4/6 Guinness P435. 2.5/453, 3.5/365, 4.5/390, +6 326

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Wanted to shot the suggested 1.25, but had trouble getting that on the syringe (no 1/2u marks), probably shot closer to a 1.5. Will test again at +3

TODAY'S NUMBERS:

AMPS - 390
+3 - 361
PMPS - 435
+2.5 - 453
+3.5 - 365
+4.5 - 390
+6 - 326


Ok, Insulin resistence? Cushing's Disease? What suggestions should I take to my vet on Friday for her to test for?
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness AMPS 390 Dosed at 1.5u this am

Good morning guys .. sorry to see guinness up on the pink floor this morning .. hopefully you have a nice surprise at that +3 .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness AMPS 390, +3 361

Had a hard time testing him at the +3, had to poke him numerous times. He's really starting to get mad at me :evil:
I'm sure the stress of the test is raising his numbers slightly too.

I'm hoping the vet will find something in the remaining two tests we are waiting for results on or at his dental this Friday. I'm just not sure why he would come off of 2 year remission for no reason.
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness AMPS 390, +3 361

Oh yeah, tested for Ketones while he was peeing inappropriately on the bathroom floor (it's a habit, not a UTI) and he was negative, so that's a good thing! :-D
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness AMPS 390, +3 361

I'm sorry...I know it's not nice to laugh...but i like your sense of humor...
"(It's a habit, not a UTI)" :lol:

hope the tests give you some insight, Linda.

celi & binks
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness AMPS 390, +3 361

Come on down Guinness...you got a little extra juice today so work it, work it!!
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness AMPS 390, +3 361

Hi Linda, I would suggest that you get some syringes with 1/2 unit markings...it's very difficult to shoot the in between doses consistently without them. Consistency is important...numbers will be wonky otherwise.
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness AMPS 390, +3 361

I have never been able to find a pharmacy that sells them and I just bought a huge box of syringes from Costco. Can you recommend an online pharmacy that I might be able to get some from. Also, I take a sharpie and high-powered glasses and measure my own 1/2 and make the mark, so I'm usually pretty consistent. Plus, I'd take wonky numbers at this point, just if they were low!
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness AMPS 390, +3 361

I get mine from Walmart. I think Walgreens sells them too, from what i've seen here....ask to check them before you accept them. Hocks (online) sells them, I've used the GNP brand they sell and they are fine.....but they don't give FDMB a commission anymore, so I'm boycotting until they reinstate the affiliate program. :-x There are other places to get them, I'm sure. You could either put something in your subject line to get suggestions, or post a thread on health.

Save the ones from Costco for when you are shooting an even unit dose.
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness AMPS 390, +3 361, PMPS 435?? Thoughts?

Seriously, I was really thinking his number would be in the 200's and then we are hit with this. 435? Could he have dipped low during the day while I was not here and this is some sort of bounce? I shot a 1.5u so I will retest this evening. Any thoughts about what times to retest?
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness AMPS 390, +3 361, PMPS 435?? Thoughts?

linda and guinness said:
Seriously, I was really thinking his number would be in the 200's and then we are hit with this. 435? Could he have dipped low during the day while I was not here and this is some sort of bounce? I shot a 1.5u so I will retest this evening. Any thoughts about what times to retest?


hi Linda
I guess you didn't see my last post from early this morning in your previous condo:
Guinness Monday Condo
click on the link in blue, I posted some info and Cow's condo for reference about testing suggestions.

sorry about the pink. see how it goes tonight.
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness AMPS 390, +3 361, PMPS 435?? Thoughts?

i'm doing a .25 right now and have syringes marked with 1/2 units - it's still hard to tell, but no doubt much easier & accurate than without the 1/2 units. but i think what's most important is to be consistent. if you're the only one giving the shots and you decide where .25 is on your syringe, as long as you always do that same thing it's probably ok. at least i'm telling myself that. i ordered a box a while ago from Hocks - the monojects - most people seem to like them and i think they're pretty good.
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness AM390, +3 361, PM435. +2.5 453???

Ok, probably food spike. Plus right before I was going to test him, he jumped up on the sink, pushed the lid off of a bowl and ate some Dal Makani (Indian Lentils) (the cat will eat ANYTHING!). He probably only got a lick or two in before we shooed him away, but geez. I'll test again at +3 or +3.5. I'm starting to suspect something definitely keeping his blood sugar up, which the vet hasn't found, or insulin resistance.

Last time he responded so quickly to the insulin, this time, I'm feeling a little hopeless. :sad:
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness AM390, +3 361, PM435. +2.5 453???

Don't forget about NDW (new dose wonkiness). There's a good chance that these red numbers are a result of NDW.

For many of the beans whose kitties come back from the Falls, the second time 'round is different than the first.
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness AM390, +3 361, PM435. +2.5 453, +3.5 365

Well at least it's headed back to the beginning! :? Time to start increasing my own blood sugar (translation: headed to the ice cream and wine).
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness A390, +3 361, P435. 2.5 453, 3.5 365, 4.5 3

TODAY'S NUMBERS:

AMPS - 390
+3 - 361
PMPS - 435
+2.5 - 453
+3.5 - 365
+4.5 - 390


Ok, Insulin resistence? Cushing's Disease? What suggestions should I take to my vet on Friday for her to test for? Am I shooting water and not insulin?
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness A390, 3/361, P435. 2.5/453, 3.5/365, 4.5/39

this is day 5 on insulin. imho, you're expecting too much too soon. you have to give the insulin time to work.... have to work up to a dose which will cause a break through. make sense?

if i were in your shoes i would get some U100 syringes marked with half units. you'll need them.
i know walmart carries them. not sure about other drug stores.

where did your old ss go?
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness A390, 3/361, P435. 2.5/453, 3.5/365, 4.5/39

Just scroll down on my current spreadsheet and you will see our old numbers. He responded quickly and fantastically to insulin the first time around, albeit after some wacky dosing at first on my part do to nervousness and being new. Also, I managed the first time around to get him off the juice without the 1/2 u syringes (I'm extremely anal and can guess-ta-mate the 1/2 and 1/4 unit marks consistently), but when I get some time to venture out to Walgreens, I will try and get some.
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness A390, 3/361, P435. 2.5/453, 3.5/365, 4.5/39

lol! i didn't think to scroll down to find his old numbers.
his numbers are as i remembered. he was dosed too high to begin with and then ended up racing down the dosing scale.

you'll find this time around will probably be a whole lot different. *usually* it's a lot harder to get a cat back to the Falls the second time around.
and yes, for your own sake and sanity... get those syringes marked with half units. you're probably ok with the half unit increase you just started because the yellow numbers were high yellow. you may not have that luxury when it's time for the next increase.
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness A390, 3/361, P435. 2.5/453, 3.5/365, 4.5/39

...when it's time for the next increase.

No next increase, he is responding to this increase and then headed back to the falls, I insist...I can control everything...don't you remember that from me the first time around? :cool: ;-)

But, I will need them for the many DECREASES that we will be having in the near future, so I will go out and get some. Thanks for looking at our condo today.
 
Re: 4/6 Guinness A390, 3/361, P435. 2.5/453, 3.5/365, 4.5/39

lol! yes, linda. i remember you well.
continue with the positive thoughts! :mrgreen:
 
TODAY'S NUMBERS:

AMPS - 390
+3 - 361
PMPS - 435
+2.5 - 453
+3.5 - 365
+4.5 - 390
+6 - 326


Good night all! Thanks for watching out for us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top