4/5 punkin amps 146 +3/169 +7/172 pmps 137

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
punkin seems pretty good this morning, as usual. i do wish he would start preening again - he hasn't done much since his diagnosis and his fur is pretty bad morning hair looking all the time. i'm using those pet washcloths on him and they help, but it's not the same.

anyway, that's not my question. i'm going to the same tiny beach cabin with my quilting group from Thursday-Sunday, and last night as i was getting up every little while during the night to check him, I was wondering how i'm gonna do that. the cabin is small - there's only one bedroom and everyone else sleeps basically in the open. do you think i could leave him out some frozen food to eat during the night so he doesn't drop? he's a hoover so i know i can't just put more food out before going to bed. would that mess him up if i fed him at +8 or so? what if i did a Tablespoon of med carb, frozen?

Any ideas? I just hate to wake everyone up every couple of hours, not to mention it's kinda killing me about now too.
 
Re: 4/5 punkin amps 146 Q on overnight drops

Hi guys .. nice start to the day punkin! I hope you start preening again soon .. we always knew in this house if mocha started preening early in the day, we were headed for lots of low numbers .. Don't have much in the way of advice for you on your quilting trip .. do you have an auto feeder you could take? We have one and while it can be kinda noisy (rotating) it is not extremely loud .. I know getting up each night several times does take it's toll on us .. so make sure you rest when you can! Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/5 punkin amps 146 Q on overnight drops

Lucky Punkin gets to go on a quilting retreat - all those ladies there to dote on him!! I wish my kitties could travel like that!

Unfortunately I've got no food ideas for you...but a lovely AMPS for the Punkster!!!

BTW, I don't think I had a chance to mention it in your condo the other day...gorgeous quilt!!
 
Re: 4/5 punkin amps 146 Q on overnight drops

Julie: generally, it is recommended that for cats not close to going OTJ that food is not given after their nadir as it slows down the insulin and can keep them from getting that second lantus dip that many (but not all) get. Feeding at +8 or +9 "may" result in higher PSs. But I think it is up to you if you want to do it for four days knowing that he *might* have higher PSs (or he might not...ECID). So how's that for no answer? :lol: :lol: Of course, if you test him before you go to bed and he's running a little high, you probably wouldn't get up at home and check him/feed him would you? It will only be a concern if he is running low. Some others may come along with more thoughts on it....but those are mine, IMHO.
 
Re: 4/5 punkin amps 146 +3/169 +7/172 Q on overnight drops

i've moved into some sort of new paranoia stage with punkin. *sighs* we've increased his dose twice, so we're basically back up to where we were for the longest. but because i increased it day before yesterday i've gotten up every couple of hours all night to check him since then, wanting to catch anything that drops low.

reminding myself - it's a marathon not a sprint. marathon, not sprint.
 
Re: 4/5 punkin amps 146 +3/169 +7/172 Q on overnight drops

Hey Julie, I think you'll be fine if you leave out some frozen "pucks". But an auto feeder is an even better idea. Get one of the 2-compartment ones where the lids just pop up when they hit the trigger on the timer. They don't make any appreciable noise and they're not as big and clunky as the 5-compartment rotary ones. If you get the Cat Mate C 20, it even has a cold block that fits under the food trays and keeps the food cool. I have one and I love it.
The quilting weekend at a beach cottage sounds wonderful. I went to a cabin (actually, more of a hut) on the beach in Oregon once (in the early 1960s). It was "spring" but we froze and it rained all the time!! I hope you have better weather! (At least you'll have quilts to keep you warm.)

Ella
 
Re: 4/5 punkin amps 146 +3/169 +7/172 Q on overnight drops

If Ella hadn't already suggested it, I would have mentioned an automatic feeder.
 
the good news is the weather forecast is for sun. last year we went in February - it was shorts weather! sunny, warm & we quilted outside. it's supposed to be nice this week too.

had a part-fur shot tonight so i'm planning on sleeping all night tonight. most of it went in, but he was dodging around as i was trying to shoot him and his fur was definitely damp.
 
hi guys - bummer on the partial fur shot tonight. good side is that you can sleep. :-D

I too would use a feeder - they do work well. If you can't then frozen puck would do the trick too. The weekend sounds wonderful - love the thought!

And punkin - preen, OK? It would make your bean happy. :-D

Have a great evening Julie!
 
Binks had basically given up grooming himself completely about 4 months before his Dx...

as he's gotten more regulated, he's picked up the preening...and now it's a very favorite pasttime of his!

hope you see the same with Punks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top