is quite a bounce. But, Rocky DID prove that he needs less insulin last night.

One thing some folks with bouncy kitties do here is that they shoot through the bounce, THEN take the reducie. So, with that big bounce this morning, it would have been perfectly acceptable to shoot one last dose at 2.50U, then take the reduction this evening.

Another thing you could think of doing is "shaving" the dose, rather than taking the full .25U reductions. At a glance, it almost does look like his needs may currently fall in between 2.25U and 2.50U - ie, a Fat2.25U or a Skinny2.50U. While "fattening" or "skinnying" really is just a matter of drop - maybe two - it is amazing what difference it can make for some kitties.

You do just want to be careful when you see a dose giving you numbers in the 30s...remember that Lantus dosing is based on the nadir with only a little consideration given to preshot values.

And you never know...even with that big bounce, Rocky may surprise you by coming down today.
 
Re: 4/6 Rocky AMPS 439!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

yes to all that Amy said.

and the thing is that all of that time spent in greens helps his body to realize that these are normal numbers. it isn't wasted time, it's worthwhile. He will clear bounces more quickly the more time he spends in green.

i think hitting a dose less than 2.5 but more than 2.25 is a worthy goal. i'd go back up to it tonight, personally, but it's up to you.
 
Re: 4/6 Rocky AMPS 439 +1 396 +4 368

Julie, if Rocky were your cat, you would increase back to the 2.50u tonight? I could try my best to make it a "skinny" 2.50u..

Rocky's BG seems stuck in the 300s today.
 
Re: 4/6 Rocky AMPS 439 +1 396 +4 368

If Rocky were my cat, I would NOT go back up to 2.5 tonight. Numbers in the 30's mean business. What others are suggesting is taking a drop or two off of a 2.5 to try to skinny it up a bit or to fatten up the 2.25.

Looks like Rocky is giving you permission for a pokie break kind of day so you can get out and enjoy the Sunday. And Julie is right, the more long stretches in green, the less he'll bounce over time.
 
Re: 4/6 Rocky AMPS 439 +1 396 +4 368

I so know how you feel. Max has failed reductions several times as well. His bounce has started and that usually means punk or even red on the horizon but he is clearing them faster. Rocky will too. Thanks for keeping me company last night. I have a feeling it will happen again sooner rather than later. I hope you get to take a nap today. If so, do it for me too because I can't. LOL.

Elise
 
Re: 4/6 Rocky AMPS 439 +1 396 +4 368

i agree with wendy. you don't want to immediately go back to a dose that got him into the 30's. i was suggesting trying to get a dose in between 2.25 and 2.50.
 
Re: 4/6 Rocky AMPS 439 +1 396 +4 368

Hi Wendy,

Ok.. I didn't explain myself very well there. I'll blame it on being tired.. lol..but I think I'm never very good at explaining myself here. Yes, I wasn't going to attempt another flat 2.50u dose for Rocky tonight, although I do believe that RIGHT NOW, it would not hurt him at all if I did so. I believe his depot is empty, as it usually is when I am presented with these lows and then comes an immediate onset of a CATAPULT JUMP to an exceedingly high number.


I think I will attempt a "skinny" 2.50u, doing my very best to match up the bottom of the plunger with line on the syringe.
 

Attachments

  • catapultFDMB.jpg
    catapultFDMB.jpg
    149.4 KB · Views: 280
Re: 4/6 Rocky AMPS 439 +1 396 +4 368 +8 399

i usually am looking at an itty bitty netbook when i'm on the board. One "window" for me on Rocky's ss is about 10 days - and I was just noticing when I look at 3/19-3/29, the overall look of his spreadsheet is pink.

when i scroll down one screen and look at 3/30-4/05, the overall look of his ss is blue/green with a sprinkle of yellow. very little pink. that's progress.

try it.

perhaps this will be a short bounce.
 
Re: 4/6 Rocky AMPS 439 +1 396 +4 368 +8 399

It's great to see so many greens on Rocky's ss - although not the one below 50.

I hope Rocky clears the bounce quickly. I know the bouncing is frustrating (to put it mildly)!
 
Re: *Dosecrease 4/6 Rocky PMPS 320

Rocky is still stuck in a sea of stinky pinky numbers, barely moving down the pink scale.. I just did my best to give him only a *slight* dosecrease tonight. I attempted a "skinny" 2.50u.

I leveled the bottom of the syringe plunger at the 2.50u line so that the top of the plunger was barely touching the bottom of the 2.25u line. It looked like the plunger was sort of in-between the 2.25u and the 2.50u.

Shelly, it would be awesome if Rocky was able to visit some lower numbers tonight. I'd be happy with even yellow numbers for now with this new *tiny* dosecrease. :YMPEACE: I need to get some real sleep as opposed to one hour catnaps.
 
DIVING 4/6 Rocky PMPS 320 +2 237☛ +4 60

Rocky's blood glucose went from 237 to 60 in two hours.. That's a 177 point drop. ohmygod_smile

Julie, I broke down and gave him the FF Classic Chicken which has the 4% carbs. I believe this is the first time I've fed him that since he became diabetic. He used to get it all of the time. I just wanted to avoid the chicken until the end of the month, but I don't have anything else in the house that he will eat other than the HC Friskies.

He quit eating the 2% lamb and I have no idea why. He just stands over it and stares, and sniffs it as if he might barf just looking at it. I don't understand what happened because he was eating that lamb just fine three days ago.

Unless his BG starts to come up with just the small bite of food, it looks like my "skinny" 2.50u wasn't skinny enough. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 4/6 Rocky PMPS 320 +2 237 +4 60 +6 44 +6.5 67 +7 56 + 8

Hi Tina. At least he he stayed over 50. You won't need to reduce. Max is still bouncing, sigh.

Elise
 
Re: 4/6 Rocky PMPS 320 +2 237 +4 60 +6 44 +6.5 67 +7 56 + 8

Hey Elise.. No, Rocky visited 44 overnight. :YMSIGH: I'm still up and haven't had one bit of sleep. That was a "skinny" that definitely did not work.

Even worse, I'm thinking of not even giving Rocky a shot this morning, not even stalling a shot. I'm thinking of completely skipping his morning shot.
 
Re: 4/6 Rocky PMPS 320 +2 237 +4 60 +6 44 +6.5 67 +7 56 + 8

What is his BG now and when is he due? I'm sorry you had another sleepless night. It's so hard to think clearly. It won't be so bad to skip a dose. You need to stay healthy yourself and it should allow you to sleep tonight.

Elise
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top