4/6 Autumn amps-328,+6-335,pmps-292,+3-266,+6-148

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Well this teaches me to read labels before buying catfood...It maybe low carb but not always grain-free and apparently she needs grain-free. I use to be very good about that since my civie that I lost to cancer in November was extremely allergic to corn, wheat, and yeast. He would literally tear his face apart, but since he went to the Bridge I've gotten lax on reading those labels. Not only didn't I notice the grains in the Mixed Grill I also had gotten some Friskies Flaked Tuna in sauce...because they all love it so, then read the label this morning...Wheat Gluten, and Soy Flour...argh...oh well just hold the dose steady, go back to 9-lives only and wait for her BGs to come back down.

You would think as long as I've been doing this I would be more careful on what is in her food.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/6 Autumn amps-328

MommaOfMuse said:
Well this teaches me to read labels before buying catfood...It maybe low carb but not always grain-free and apparently she needs grain-free. I use to be very good about that since my civie that I lost to cancer in November was extremely allergic to corn, wheat, and yeast. He would literally tear his face apart, but since he went to the Bridge I've gotten lax on reading those labels. Not only didn't I notice the grains in the Mixed Grill I also had gotten some Friskies Flaked Tuna in sauce...because they all love it so, then read the label this morning...Wheat Gluten, and Soy Flour...argh...oh well just hold the dose steady, go back to 9-lives only and wait for her BGs to come back down.

You would think as long as I've been doing this I would be more careful on what is in her food.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


Yeah but they do change recipes around at times and I don't know about you but its really hard for me to read all that tiny writing....I think I'm just going to have to make a list and stick to it......

I'm curious to hear how the 9Lives works out - years ago I tried it and my guys really didn't care for it......but I can give it another shot. I do know that the Friskies Special Diet has brewers rice but no wheat corn or soy....that's what I've been serving lately cause the carb count is a bit lower than the regular stuff.
 
Re: 4/6 Autumn amps-328,+6-335

Hmmmm high and flat today....wonder what she has in store for me later.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/6 Autumn amps-328,+6-335

Come on down Autumn. Does your bikini cover all those tits. Your'e driving Lucian crazy.

P.S What flavor of 9 lives do you use? I have civie with bad allergies. too.

Doreen
 
Re: 4/6 Autumn amps-328,+6-335

Gee Mel, you could have warned me, Autumn was a 'biker' cat and prone to showing her teets! :o :lol: Poor Lucian, no wonder he can't keep his numbers down! @-)
 
Re: 4/6 Autumn amps-328,+6-335

I told you I was buying her a leather jacket for her OTJ party....Wasn't that enough of a clue she was a biker girl? :lol: I bet you thought she was a tortie too, and not just just really tattooed..lol.

If she doesn't get her tail back to the lagoon here in the next couple of days I doubt you're going to have to worry about her showing herself off in her bikini...sigh.

As far as the flavors of 9-lives...currently they are eating, chicken dinner, ocean whitefish dinner, chicken and tuna dinner, and super supper. Because that was all that was in stock when I went to reup on canned food this week...Don't know about the rest of the country but we have started calling our Walmart the OUT STORE! When I called and complained about the fact that their pet dept. shelves are so bare lately I was told by a very proud store manager that they were down from 200 outs to 80! WTH? This is good? It isn't that big of a store, with 80 outs they are still missing about 60% of their products in that department. I would love to be able to afford to shop at the local IGA it is a much smaller store but I swear they carry every flavor of 9-lives known to man, but the difference in $2.09 for a 4 pack, and $1.69 for a 4 pack is a big deal when you go through 5 cases a week.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/6 Autumn amps-328,+6-335

MommaOfMuse said:
I told you I was buying her a leather jacket for her OTJ party....Wasn't that enough of a clue she was a biker girl? :lol: I bet you thought she was a tortie too, and not just just really tattooed..lol.

If she doesn't get her tail back to the lagoon here in the next couple of days I doubt you're going to have to worry about her showing herself off in her bikini...sigh.

As far as the flavors of 9-lives...currently they are eating, chicken dinner, ocean whitefish dinner, chicken and tuna dinner, and super supper. Because that was all that was in stock when I went to reup on canned food this week...Don't know about the rest of the country but we have started calling our Walmart the OUT STORE! When I called and complained about the fact that their pet dept. shelves are so bare lately I was told by a very proud store manager that they were down from 200 outs to 80! WTH? This is good? It isn't that big of a store, with 80 outs they are still missing about 60% of their products in that department. I would love to be able to afford to shop at the local IGA it is a much smaller store but I swear they carry every flavor of 9-lives known to man, but the difference in $2.09 for a 4 pack, and $1.69 for a 4 pack is a big deal when you go through 5 cases a week.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


It sure is a difference...I noticed in my supermarket they had 9Lives for 1.99 a 4pack but it didn't look like the pate flavors......I generally go with Target over Walmart....but there was a sale at Petco online the other day so I bought 4 cases of Friskies for 12 a case with free shipping....I'm covered for a bit...but yeah - that difference in price is a big deal when you have a large family to feed.
 
Re: 4/6 Autumn amps-328,+6-335,pmps-292

It is amazing how food can make a difference! This is what I am learning quickly. I am seeing a marked improvement in Azrael my borderline kitty since switching to all wet food. His numbers have gone down every day. I only test him once a day since he does not get insulin. I have a follow up with the vet in the next week or so. The vet didn't want to start Azzy on insulin because she said that it could possibly be controlled with food. I am really impressed with all of this knowledge I am getting in the last few days.
 
Re: 4/6 Autumn amps-328,+6-335,pmps-292,+3-266

Interesting...two nights in a row, at +3 she dropped when she should be still rising and have a food talking...so I need to get some more of her am +3 and see if the same thing is happening. Because if it is I'm think its about time to run a curve on her and if either her onset has moved drastically earlier, or she is bringing herself down with food. Because if she is starting to bringing herself down with food then its about time to see if she can pass her OTJ test. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top