4.5 hours in. Low numbers

Please give her a spoon of high carb food and test in half an hour.

After feeding her, could you please update the numbers in your SS? What dose did you give tonight?
 
Also, Lantus works best when you give the same dose twice a day. It is not based on pre-shot values but on nadirs (how low it takes the cat).

You may want to try shooting 1U or 1.5U twice a day and see where it takes her rather than dosing higher for higher pre-shots and lower at lower pre-shots.
 
Let me know where she is in half an hour after the HC. If she is still below 2.8, feed another spoon of HC and test in half an hour. :-)
 
2.7 (49) means this dose is too much insulin. With our dosing methods we find it best to give the same dose AM and PM. I wouldn't go as low as 1 unit, maybe 1.5 units.

No rush, read this next part when you have time - a couple housekeeping items. Here's the link to your previous post here, for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lower-that-normal-preshot-number.243193/ And due to the number of cats on this forum, we have some conventions to help us keep track of what's happening.
POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ
 
2.7 (49) means this dose is too much insulin. With our dosing methods we find it best to give the same dose AM and PM. I wouldn't go as low as 1 unit, maybe 1.5 units.

No rush, read this next part when you have time - a couple housekeeping items. Here's the link to your previous post here, for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lower-that-normal-preshot-number.243193/ And due to the number of cats on this forum, we have some conventions to help us keep track of what's happening.
POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ

Sorry I don’t really understand how to use this site. I will try to read and catch on. Any help is appreciated.
 
Did Zambi's numbers come up with the HC?


Sorry I don’t really understand how to use this site. I will try to read and catch on. Any help is appreciated.
We have a nomenclature to be followed for posting threads. It might seem like a lot of fuss over nothing, but it helps us get the info we need quickly so we can respond to your posts without having to spend time asking you questions or looking for your old posts for info :-)

When you start a new thread, the title should be:
<Date> <Cat's name> <BG numbers for the cycle starting with AMPS or PMPS, as the case may be> and followed by any question you may have.

So your thread title for today would have been:
03/05 - Zambi - PMPS 247, +4.5 49 - Low numbers
(Most folks here understand US mg/dl better so we ask non-US members to also post in US mg/dl)

We also ask that in your thread body, you paste the link of your previous post so that we can look at history.

It all seems like a lot when you start but take your time figuring it out :bighug:
 
Okay sounds good. Yes I had given her a small amount of kibble before posting because I panicked. She was 57 (3.1) and I’m testing again in 7 minutes. I haven’t found a high carb food that she will eat. She likes her pates. But any with gravy or anything like that she won’t eat. Maybe I will buy a few tomorrow and see if she will take to any. My apologies for giving her dry I know that’s probably frowned upon I just panicked but remembered the forum and was hoping someone could help. I just didn’t want her going too low.
 
Yes, we try and avoid kibble. But we've all panicked the first time our cats went low and thrown whatever high carb food we could find at them! So just this once, it's fine.
She won't eat just the gravy of HC food? Just a spoon of the gravy is fine. The other option is to add a little honey to LC food to increase the carbs.

You don't need to feed any more HC. Just some of her regular LC food should be fine now.
Later in the cycle, it's easier to bring the number up since insulin action is on the wane.

You do want to get another test or two to make sure she doesn't dip again, once the food bump wears off.
 
When I lost my other diabetic Harold a year ago I tried “spoiling” her giving her the chunky and sliced food in gravy and she didn’t want anything to do with it. I’ll have to find something better then kibble tho so I’ll make that a goal to find one she will eat.
Just tested again she’s 61 (3.4)
Can I put 2 numbers into the chart. I usually go to whatever number is closest. We’ve never had to do the half hour checks yet.
 
When you get more than 1 test in an hour, you put them together in one cell. Like this:
56757-25df0813ef4325e3744d271aa223efdb.jpg

You will need to manually fill in the colour.

You can do it tomorrow morning when you are fully awake! :-)

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-use-the-spreadsheet.241653/
 
So at +4.5 she had some kibble and the subsequent tests of 3.1 and 3.4 were when? Has she eaten anything after the kibble?
 
Yes +4.5 she had some kibble and her normal LC food. 3.1 @ +5 and 3.4 @ +5.5. She hasn’t eaten any more yet she’s just napping I can try to give her a bit more tho and she’s if she wants any
 
I think she should be okay. If she is still up at +6, it should be okay to leave her LC food out and call it a night.

Try 1.5U from tomorrow. :-)
 
Okay thank you very much for all your help tonight we really appreciate it. I will test again at +6 and go from there and we will try 1.5U tomorrow.
 
Back
Top