4/5 Rupert PMPS 190,+1 171,+2 165,+4 108,+5 140,+6 151

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterdays excitement: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67919
Thus proving that Rupert is both EMPEROR of the bouncers, and also an attention hog!

so, today he's still a big fat red, coming off that big bounce... so as advised yesterday, I held the dose to the 2.25 and will shoot thru this bounce... hope that was correct? Hopefully he'll clear it today but not as fast this time!!!!!!!!!! silly boy! I"m on holidays today thru to next Tuesday so if he's gonna do anything exciting this would be a good time!

WCR: he came and 'wurbled' at me at precisely 6am wanting his breaky and his shot. Sleek coat (can't believe how fabulous his fur is looking now), active, vocal, hungry. Clear eyes, Gave him EVO this morning with lysine. He's preening right now. All is great in his world! He seems to feel no ill effects from the massive roller coaster ride from yesterday. Me? I'm going btb for a bit!

Hope all is well in LL. More happy thought for BigMac and hope all kitties find some nice surfboards today.
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert AMPS 426 bouncy bounce

Hi guys .. ok rupert, you've had your fun in the sun .. now it's time to come back down, nice and easy .. I love the WCR on him .. it's amazing to feel the softness of their fur isn't it? I won't be here tomorrow, so have a great weekend!
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert AMPS 426 bouncy bounce

I think he must have a spring in his tail, maybe should rename him Tigger.... yup.. here we go again.. +2.5 and 262. Have to admit I really wasn't expecting that quite so quickly.. what was I thinking? this is Rupert of course. Sigh! of course I"m happy, and am assuming this is the bounce clearing so will go for the reduction shot tonight, unless of course this bounce clearing sets him up for another bounce to clear, which will bounce again...... ohmygod_smile I am assuming at some point his body will clue in. Am I right in thinking that perhaps tonight I SHOULD go with the reduction regardless to try and level things out one way or another?
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert AMPS 426,+2.5 262 he we go again!

Pip

Let me look at Rupie's SS real quick. I was at work yesterday and missed all the excitement. BRB :-D
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert AMPS 426,+2.5 262 he we go again!

Okey dokey....wellll.......you were supposed to take the reduction this morning ;-) ;-)

One thing that would really, really help us alot....and I know we've mentioned it before...is your SS needs to match your condo. So yesterday, you got the 28 at +2.5 but it shows it at +2 on the SS. All you have to do is go into the +2 box and write "28 @ 2.5". Likewise, today, you show the 262 at +2 when it's at +2.5 Why am I being so picky you ask? :lol: :lol: Because the BG can really plummet in 30 minutes....or rise. So we need to be really accurate with how we record numbers on the SS. We will be ever so appreciative :-D :-D

So....for today....and the future....I think you need to really really really start focusing on getting a +2...not a +2.5....a +2. Then you need to start managing his dives with food. Evo (if it's the 96% varieties) is pretty low in carbs....like ) to 1% I think? Maybe you need to feed him something a little higher in carbs. We're finding that for some cats...especially these divers....a little higher carb food (but still low carb) helps to control those dives. Controlling the dives helps to control the bounce. Of course, with that 28 yesterday, he was gonna bounce no matter what. But if you can control the dive, you can keep him a little flatter. So maybe think about increasing his carbs to 4 or 5% on the early feedings and see if that helps.

You absolutely need to give the reduction tonight....you should have given it this morning. He earned it; it's ok to shoot through the bounce once but when you continue to shoot through with a dose that is too high, you could be setting him up for the dive/bounce. So let's try and get him to flatten out a little bit and give him the 2.0 tonight.

Have a great day, Pip.
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert AMPS 426,+2.5 262 he we go again!

excellent, okay, thanx. I wasn't sure, but a couple of people (I think?) suggested shooting thru the bounce. Anyway, I'm home most of today to monitor him. And yeah, re the SS, I tend to fling a number in there as close to the 'spot' as possible and run away! Will try to make it a smidge more accurate.

thanx for the tips. I have Wellness Chicken&Herring which Rupie likes and it's about 4 or5% carbs. He's having a snack right now at +3, I'm going to go feed the horsies and then get a +3.5.

have fun at Tiki's OTJ party today everyone!
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert AMPS 426,+2.5 262 he we go again!

WN chicken/herring is 6%.....it's something to try early on....maybe at PS and/or +1...you'll have to experiment.

