4/4 Max2 ~ AMPS=108, +2=53, +3=47, +4=53, +5=70, +7=67, PMPS=83, +2=70, +3=49, +3.75=51, +4.5=68

Stephanie & Max

Member Since 2009
Max is still having on and off vomiting from his IBD. I'm trying my best to keep him in green and blue, but we've had some ups and downs. This morning's AMPS was lower than it has been so I thought there was a chance for some lower numbers. At +2=53 I fed him some 20%. It took a while to get him to eat so I didn't end up re-testing until +3 and he went down to 47. I fed more 20% and am thinking he may need some karo. I'm testing again soon.

Previous Post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...7-2-44-2-5-76-3-85-4-105.261163/#post-2930159
 
Are you doing anything special for his IBD other than the budesonide? Like probiotics or novel protein diet? Do you know if there are food allergies? That was a lot of vomiting yesterday. Poor little guy.
 
Are you doing anything special for his IBD other than the budesonide? Like probiotics or novel protein diet? Do you know if there are food allergies? That was a lot of vomiting yesterday. Poor little guy.
I'm doing Cerenia, but not everyday. I think I need to try the transdermal version. I do have probiotics, but getting him to eat any but fortiflora is difficult. I could get him to eat probiotics in the Churu paste treats, but I don't know the carb values on those. He's been on the same food for ten years, but I know additives, etc. can change. I don't think I'd be able to do a novel protein diet for him. I have 7 cats that free feed the LC food except for the two hours prior to shots. Getting Max on his own and not having access to the other food would be a challenge and stressful for him, so I don't think that would work. He doesn't have any history of food allergies. He does have pica. He loves licking and chewing on plastic. I have to hide everything from plastic bags to those plastic clam shells food comes in. If he does find some that I have missed, for some reason he ends up vomiting clear, frothy fluid tinged with blood. He doesn't end up eating the plastic, only licking it.
 
Last edited:
Max earned a reduction and I'm wondering how much to reduce his dose of 1.5 fat. I think I'm zeroing in on a good dosage for now, but there seems to be a small window. I think I'm going for a 1.5 skinny or a 1.25 fat. Either way I have a spot that I think I can use for consistency. I'm wondering if I'm still going to be invited to a pj party tonight.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top