4/4 Mooch AMPS 521, +4 372, +8 337

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Mary

Member Since 2012
Made the switch to wet food yesterday and reduced Mooch's dose last night. None of the food charts included carbs for kitten food but from looking at the adult versions looks like I ended up giving him a higher carb wet food. I'll try switching over to lower carb ones today.
 
Re: 4/4 Mooch AMPS 521

Jenn here :-D

Wow, his AMPS was high. Hopefully getting him on the lower carb wet food will help. Have you been able to pick up the keto stix to test for ketones? With #'s that high it's important to make sure he isn't getting ketones.

Also, you will be leaving on Friday? Not sure if you want your care taker to post on here or not but she can or she can email me and I can post for you.

I'll make sure some good eyes will be looking at your posts!
 
Re: 4/4 Mooch AMPS 521

Hi Jenn, I got the keytone sticks and tested yesterday morning and it showed a "trace". I added the result in the notes section on his blood glucose spreadsheet and will try to get another test today if he pees while I'm in the room with him. I was just going to get Heather (the pet sitter) to email me his test results and I can update the spreadsheet. I'll ask her to copy you too and give you rights to edit the spreadsheet. Lisa
 
Re: 4/4 Mooch AMPS 521

Ooh and yes, I'm leaving Friday and will return on Saturday 14th. I've got an appointment for a check up with one of my other cats this afternoon so I'll check with them if they think its OK for him to be with my pet sitter (who's a vet tech) or if I should board him at the vets while I'm gone.
 
Re: 4/4 Mooch AMPS 521

I think the Evo Innova cat & kitten is listed on this food chart. It's 8% carb. (I think this is the same chart that Julie gave you in your initial post on Health.

Please keep testing for ketones since you got a trace reading. I would not decrease the insulin given the trace ketone reading. Has Mooch been vetted yet? Often, ketones are the result of infection, not eating, and not enough insulin. You may need to give Mooch HC in order to offset the amount of insulin. If he hasn't been to a vet yet, it's probably a good idea to do this sooner than later. I'm always very cautious with even a slight elevation in ketones since they can go high quickly.
 
He saw my vet on Monday. I showed my vet his glucose readings today and she thinks the dose of 2 units may be too high and causing his body to release sugars even though his blood sugar level wasn't low. She suggested adjusting his dose to 1.5 so I've done that in this evening's shot.

He wasn't keen on the various kitten foods that I'd given him and even with the catnip mixed in he was just picking at his food over the last . My vet suggested Wysong au jus which is 95% meat/organs and mimics a wild diet and he likes it. It isn't listed in the food charts but they have a dry matter analysis http://www.wysong.net/pet-health-and-nutrition/dry-matter-analysis-of-wysong-pet-foods.php on their site and the beef & turkey ones I got have approx 1% carb value so should be good.
 
Seconded re keeping on top of the ketone tests - you do not want full blown DKA, very nasty stuff.

Mooch is such a cutie pie, I want to rub noses with him :smile:
 
And you're right he is so sweet. He is a total love bug and really mellow which makes him a great patient and super tolerant when I prick his ears and give him his shots. He's also great with cats, dogs and kids in case anyone is interested in adopting :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top