4/5 Shadow PMPS 146 +5.5 46 +6.5 53 +7.5 74

Christina Marie

Member Since 2020
Shadow has been dropping low this week. He is an acro kitty.
Started Cabergoline one month ago today, 1ML every 48 hours
He was on 12U Lantus until he suddenly dropped. He received reduced doses until he came up to a # I was comfortable with giving him more.
Went with 10U for his new dose. Obviously that one is too much as well. Should I drop him another unit, or would it be safer for me to drop him an additional 2 units?
 
Good catch tonight! Try 8 units next. This is a much bigger drop than protocol, but with cabergoline starting to work, it's best to be conservative. If it was too big a drop, you can more easily go up. I'd recommend a half dose, 5 units, tomorrow morning, to help drain the depot.
 
Good catch tonight! Try 8 units next. This is a much bigger drop than protocol, but with cabergoline starting to work, it's best to be conservative. If it was too big a drop, you can more easily go up. I'd recommend a half dose, 5 units, tomorrow morning, to help drain the depot.
Thank you! It's great to finally see some good cycles from my guy, but man is this stressful!
 
It's so good to see Shadow in better numbers! You're doing a fantastic job with him.
Thank you! I'm so proud of him! He's handling it all like a champ too. I can already tell a difference in his attitude and energy levels, and he's started to move around a lot better already as well. I have, however, noticed his nose sounds clogged when he's breathing. Is this normal for acro kitties or is this possibly URI I need to have him checked out for?
 
I wonder if that is the stridor that is associated with acromegaly? Does he do it when he breathes in or out? Or does it just sound really nasal-y... any wet sound? Nasal discharge? Is there a wheezy sound?
 
I wonder if that is the stridor that is associated with acromegaly? Does he do it when he breathes in or out? Or does it just sound really nasal-y... any wet sound? Nasal discharge? Is there a wheezy sound?
It is mainly when he breathes in. No discharge or overly wet nose, but it does sound like there may be some mucous or something blocking his sinuses
 
I think of stridor more associated with the throat. Neko had thickening of the pharynx in her year. It was more a breathy sound on exhale. Go onto youtube and you can see some stridor on cats videos. Of course, soft tissue anywhere can be impacted by acromegaly. Neko had it blocking her tear ducts and on her gums.
 
Back
Top