4/6 Morlei AMPS 286 +1.5 262 Help with labs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Becky & Morlei

Member Since 2012
Increased to 5 units last night...I'm really hoping we see some lower numbers soon!
Switched around her food so now she is getting the 3-5% carb food at meals with her shots and the 0-3% carb food at snack time. Hoping maybe in a few days we'll see a slight drop from that.
 
Re: 4/6 Morlei AMPS 286

nice to see a Morlei condo, becky! i was wondering how you guys were doing!

if Morlei continues with the 200's for the nadir after you've seen at least 4 cycles on the 5.0 units, you have the option of increasing at that point or waiting 2 more cycles, and you also have the option of increasing by .5u instead of .25u. it would just be good to get ahead of these constant highs.

from the Rand/Roomp TR protocol:
If nadir blood glucose concentration 200-300mg/dL (11-17 mmol/L) Increase every 3 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin

from the Tilly Protocol:
Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.

from FDMB General Guidelines:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

All of these come from the yellow starred sticky on the Tight Regulation Protocol. Do you have any thoughts about what you would like to do? questions?
 
Re: 4/6 Morlei AMPS 286

julie & punkin said:
nice to see a Morlei condo, becky! i was wondering how you guys were doing!

if Morlei continues with the 200's for the nadir after you've seen at least 4 cycles on the 5.0 units, you have the option of increasing at that point or waiting 2 more cycles, and you also have the option of increasing by .5u instead of .25u. it would just be good to get ahead of these constant highs.

from the Rand/Roomp TR protocol:
If nadir blood glucose concentration 200-300mg/dL (11-17 mmol/L) Increase every 3 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin

from the Tilly Protocol:
Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.

from FDMB General Guidelines:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

All of these come from the yellow starred sticky on the Tight Regulation Protocol. Do you have any thoughts about what you would like to do? questions?

After I re-read the TR protocol I increased .5 from 4.25 to 4.75 but then decided to just go up .25 last night to get it to a nice even number so we continue increasing at easier-to-measure .5 intervals.
I didn't know that I could increase after 4 cycles, I thought I had to wait 6 cycles, so we'll definitely be increasing at the 4 cycle mark then this weekend.

I'm getting frustrated that we aren't seeing any results. There has to be some other underlying problem that is affecting the diabetes. I remember she had a few high-ish numbers on her blood test when she was first diagnosed but no one at the clinic even said anything about them...they may have just been concerned with the diabetes though. I went back to my first condo (wow so weird to read that, I sound so scared!) and here are the results that were considered abnormal:
Albumin: 4.3 HIGH (reference 2.5-3.9 g/dL)
Glucose: 414 HIGH (reference 64-170 mg/dL)
Na/K ratio: 28 LOW (reference 32-41)
Cholesterol: 228 HIGH (reference 75-220 mg/dL)
Amylase: 1302 HIGH (reference 100-1200 IU/L)
IN URINE:
Protein: 3+ HIGH
Glucose Strip: 3+ HIGH
Occult Blood: Trace HIGH
Microalbuminuria: >30 HIGH (reference <2.5 mg/dL)

I had her thyroid checked before we started the Lantus, came back fine.
The whole dental thing is weighing heavily on my mind...I can't get the horror stories out of my head...the other day I read about a kitty on here that had their windpipe punctured during the procedure and they didn't know until it had to be rushed back to the vet. I will never forgive myself if something happens to Morlei during an "elective" procedure. However I do want to take her back in for an exam and blood test, I'll have the vet do a dental exam and see what she thinks. I bought a kitty toothbrush and some gauze and I was going to start cleaning their teeth that way for now...can I use the same toothbrush for all 4 cats?

Food is all under 5% carbs, freeze dried chicken bites is the only treats she gets, boys are fed their portion of dry in a separate room on plates that are picked up and kept in a high cupboard along with the bag of dry (I cannot get them off the dry to save my life!). She eats about 8.5 oz a day. Her fur is soft, she doesn't look thin, eyes are bright and beautiful, she's a lazy cat and doesn't play much but is walking fine, runs up the stairs whenever it's food time! Looks like a mountain goat when she does that haha.

I feel like I've covered all the bases with what I can do myself at home. Do you have any other suggestions?

I do have one question about shot location. I read that continuously giving the shot in the scruff can cause scar tissue so we started moving the shots to either side of the scruff and a little further down, left in the morning, right at night. Where do you usually give Punkin's shots?

I need to post more, I really do, but when she's getting the same numbers every day I feel like I would bore everyone to tears looking at my condos haha.
 
Re: 4/6 Morlei AMPS 286 +1.5 262

bore everyone eh? hahahahaha

we shoot punkin along his back, actually. grab a tent on the left side of his spine, which he prefers over the right, just out from the scruff and shoot in there. my DH has been doing most of the shots for a while now, and i keep reminding him to move around but it always kinda looks the same to me, if ya know what i mean. i keep my mouth shut since i prefer him to do it. :lol:

yes, when you've got constant overall high numbers it's ok to increase every 4 cycles. and with a 5.0unit dose, it's ok to go up by .5u. i know what you mean by liking the even dose lines on the syringe, but that always seems to be the dose that moves by quickly for punkin.

eta - would you edit your subject line to include "help with labs?" so people who know more about that area will see your questions?
 
Re: 4/6 Morlei AMPS 286 +1.5 262

With regard to Morlei's labs, the albumin level is probably due to mild dehydration and nothing to worry about. If Morlei isn't experiencing any other symptoms (e.g., weakness or vomiting) the sodium/potassium ratio is likely unimportant. It may be worth discussing with your vet or getting the labs re-run. Cholesterol level, particularly in cats is unimportant. Amylase levels in cats are notoriously unreliable.

To be honest, the only thing that's of concern is the trace blood in the urine. Was the urinalysis done by cystocentesis (needle into the bladder) or a free catch? If the former, then it's not unusual for a bit of blood to get into the sample. If the latter, it could be indicative of a UTI, however, if there was no indication of an infection on the other blood work, it's probably nothing.
 
Re: 4/6 Morlei AMPS 286 +1.5 262

Becky....what were her renal values? Just curious because of the MA being high. I'm assuming since you didn't post them that they were WNL.

Good luck with the dosecrease. I hope this starts to bring Morlei down.

We move shot site around: scruff, chest, side and I do left in the morning and right at night. That helps to keep from getting scar tissue and, quite frankly, I've seen no difference in absorption rates.
 
Re: 4/6 Morlei AMPS 286 +1.5 262

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Becky....what were her renal values? Just curious because of the MA being high. I'm assuming since you didn't post them that they were WNL.

Good luck with the dosecrease. I hope this starts to bring Morlei down.

We move shot site around: scruff, chest, side and I do left in the morning and right at night. That helps to keep from getting scar tissue and, quite frankly, I've seen no difference in absorption rates.

I'll try to find the paperwork, I copied those results from my first post, but I'm also going to assume it was in the normal range if I didn't post it. I'll also be taking her in to get another test in the next week or so. I'm assuming the urine was done with the needle because they got it quickly and said she is diabetic, which was confirmed with the blood test. Thanks for putting my mind at ease about those numbers, I had always wondered if they were something we should have addressed months ago.

Have a happy Easter everyone!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top