4/5 Eleanor AMPS 306 +3 270 Dose Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
306?! I'm feeling very frustrated and worried.
AND, after I gave Eleanor her AM injection, she bled a little bit. Is that okay? I mean, I didn't shoot into a vein, did I?
She also has scabs where I've injected, not tiny flat sealed over needle spots, but somewhat larger, chunky scabs. Has anyone had this happen? It just doesn't make sense given the teeny needles.
The cats itch. I guess I'm going to put Frontline on them in a few minutes. I'm hesitating with Eleanor with her eating problems. She always gets lethargic from the Frontline. Two vets have told me it suppresses the immune system slightly. I can't find any fleas or flea dirt on her but she is scratching, I did find a flea on one of the other cats. Guess I have to do it and hope for the best.
I was feeling better last night, today, not so much! My brain is still so foggy.
 
Re: 4/5 Eleanor AMPS 306 Questions

Hi Julie,

Have you tried Advantage instead of Frontline? I would if I were you. Frontline treats ticks and Advantage doesn't but unless that's a problem you don't want to hurt her immune system. Try some neosporin on her scabs if you haven't. Are you alternating sites when you poke? Using neosporin with pain relief and holding the bleeding spot for a half minute of so when your done to let the blood clot and so it doesn't bruise?

About the itching, I would also check her for a rash. If she'll let you, a good combing with a glass of hot water to dip in to rid the fleas will work too unless she was really infested.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 4/5 Eleanor AMPS 306 Questions

Good afternoon Julie and sweet Eleanor!

I know it's SO frustrating sometimes especially when we try and try and things still don't go right. 306 isn't a bad number for her right now plus they're all picking up that you're sick.

KT's had a spot of blood a couple of times, they told me it was OK. I use Revolution on my cats and inside dogs so can't help with Frontline. I do use it on my big dogs but they're naturally quite lazy....

Keep taking care of yourself and remember to be gentle with YOU too...

Hugs,
 
Re: 4/5 Eleanor AMPS 306 Questions

the fleas around here have apparently become resistant to Frontline, so many people use Advantage now. anya got really lethargic (like knocked out) from the frontline the one time i put it on her, so i only use advantage on her. fortunately, now that they are indoor only we don't seem to have any fleas.

a flea comb is awesome - really any fine tooth comb like a rat-tail comb works for pulling out the fleas. i use a bowl of water with a drop of liquid soap in it to keep them from swimming out.

her amps is only a few points higher than it's been all this week - 286, 287, 290, 277 - it's because the color coding gives you that pink that it's so discouraging. hopefully the dose increase 3 days ago is going to get in there and do something now.
 
Re: 4/5 Eleanor AMPS 306 Questions

A few years ago one of my cats got really ill after I applied Advantage (labored breathing, meatloafed, low body temp) the vet said Frontline is safer so I've used Frontline since then. Probably depends on the cat.
I'm using a flea comb and haven't found any fleas on Eleanor, but my other cat had one and I have flea bites. Yikes! I may wait a few more days. I don't see a rash on Eleanor.
I put pressure on the injection site after I remove the needle, I'll start applying Neosporin.
I know the 306 isn't really higher - but this past weeks numbers are discouraging.
Thanks!
 
Re: 4/5 Eleanor AMPS 306 Questions

Is it 6 cycles before raising the dose again? My mind is blank.
I tested Eleanor at +3 because she was so limp when I picked her up, I thought maybe she was really low. 270. I guess she was just asleep :lol:
 
6 cycles is for TR - the SLGS is one week. i answered on autopilot - sorry.

i wonder if melanie meant neosporin for the scabs and for the spots that you do blood tests. i haven't heard of people putting it where the insulin injection goes. you might look for racci's condo and ask her to explain more.
 
Some cats (and humans) find that Lantus stings. If Eleanor keeps scratching at the injection site and it's doesn't have anything to do with fleas, you might want to consider switching to Levemir. It doesn't sting and acts much the same as Lantus. The most noticeable difference is that it has a later nadir.

You're not "required" to hold the dose for a week. With the TR protocol, dose changes are after 6 cycles/3 days vs. a week. It is more aggressive. It's your choice which protocol you opt to follow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top