4/5 Monkey AMPS 23.8

PH&MonkeyPenPenFaFaTiger

Member Since 2020
No you can’t increase the dose yet Peter. We have only just increased it. The depot needs to fill to get the full effect of the dose.
That will take a couple of days.
Have you got the ketostix yet to test for ketones?
How is Monkey? Is he eating well?
Could Monkey be getting into any dry food that is stored somewhere?

did you get a test overnight for PenPen?

My apology for replying late. I was busy all day today.

Yes we will stay 1.0 U now. Good news is Monkey went to 139 at +7, lowest record of past five days.:woot:

Ketostix should arrive tomorrow.:facepalm: And Monkey will see the vet the day after tomorrow. Monkey should not have any access to dry food since I feed all cat most dry food. (But my family member may mistakenly give them some other cats and monkey may eat them, but it cannot be too much, I am going to set a strict rule for all cats that no dry food is allowed)

Monkey is eating well and quite a lot. Monkey is quite well except the peeing problem and neuropathy.

I did give a test to PenPen last midnight, you did not see it because I just update their record.

@Peter H
Looking at Monkeys SS, I think he is bouncing from the big drops he is having from up to 100 points in an hour or 200 points in 2 hours. Have a look at his SS and you will see drops of up to 100 points in an hour or 200 points in 2 hours.
Drops like that will trigger bounces and I think that is why you are seeing those reds and blacks and then dropping down to the yellows.
The way you can help with this is to feed Monkey well before the drop happens.
What we need to do is to slow down the drop and we can do that by feeding Monkey when he is high before he actually drops down fast. If we can get him to drop down more slowly, we can hopefully stop him bouncing up high again and he will stay in better numbers. It is not so much the lack of insulin that is causing the high numbers as his body responding to the big fast drops by dumping stored glucose into his system to try and safe himself from a perceived threat.....which actually isn’t there.
Does that make sense?

Thanks for your detailed explanation. :bighug:I trust your judgement. ;) Do you think we will need to gather more data to determine when is his "before the drop happens" or we should decide the timing now?
 
The onset of Lantus is usually around the +2 mark so I would try feeding him a good snack at +1.5 before the onset of the Lantus to see if we can slow it down. We may have to change it again but that’s a good place to start.
It is looking like Monkey is going to be lower at PMPS today. Are you going to be able to test him tonight if he’s lower? That could mean several tests if he stays low.
Pen pen is looking great by the way! If you get a +3 of 86, please test again to see he’s not dropping too low
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Update: Monkey's PMPS is 223:). Monkey really surprise me all the time. We do not need to adjust the dose right? I can stay up til +4 or +5 to check his blood sugar and give him a lot of meals and snack to keep his BG dropping speed to not be too low. But what should I do if I find that his BG increase drastically as past few days at +2 to +4?

Also, I want to ask, what is the requirement for PenPen to completely stop insulin injection?
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Update: Monkey's PMPS is 223:). Monkey really surprise me all the time. We do not need to adjust the dose right? I can stay up til +4 or +5 to check his blood sugar and give him a lot of meals and snack to keep his BG dropping speed to not be too low. But what should I do if I find that his BG increase drastically as past few days at +2 to +4?

Also, I want to ask, what is the requirement for PenPen to completely stop insulin injection?
Yes you need to keep the same dose for Monkey.
If Monkey still dropping at +5 you will need to test further to keep him safe.
If his BG increases and he is bouncing again, there is nothing you can do but wait. Feed him as normal if he bounces high.

With PenPen he isn't quite there yet. Keep giving him the same dose and test at least once during each cycle. He's looking great.
You are doing a great job with both of them!
I'll talk more about that later on his thread. I'm just heading to bed. It's late here.
 
Ooops, I just wrote (then deleted) a comment on yesterday's thread because I didn't see this one, will recap here now that I am in the right place!

Monkey is looking much better today! I agree with Bron, you are going to want to try to stall those fast drops, as they are probably contributing to his bouncing.

Best way to do that, as Bron says, is to get a test in early (around +2 or so) to try to detect when he's starting to drop, and feed a small meal then. We've got to get him to settle down a bit, and stop being in such a hurry!
 
Back
Top