4/6 Kushi AMPS 182 +1.5 196 +3 154 +6 180 +9 211 +11 219

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe & Kushi

Member Since 2011
This is Kushi's lowest AMPS. I went ahead and shot (1.5), but would like to have some advice from you guys. Iam not sure how to interpret the data yet as I don't that much (see SS). Talk to me. :smile:
 
Re: 4/6 Kushi AMPS 182 Question

I am about as you can be from an expert, but I would say that you did the right thing. Kushi might be getting used to the dose. The important thing here would be to test just to know where the numbers take Kushi and how is the insulin working. How about trying a curve today, if you can?

Like I said, I'm no expert, and more experimented eyes should be able to tell you what to do in no time. So bump. :-D
 
Re: 4/6 Kushi AMPS 182 Question

As long as you will be around to monitor it will be fine--You have low carb food, med.carb & high carb food available, right?--You have karo or honey, you have a meter & strips? Then you have everything you need..
You are in control, so if Kushi goes down to lower numbers, you can control with food--
I see you transitioned with dry, so you have that on hand--You are doing very well, just post your numbers today in your heading so we can see where Kushi is going--OK? There is always someone here to help!
 
Re: 4/6 Kushi AMPS 182 Question

There's not a great deal to interpret yet other than noting that Kushi's numbers are looking good.

A couple of things to be attentive to. Since this is the lowest you've shot, please get a +1 and a +2.

I'd strongly encourage you to start testing during the PM cycle. Many cats have lower numbers at night. You're already starting with lower pre-shot numbers and you have no idea what's happening after PMPS. Please start getting a before bed test at the absolute minimum. Without evening tests, you're missing half of your data as well as the possibility that Kushi has earned a dose reduction. Kushi saw a green at nadir yesterday with a yellow pre-shot. Kushi could be in even lower numbers overnight.

As for the question on your spreadsheet, you can shoot below 200 but you MUST test.

ETA: When you have a chance, can you complete a Profile for Kushi?
 
Re: 4/6 Kushi AMPS 182 Question

Good morning guys .. lots of good advice here so just know you are in control with HC or MC foods that you may need and just be on top of testing .. you guys are doing great ... have a great day!
 
Re: 4/6 Kushi AMPS 182 Question

Sienne and Gabby said:
There's not a great deal to interpret yet other than noting that Kushi's numbers are looking good.


As for the question on your spreadsheet, you can shoot below 200 but you MUST test.

RE: Spreadsheet: how do I note "Kushi's SS" rather that showing the entire URL?
 
Re: 4/6 Kushi AMPS 182 Question +1.5 196 +3 154

Yes, I will start some testing after PMPS; just have been worn out with all this but am finally getting some rest. I really appreciate all the guidance!

I have been trying to allow Kushi's ears to rest after the curve Sunday; is there such a thing as too much testing that could damage her ears??
 
Re: 4/6 Kushi AMPS 182 Question +1.5 196 +3 154 +6 180

i think punkin's ears look a little bit different than before we starting testing them, but i don't really see a choice. The couple of things you can do to help Kushi's ears - put pressure on the poke after you've tested so that it doesn't continue to bleed and make a bruise and then put the neosporin ointment with pain relief on.

if there's real damage i'm sure all of our kitties have it. i've tested as much as 18 times on a day when punkin went low. i try to use different spots and both ears. i also remind myself that the testing is what's keeping him alive - then i don't feel so badly.
 
Re: 4/6 Kushi AMPS 182 Question +1.5 196 +3 154 +6 180

Binks' ear is already starting to return to normal from his testaholic bean...

nice numbers!

celi & binks
 
Re: 4/6 Kushi AMPS 182 +1.5 196 +3 154 +6 180 +9 211 +11 21

I have been using the Neosporin and holding her ear when I'm through. I alternate ears with each stick. At first I couldn't get the lancet device to work and Kushi was really irritated from sticking her manually when I did her curve Sunday. I tried the device again Monday and voila success! Now she doesn't even flinch; in fact, she will sometimes purr when I put her up on the pillow to do the deed. She is very docile by nature, so if she ever goes lethargic on us we might never know it. :lol:
 
Re: 4/6 Kushi AMPS 182 +1.5 196 +3 154 +6 180 +9 211 +11 21

Great that she doesn't mind the device. ECID. It freaked my Gracie out.

If you want to put "Kushi's SS" instead of the long address then you need to do this in your signature block in the "User Control Panel":

Kushi's SS
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top