4/5/13 Callie AMPS 401

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janet and Callie

Member Since 2013
I don't know what's going on with Callie. We tried the TID for a while and it seemed to be working until a few days ago when she suddenly started getting high all the time. We tried TID right after her old insulin was going bad and we got new insulin. We are switching back to twice a day today to see if that helps. Nothing has changed, no diet change, no extra stress.
What should we do??
 
Janet --

Other than during January, I don't think Callie's numbers are that bad. I do think if you are resuming twice a day dosing, it will help if you rigorously stick with the TR Protocol and see if it brings Callie's numbers into a range that you're happier with. With the last few days and the jump into high numbers, I can speculate on what may be going on. Callie bounces. You weren't able to get any tests during the last 8-hour cycle so you don't know if her numbers dropped and she bounced. (The downside of shooting TID is that it does take around the clock monitoring.) You also held the dose for too long. It could also be that Callie simply needed more insulin. My guess is that you saw an improvement with TID dosing because you went from a total of 2.0u/day (the one day at 1.25u doesn't really count since the depot would not have stabilized yet at that dose) to a total of 2.25u/day. I'm a little concerned that you shot 1.5u this morning and you're planning on shooting BID (i.e., 3u/day). That's a big increase.
 
Oh she has been getting 2.75 a day (1+1+.75), so I was going for 1.5 in the morning and 1.25 at night or something to level her out.
 
Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me, but I have fingers crossed that callie comes down for you .. have a great weekend!
 
Giving different doses at different times can be contributing to what you're seeing with Callie's numbers. Lantus likes consistency. It's part of the pharmacology of the insulin -- it's a depot-type drug. If you give different doses, the depot has to adjust at each shot and as a result, there's never a steady amount in the depot which, in turn, can cause wonky numbers. The depot needs to be at a consistent amount or your not going to be able to take advantage of overlap or get the kind of duration you're looking for.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top