4/5 Mooch AMPS 182. +6 208. ? on keytones

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Mary

Member Since 2012
After reviewing Mooch's test results with my vet yesterday we adjusted his dose to 1.5 units and will leave it st that to monitor. Will do a few more tests through the day to make sure it doesn't go too low. He seemed to like the Wysong au jus beef food last night but not much has been eaten overnight :-(. If he doesn't eat thd wet today I think I may have to switch him back to the EVO dry while we get him stabilised and then try switching him in a couple of weeks. I know dry isn't the best but it has pretty low carbs and he likes it, Lisa

Link to last night's post viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67973
 
Re: 4/5 Mooch AMPS 182

Hi guys .. I have to say first off, anytime I see mooch's name, I instantly read "mocha" :lol: I always have to do a double check! Very nice blue start to the day mooch! I'm glad you found some wet cat food he is interested in, and hope that he doesn't need any more dry, but if you have to use it, at least it's lower carb .. I won't be around tomorrow, so have a great weekend!
 
Re: 4/5 Mooch AMPS 182

In typical cat mode Mooch ate some more of the food about 10 seconds after I did the 1st post. So fingers crossed...
 
Re: 4/5 Mooch AMPS 182

Just my anecdotal evidence against EVO. My first diabetic Maxwell was addicted to dry food. So I thought when he was DX I would switch him to EVO cat and kitten dry. He loved it. I really pushed the awesome, new low-carb kibble for cats.

Max also started putting on unneeded weight because EVO dry is highly caloric.

We went through that for 3 months and he was up to 5.5U BCP PZI just to keep him in the 2 and 300s.

One day (after being urged and urged by this board to stop the dry, whatever it was) I told Maxie no more dry. Surprisingly, he agreed to eat the wet food. The next day his preshot had dropped 100 points, and his insulin needs dive-bombed faster than I could keep up. Within 6 weeks he was OTJ, and I probably shot him 2 weeks longer than I needed to.

I have seen the same anecdotal evidence from others who have used and then left EVO dry. The manufacturer claims it is low carb, sure, but dry is dry and keeps their BG levels high.
 
Re: 4/5 Mooch AMPS 182

it's good to let the dose settle in now that you've made a change. i wonder about sienne's observation yesterday, though - what was the timing of that ketone "trace" results? ie, did your vet know that mooch is having trace ketones when she recommended the dose decrease? getting enough insulin into a cat with ketones is very important.

ketones can be serious business - we've seen cats get critically ill in a very short time. that's why we are extra alert to dose when someone reports a cat has any ketones at all.

if the vet didn't know, it would be a good idea for you to notify her and see what she recommends.

in the meantime, eating enough & adding water to the food are key things you can do at home. it would be a good idea to test for ketones more than once a day when you are seeing anything at all showing up.
 
Re: 4/5 Mooch AMPS 182

Another element of ketones is infection. It is a tightrope we walk between unnecessary antibiotics (ABx) and necessary ABx, because it is often difficult to diagnose infections. If Mooch had bloodwork and a urinalysis done, please have the vet re-check the results for evidence of a brewing infection. Even if nothing shows in the BW or UA, the trace ketones themselves might make your vet think it is appropriate to put him on a broad-spectrum ABx.

As Julie said

ketones can be serious business - we've seen cats get critically ill in a very short time.

We do not want that to happen with Mooch, so a call to the vet is likely wise.
 
Re: 4/5 Mooch AMPS 182

Yes, I told her about the keytones and we discussed thd food too. When she saw the glucose tests for the first couple of days she thought that his body may have been reacting to the "high" insulin levels by releasing glycogen even though his glucose levels hadn't gone too low. The 1.5 units is also more in line with the starting dose for the tight regulation protocol (he weighs just under 5 KG / 11lb) so that sounded ok especially as he's now on wet food. She wanted to keep checking the keytones but since his blood sugars were so high recently wasn't surprised he was showing a trace reading. I'll keep testing.

Havd any of you tried thd Wysong au jus wet food?
 
Re: 4/5 Mooch AMPS 182

Sounds like you have a vet with a head on her shoulders.

We only use FF here.
 
Re: 4/5 Mooch AMPS 182

we feed fancy feast here too.

ketones can develop in a cat that's not just in high numbers, and having high numbers doesn't mean they will develop ketones. that's why i'm bringing it up again. Tarragon developed ketones very rapidly and he was not having especially high numbers.

as long as you're testing a couple of times a day for the ketones, hopefully it's a transitory thing and won't develop any more. just want to make sure you realize it's something to act on if you see more than a trace.

:-D and i should say - welcome to Lantus Land, Lisa! glad you're here! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/5 Mooch AMPS 182. +6 208

Hi Julie, thanks for thd info and welcome. Mooch's +6 reading was 208 and he seems to be eating thd Wysong ok now.

Mooch's previous owner didn't give him any insulin on Friday and the amount of insulin he got over the weekend was probably too low as he had a high blood glucose when I picked him up on Sunday night. I know keytones are excreted by the kidneys but wasn't sure how quickly, does anyone know?
 
Re: 4/5 Mooch AMPS 182. +6 208

i don't have experience with ketones, but if you edit your subject line and add "? on ketones" someone with experience will let you know. everything i know is second-hand from what i've seen others experience.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top