4/5 Jez AMPS 290 +9.5 107 PMPS 257

Status
Not open for further replies.

morrieb1

Member Since 2013
Fortunately she stayed steady last night so I didn't have to stay up beyond midnight, but its clear I'm no longer a nightowl type. I've tried just about everything I can think of to have her be lower in the morning, but I think she's just one of those diabetics with the dawn phenomenon. So I'll concentrate on her pm pre shot numbers and not worry about the morning when I'm deciding what to do.

Mel - if I'm reading it right that Queensland TR says that if the nadir is>50/ <200 but the peak is >200 I should go up .25 in dose.....and I'm thinking this weekend would be a good time to try that since I'll be around a lot.....and I can always come home to test at lunchtime next week if necessary.
 
Re: 4/5 Jez AMPS 290

Morning Em,

Mel will probably answer you soon, but IMO I believe you're doing the right thing. Jez is so close to 'safe' numbers, just need to bring those preshots down a hair, to keep her below renal threshold, for her safety. :thumbup

You're doing a great job hon and Jez is blessed to have such a terrific and loving bean to care for her.

Big Hugz! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/5 Jez AMPS 290

With her hitting those greens I'm not sure I would take her all the way to .75 as much as I would just fatten that .5u up a little bit, because if you look back on her SS .75 was sending her into the 40s and leaving no wiggle room for her if for some reason she didn't eat enough that day, played harder etc.

What I do to shoot a fat .5 is instead of laying the bottom of the plunger on the bottom of the .5u line I let it rest on the top of the .5u line so there is no daylight between the line and the bottom of the plunger...right now it looks like .5u isn't quite enough but .75u is too much so her ideal dose is somewhere inbetween.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/5 Jez AMPS 290

MommaOfMuse said:
With her hitting those greens I'm not sure I would take her all the way to .75 as much as I would just fatten that .5u up a little bit, because if you look back on her SS .75 was sending her into the 40s and leaving no wiggle room for her if for some reason she didn't eat enough that day, played harder etc.

What I do to shoot a fat .5 is instead of laying the bottom of the plunger on the bottom of the .5u line I let it rest on the top of the .5u line so there is no daylight between the line and the bottom of the plunger...right now it looks like .5u isn't quite enough but .75u is too much so her ideal dose is somewhere inbetween.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


It seems to me, Mel, that you predicted exactly that dose a while ago.....I'm too lazy to go look - but you truly are an amazing resource and I can't tell you how grateful I am that you hang out here even though Autumn is a Lev girl.

Fat .5 it is....

And as you can see from the update - I think she cruised quite nicely today....the 107 at +9.5 is exactly what she did off a similar start a week ago and we had green...probably had it today as well. I'm likely just getting a bit antsy cause you folks are coming up with such great numbers and I'm still barely out of the pinks....though this afternoon her highness wanted nothing to do with testing - that's why its a 9.5 instead of a 9 - I waited until she weakened enough to come get her treat....

Which is Wellness chicken and lamb jerky - more carbs that there should be cause they snuck in chicory root, but I figure its just 1 calorie each, so 2 of them won't wreck her program and it gets her on the desk when nothing else will.
 
Re: 4/5 Jez AMPS 290

nckitties3 said:
Morning Em,

Mel will probably answer you soon, but IMO I believe you're doing the right thing. Jez is so close to 'safe' numbers, just need to bring those preshots down a hair, to keep her below renal threshold, for her safety. :thumbup

You're doing a great job hon and Jez is blessed to have such a terrific and loving bean to care for her.

Big Hugz! :YMHUG:


Hey Deb - you get to answer me too, lol....with all you've been through I put you right up there on the experienced advisor list.......thank you so much for the nice words as well.....
 
Re: 4/5 Jez AMPS 290 +9/5 107

Well it took a long time to get Autumn into these numbers and trust me there were lots of times that I was banging my head against the wall and asking her why she couldn't just be a good sugarcat and get with the program...lol.

I think right now I probably own a couple patience pants factories...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/5 Jez AMPS 290 +9/5 107

MommaOfMuse said:
Well it took a long time to get Autumn into these numbers and trust me there were lots of times that I was banging my head against the wall and asking her why she couldn't just be a good sugarcat and get with the program...lol.

I think right now I probably own a couple patience pants factories...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


Yeah - it really hasn't been that long....and I've had it a lot easier than you and Deb cause I haven't had those Hi's staring at me. Patience is not my strong suit....but I also don't have it in me to stay up late testing either like you two have been doing lately.

OK - so I put the plunger where you said for a fat .5 and I also kept the syringe in my girl a bit longer than usual...I've sometimes noticed a drop left on the end of the needle with these syringes.......and as you and Deb have pointed out - with these small doses its easy enough to be a bit off....so we'll see if I can make sure she gets every bit of her dose injected.

And I've got the night off from bowling - we have a sub who called to see if he was needed and I decided I'd just as soon stay home and relax with a couple of beers this Friday night.....

But first its out to Lowes - we are supposed to have good weather this weekend and I've got some door trim that needs patching/repainting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top