4/4 Stanley AMPS 206, +10 32 - need dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Saoirse and Stanley

Member Since 2011
Hello all! Would somebody mind looking at Stanley's recent numbers to help me figure out what to do next? His numbers have been dropping so low that I reduced his dose from 4 units to 2 units. Then this morning I didn't feel comfortable even giving him 2 before going to work so I reduced it again to 1.5. Thank goodness I did because when I got home at +10 he was 32!

I don't know how much to give him next. 1 unit? I am also suspicious that his need for insulin is decreasing so rapidly. Is that normal? Could it be that he is not absorbing his food well due to his IBD?

Thanks in advance for any advice!
 
Did you feed the 32 with some hc. I know it is close to PMPS time and usually we say not to feed 2 hours prior to ps time but this is too low not to feed.
I am wondering if the shed needs to be drained a bit. Please feed and retest in 15 minutes.

Stanley is full of suprises. :roll:
 
Miriam asked the same thing I was going to. If he's still in the 30's then please feed and test again in 15 minutes.
 
Definitely what Miriam said!

Also, be sure to always immediately retest surprising numbers like that. Many meters will still give a reading without a full blood sample, but the reading will be very low.

That is one crazy number!!
 
Haha yes he is full of surprises. He just ate a large meal and I retested after about 15 mins and it says 59, so I don't think it was a fluke. I actually didn't know the rule about not feeding before the shot. I usually just feed him when I get home because he hasn't eaten in 9-10 hours.
 
Any chance you could get a timed feeder?
I think 10 hours is a long time without food and if his meals were spread out a little during the day it may keep him from dropping so low.
 
I would like to get a timed feeder but he is very crafty. Does anyone know of one that is hard to break into? Also is it ok to leave wet food or raw food out in a feeder?
 
I use this one for Putty. It comes with a freezer pack. He has not been able to open it and I know he bats it around trying to. If you have other cats that will be sharing you can buy a 4 or 5 compartment feeder. Some people freeze the food in small portions and leave it in the feeder to thaw during the day.

http://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-C20-Auto ... B0013IX9YC
 
I feed Kazi her breakfast & then fill her feeder for the day - last meal for her is at 4:00 & we haven't had any issues thus far. I may get an ice pack soon simply because the windows have been open and the house is warmer during the day.
 
Whoops sorry took so long to update. His pre-shot was 148 and we only gave him 1 unit. Now at +3 he is 230. Maybe I will wake up in the middle of the night to try to get a nadir...

Definitely want to get a feeder but will probably have to order it online.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top