Serryn may have suggested shooting through the bounce more than once but we don't recommend that. You shot through last night so that would have been the one time....reducie should have been this morning. It's ok but just watch
him and then reduce tonight :-D
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert AMPS 426,+2.5 262,+3.5 206

+3.5 and a 208, dive seems to be slowing up.

2.0 it is tonight, Thanx Marjorie!
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert AMPS 426,+2.5 262,+3.5 206

Slow and easy today, Rupert! Good luck on the reduction. Tess thought that Rupert was having too much fun up there and went to join him. Hopefully she is taking a slower descent today.
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert AMPS 426,+2.5 262,+3.5 206,+6 158

+6 and a 158, nice blue for Rupie, Sure clearing that whopping great bounce well. Hopefully not leading to another whopping great bounce! Looking forward to his reduction tonight! that's two reduces in not very long time. On the right path for sure! Have just given him some 'lunch', about a small tablespoon of the Wellness Chicken/Herring. Seems that the EVO is maybe just too low in carbs for him at the moment. Course I just bought a flat of it! No worries, all the other kitties like it too and I can mix it with the Friskies to even that out!

off to feed horses their lunch and help hubby with the boat. Have a good afternoon/evening/morning wherever you are in LL!
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert AMPS 426,+2.5 262,+3.5 206,+6 158,+7.5 169

+7.5 and surfin' the blues at 169. this seems FAR more reasonable Rupert! He came out with me at lunchtime and was running around in the back yard, swatted at a piece of tree pruning I had and was generally very pleased with himself. Of course now he's back in his 'primo' spot on the couch surveying the front yard. Interestingly, Bumley is babysitting Rupert again. She's almost a guaranteed indication that his levels are lower than 'usual'. Very clever nurse Bumley!

Rupertfans.jpg
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert AMPS 426,+2.5 262,+3.5 206,+6 158,+7.5 169

Remember I said he was all 'innocent' yesterday? here's the angelic proof!

halorupert.jpg
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert AMPS 426,+3.5 206,+6 158,+7.5 169,+10 189 +pi

+10 and holding onto the blue floor at 189. Nice blue surf for Rupie today. A lot calmer than yesterday's excitement.

He will get be getting his dose reduction tonight. wheee! Hoping he hangs on to the blues till PMPS time. I have riding lesson tonight so will be gone for +1 and +2.. hubby will be home to monitor.
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert PMPS 190, nice blue surf today, +pics

Nice blue surf for Mr. Rupie today, PMPS 190 so a blue preshot. Wonder what this evening will bring?!! :cool:
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert PMPS 190, nice blue surf today, +pics

:lol: yep earned that reduction big time - but not until next cycle (or maybe beyond if he's still bouncing good idea to check with one of those wise ones about that because you don't want to still be shooting through when he's coming off a bounce). Anytime you're due a reduction but over 300 at the next shot time shoot through it :mrgreen:

I think in all the excitment you missed the bit about checking with the wise ones about shooting through more than once!!! But now that I have another look at what I said it does sound rather misleading. What I meant was if you've earned a reduction in one cycle but are over 300 at the very next cycle shoot through it. I wasn't sure about shooting through more than once - hence the ask the wise ones - but I guess we've both learned the answer to that one today!

Sorry about that, Rupie looks like he didn't mind just this once though, but it may result in another exciting night ;-)

He does look like an angel yesterday, complete with sunshine halo :-D
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert PMPS 190, =1 171, +2 165, pics

no worries, it's all good Serryn, he was over 300 so thought I should hold thru the bounce, but he sure cleared it fast anyway. All a learning curve, just wasn't expecting to have to learn quite so fast! NOT complaining! Mr. Rupie having fun surfing the blues tonight. Not out of the woods (or the reefs?!) yet though. Will be checking +4 for sure.
 
Re: 4/5 Rupert PMPS 190, =1 171, +2 165, +4 108

+4 and still surfin' the blues! 108. wheee. Guess I"m up for another hour at least...!
editing to add: +5 and 140. Nice ride Rupert! I'm thinking this is a bit of a rise from the snack last hour.. guess I'll test again in half an hour before I go to bed, just to make sure he's rising 'naturally'.

tumblr_lmldpso1Td1qj73e2o1_500.gif
 
+6 and STILL surfing blue at 151! wow, I think this is the longest blue surf he's had. I"m heading to bed, it's midnight. I'll try and check him at 3am if I can. I think he's gonna be okay though, he usually dips before +6 if he's gonna go silly!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top