4/4 Maverick AMPS 64

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=40380&view=unread#unread

I was sure I did a furshot based on the +3 rise last night.
PMPS 101
+3 was 121 so I assumed I did a furshot and he'd rise all night.
He had a bit better of an appetite eating 3oz of ocean whitefish on his own over night and up to AMPS. He would normally eat 6oz by now.
AMPS 64. Maybe this is a meter issue.

I didn't assist feed him at AMPS. I will save that for if he goes low. I have one jar of chicken and broth left. Didn't assist feed him after +7 yesterday which was only 30mls.

Before AMPS though I was thinking about his arthritis. He will not go in the petsafe heated bed I bought him. He likes bigger boxes that he can get his long body lying down on. So I was thinking of a way to rig up one of the flat heating pads someone sent me a link to. Then a light came on.

Here is Maverick in his favourite box bottom on his ledge. He lost the ability to jump so we cut a hole in our foyer (which we planned on making look prettier and never have. Built a ramp and platform to his window ledge. He looks down on DH's work bench in our recroom. DH is into RC cars.

IMG_8009.jpg


I took away his box :cry: And put up the petsafe bed loaded with fresh catnip. DH will have to deal with the extension cord I have to rig up to get the bed to heat up. Why didn't I think of this before ohmygod_smile

Maverickledgeb_1.jpg


Maverickledgeb_2.jpg


His first appointment with the new vet is tonight at 7:20 PM.
 
Re: 4/4 Maverick AMPS 64? He went up at +3??

Karrie, love the photos! He looks so cozy & cute in his bed! What we won't do for our "kids" huh? When my old guy, Giz (age 19 when GA), could no longer jump up or even walk much from arthritis, we pushed him from room to room in his own fancy office chair on wheels! It worked great. Wheel him up to window, into livingroom by DH to watch TV, etc. It worked great!

Good luck at vets! Fingers and paws crossed!
 
Re: 4/4 Maverick AMPS 64? He went up at +3??

Love the bed....he looks so comfy and cozy! I have a chair sitting next to my desk for Zoe - she can get on the chair, then get on the desk where she likes to sleep, it is much easier on her hips. The things we do for these little furbabies. :roll:
 
Re: 4/4 Maverick AMPS 64? He went up at +3??

Love Maverick in the box, Karrie. Tha bed looks super soft and cozy :smile:
Good luck with the new vet tonight. :smile:
 
Re: 4/4 Maverick AMPS 64? He went up at +3??

awww, and isn't maverick a beauty? his eyes are just gorgeous! you're a good bean to rig up a handicapped ramp for him! ;-)
 
Re: 4/4 Maverick AMPS 64? He went up at +3??

Good morning guys .. what a nice green start to the day maverick! And that bed looks so warm and cozy .. you sure are a lucky lil man to have such good beanz taking care of you .. good luck with the new vet tonight guys .. have a great day!
 
Re: 4/4 Maverick AMPS 64? He went up at +3??

So, so cute. What is it about boxes and cats??? What a lucky kitty. Glad to hear his appetite is a little better!!
 
Re: 4/4 Maverick AMPS 64? He went up at +3??

Karrie - in Zoe's condo you said Maverick has asthma, too - how's he doing? How are you treating him - with Flovent?
 
Re: 4/4 Maverick AMPS 64? He went up at +3??

I really like all these clever ideas for arthritic kitties. I inherited an older kitty from someone that was going to dump her ... long story... Anyway, she has arthritis and sleeps in a heated bed, but I hadn't thought about using ramps or office chairs. Great ideas!

Maverick looks so content in his bed at the end of that ramp! And he can watch his daddy work. Terrific! You've given me some ideas for my senior kitty. Thanks!

And wow! What numbers for Maverick! Did he go up again at +3 today? Or was that last night that he did that? (Never mind, I checked your SS. It was last night. :-D )
 
Re: 4/4 Maverick AMPS 64? He went up at +3??

