4/4 FRED

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathleen and Fred

Active Member
Well, thanks to the wonderful people here, I've determined that Fred had a stroke. His progress was posted on "Health" this morning. But, he's improving daily.
Now I'd appreciate any information you might have about care for stroke patients. He may have another one, but we'll just deal with that if it comes. Now it's back to getting those BGs down again.

I only wish I could have given this site the money I squandered on an incompetent neurologist!!!! But, it is what it is.....Fred and I are just grateful for each new Spring day together!
 
I am so glad to hear Fred is improving. If you google cat + stroke, there is a lot of information on the internet. Generally, there seems to be agreement that one of the underlying causes can be diabetes (something I didn't know), that an MRI is the only way to diagnose a stroke (this may help you feel more kindly toward the neurologist), most cats recover in a few weeks and don't have another stroke and the only treatment is gentle care as they recover (which you have done instinctively)

Here is one website: http://www.askthecatdoctor.com/feline-stroke.html

Hoping you and Fred have a lovely day today. :-D
 
Sending healing vines and white light for Fred's continued improvement.

Much Love! :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Thanks so much for that site. Fred looks wobbly just like the first video. Most of the test were done and there were no vital sign issues. But I will check to see if they ran a test on the thyroid, kidneys, and heart - think they did.
Please send any more information you may find. This helps me SO much when talking to the vet!!
 
Kathleen, I saw your post on Health that said you were worried about the higher bg levels. He was doing better on lower doses before he went in for all the tests and started the antibiotics. Sometimes a higher nadir than the pre shot means a dose that is a little high, but not always. Or we might be looking at a different situation overall, if he is stressed by his condition or not back to normal bms or whatever.

I'd say we just need to try some things, get numbers this weekend and see where he is. Depending on the pmps (assuming it is not in the 400s), maybe lower the dose to .6 or .8 and see if the numbers improve. If not, then the next pre shot, raise by .25 and see if that helps. Regardless, I would definitely get in a ketone test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top