4/6 Jenks PMPS 137 +3 178 +6 224

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
A PMPS reading that is lower than the preceding AM+6 reading is entirely new for Jenks, so I don't know what to do. He's scheduled for a 2.25U dose any minute now. But I'm afraid that might be too much for a reading like this. What's the protocol?
 
Re: 4/6 Jenks PMPS 137 - Time for PM shot, what dose?

Since there weren't any tests between +6 and now, we don't know if Jenks is on the way down or coming up from a lower number. One thing you could do is to stall, without feeding, for 1/2 hour and then test again. If he's either steady or coming up at that time you can shoot, and provided you can monitor him tonight, have high carb food and plenty of strips.
 
Re: 4/6 Jenks PMPS 137 - Time for PM shot, what dose?

Unfortunately, I already fed him, anticipating another high night like the last three. Having missed that opportunity, what then?
 
Re: 4/6 Jenks PMPS 137 - Time for PM shot, what dose?

OK, given that he's been fed, there are still a couple of options. First, can you monitor tonight and do you have strips and high carb food just in case?

You could still wait 1/2 hour, test again, and if he's a lot higher, stick with the same dose. For future reference, it's always good to get a couple of +1 tests to get an idea what sort of BG spike Jenks gets from a meal. If you knew that number then you'd know whether he's rising just from food or rising due to the end of the cycle.

Your second option is to shoot a reduced dose just for tonight, and go back to his regular dose tomorrow. Due to the cumulative nature of the Lantus depot, he could still have an active cycle - or not. He's a cat and they do like to surprise us.

He's not that much off his +6 test, they are within meter variance. There is more of a concern what to shoot if kitty is clearly dropping into PS. There isn't anything wrong with shooting a dropping number, but it can be an active cycle and better to do so once you have more data on Jenks' cycles.
 
Re: 4/6 Jenks PMPS 137 - Time for PM shot, what dose?

I just tested him again. It's been about 30min from his pre-shot test and he's showing a 139.

Is it advisable to skip the shot and see what happens?

Or if a reduced dose is called for, reduced by how much?

I realize that we need to get more intermittent tests in. It didn't seem like a wise use of the strips to do so over the last few days as he was apparently dealing with a bounce. It was my plan to get more data when he cleared it and was back in a regular cycle. :(
 
Re: 4/6 Jenks PMPS 137 - Time for PM shot, what dose?

If you skip the shot, he'll probably just rise up. He's surfing now. It would be OK to shoot, provided you will be home tonight and able to monitor. You have shot a 167 before. If you do shoot, I'd get a +2 test to see where he's going.

Getting some insulin in will be better than none and help preserve the depot. If you reduce the amount is up to you, but I'd do at least half.

ETA: For future reference, it's good to have a printout of the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers Sticky, in case you don't have internet access.
 
Re: 4/6 Jenks PMPS 137 - Time for PM shot, what dose?

Jenks does tend to rise higher overnight than he does during the day. So skipping the shot probably would've led to high numbers. So I gave him a slightly reduced dose at 2U. He usually likes to go under the bed to sleep for the rest of the night, but I'm going to keep him out of the room and watch him, with a few tests to see how he's doing.

Now I was 30min late with the shot tonight. How does that affect his morning shot, if at all?
 
Re: 4/6 Jenks PMPS 137 - Time for PM shot, what dose?

You can move shot times 15 minutes per cycle, or 1/2 hour once a day. For tomorrow morning, you could go 15 minutes earlier and then by the evening you'll be back on schedule.

Paws crossed for a nice calm cycle tonight. I hope you are able to get a PS test tomorrow morning. An important part of the Shooting Low Numbers sticky I referenced describes how useful it is to get tests at various times of the day. Not all cats nadir at +6 so varying those tests if you can is a good idea.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top