CD - we have raised food and water stations for Maverick too so he can stand or sit - he doesn't crouch. We have baby steps/pet steps up to the couch and bed. DH built them out of plywood and 2x4s and then carpeted them. And in the living room we have a step stool up to an ottoman up to the coffee table so he can get to his food dish and the dog can't jump up off the hardwood to get to his food. Good for you taking in the older kitty. You have a big heart.

Yep Mavericks been on flovent since 2008 - using the aerokat chamber. He's on one puff of 250mcg twice a day. Curry is also an asthma kitty.
 
Re: 4/4 Maverick AMPS 64? He went up at +3??

What great photos! Being up off the floor is so important for a cat to feel like a cat.

Leo frequently gets a rise between PS and +3. As it was explained to me, during that time, the old insulin is still wearing off but the new shot hasn't kicked in yet. Still very nice numbers for Maverick.
 
Re: 4/4 Maverick AMPS 64? He went up at +3??

Aww, Maverick looks so cute in the heated bed. I love him in the box, too! It's a good sign he's started eating, and I hope the Vet visit is a good one. Is this the same Vet that is on board with your hometesting and protocol?
 
Re: 4/4 Maverick AMPS 64 FancyFeast help

Yep the vet we are seeing tonight was the one on board with the protocol. We booked this appointment before he stopped eating though.

He hasn't touched food at all today. Goes up to eat and leaves having barely touched anything. Not sure at all whats going on.

So I syringe fed him 35 mls of chicken and broth babyfood at 3:30. (+5.5). He's continued to rise since AMPS. Not sure if its a furshot. In the past a low AMPS shot like that had him rising through the day. But the last couple times he surprised me by dropping. Wish he'd be consistent.

I bought three flavours of fancy feast today. What should I try first? Seafood feast and cod/sole/shrimp. What would you guys do? I think it may be a tooth but I can't be sure.
 
Re: 4/4 Maverick AMPS 64 FancyFeast help

Hi Karrie, Wonderful pics of Mav in his favorite spot. You are so cleaver to get that up and running. I'm sorry the guy isn't feeling like eating today, but since you're going to the vet tonight, he picked a good day for not eating!! Good luck with your vetty visit, and the KTSS will be along later to get the vetty smell off of your boy.

Sorry, don't know anything about those FF flavors.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/4 Maverick AMPS 64 FancyFeast help

No answer on the fancy feast... you could always open all three, see which one he goes for, then freeze the other two?

Love the pics today!! Mav is such a pretty boy and looks so content in his bed! Fingers and paws crossed that the vet visit goes well tonight!!

Late nite KTSS is on de way, Maverick! We see u soon! --Willie
 
Re: 4/4 Maverick AMPS 64 FancyFeast help

Maverick - Zoe here - your mama bean bought yous my 2 most favorite flavours of FF - I loves cod-sole-shrimp and seafood feast. They is tasty, why don't you try one for your mamabean - would probably make her happy. Sometimes ya gotta make 'em happy. Good Luck at new Vetty - hopes he's nice to ya! ~zoe
 
COD SOLE & SHRIMP IS DA ABSOLUTE BOMB!!!
JUS' MA BINKSY-B VOTE!!!
MAV...U GOTZ REMOTE CONTROL CARZ???
SWEET!!!
BINKS


Paws and fingers crossed for a good vet appt, Karrie...we'd be crossing our tails if we had them!

celi
 
Aww Maverick, you're breaking my heart. Please eat baby boy. Karrie, I hope the vet can help him tonight. The picture of Maverick in his heated bed looks SO MUCH like my Honey Boy that I lost almost 4 yrs ago. He was absolutely the love of my life. I would never tell the other kitties he was my favorite but he was and it almost killed me when I lost him. Maverick is most definitely a handsome boy. Great number this morning and I hope for good news fromt he vet tonight. Have a good one guys.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top