4.4 Frankie PMPS 184 +2 138 +3 137 +4 111

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay

Member Since 2010
Testing day

I was hoping to catch a PS in the 100's and run a curve to see when and where his Nadir is, so that during the week if and when I see that number as has happened 2x this past week, I can test/feed/shoot and go to work, without the invevitable worrying and doubt.

Looks like Frankie decided that my program and his are two different things. Watch, he decides tomorrow morning that its time and I wake up to a PS in the 100's.

Cats Rule

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=10949
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie AMPS 241

As if he would listen.

He knows that I wont be home on Wednesday afterall he and his brother keep sending me to work, so that they can be taken care of in the "style to which they have been accustomed to".


D and Noisy said:
Tell him you want to do a curve on Wednesday.
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie AMPS 241 +2 199

Ahhh!!!!

I've been trying to trick the little bugger for 13 years now, and it has yet to work.

Cats Rule

D and Noisy said:
Na, meant if you tell Wed. he'll do what you want today.
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie AMPS 241

Jay said:
He knows that I wont be home on Wednesday afterall he and his brother keep sending me to work, so that they can be taken care of in the "style to which they have been accustomed to".

It's good that you have found your place in the world :).
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie AMPS 241 +2 199 +4 160 +6 204 +8 209 +10 250

Clearly he is going up and is over his AMPS number. Based on the fact that he peaked today at +4, and that he is now rising, why should I adhere to the protocol and wait till +12?

He is rising, and clearly needs insulin. He will be that much higher at +12.

Before I make the call and load up the syringe,(going to test again at +11) let me know why you think that waiting makes sense. Again remember he is rising and most likely will be higher at +12 then he is now.
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie AMPS 241 +2 199 +4 160 +6 204 +8 209 +10 250

yes, you could shoot early. many of us have shot as early as +10 or +11.

the big plus - shooting early could give you a little more bang for your buck.
minuses - tomorrow's shot time is 12 hours from whenever you shoot tonight. that tends to mess with the schedule.

a plus or minus depending on how you look at it - shooting early *could* end up keeping you up tonight monitoring. the extra overlap *could* also result in a lower nadir tomorrow... how low is the question and will you be home to deal with it?

weigh it before making your decision...



ps - stringing a few early shots together back to back can sometimes come back to bite you. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie AMPS 241 +2 199 +4 160 +6 204 +8 209 +10 250

Jill & Alex said:
yes, you could shoot early. many of us have shot as early as +10 or +11.
(If he is still rising, at +11 he gets a shot)

the big plus - shooting early could give you a little more bang for your buck.
(I got a sense of that)
minuses - tomorrow's shot time is 12 hours from whenever you shoot tonight. that tends to mess with the schedule.

(during the week, other then on the AM side, when I can be totally consistent, the PM side, soemtimes gets tough. Getting home with traffic out of NYC or a late call or something that needs to get done at work by yesterday has to get done. Since we have begun this process, I have been late with his PM shot by at most 30 minutes. (Not much more I can do but the best I can)

a plus or minus depending on how you look at it - shooting early *could* end up keeping you up tonight monitoring.

(If he is rising, and with food going in, I think that I can rest easy)
the extra overlap *could* also result in a lower nadir tomorrow... how low is the question and will you be home to deal with it?
(overlap? If he is rising is there really any overlap?, If at +11 he is dropping again, thats another story no?. Either way I wont be home to find out "how low he went" tomorroow as work gets in the way of my taking care of him.

weigh it before making your decision...

In 30 mintues we'll make the call based on him either going up (yet again) or down (its happened before that he has dropped very late at +10 thru +12)
I got a sense of that when we first started this as I was dosing him when I caught him rising (albeit at a much lower dose). It started looking lile I was dosing him TID, but that wasnt my intent.


ps - stringing a few early shots together back to back can sometimes come back to bite you. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie AMPS 241 +2 199 +4 160 +6 204 +8 209 +10 250

Jay said:
Jill & Alex said:
yes, you could shoot early. many of us have shot as early as +10 or +11.
(If he is still rising, at +11 he gets a shot)

the big plus - shooting early could give you a little more bang for your buck.
(I got a sense of that)
minuses - tomorrow's shot time is 12 hours from whenever you shoot tonight. that tends to mess with the schedule.
(during the week, other then on the AM side, when I can be totally consistent, the PM side, soemtimes gets tough. Getting home with traffic out of NYC or a late call or something that needs to get done at work by yesterday has to get done. Since we have begun this process, I have been late with his PM shot by at most 30 minutes. (Not much more I can do but the best I can)

not much you can do about that. it is what it is. 30 minutes one way or the other shouldn't have a huge impact.

a plus or minus depending on how you look at it - shooting early *could* end up keeping you up tonight monitoring.
(If he is rising, and with food going in, I think that I can rest easy)
the extra overlap *could* also result in a lower nadir tomorrow... how low is the question and will you be home to deal with it?
(overlap? If he is rising is there really any overlap?, If at +11 he is dropping again, thats another story no?. Either way I wont be home to find out "how low he went" tomorroow as work gets in the way of my taking care of him.

technically, yes there is some overlap because the insulin depot has not drained completely. as far as dropping again at +11... that dip at the end of the cycle is just one of the weird quirks of lantus. don't know why some kitties experience it. if kitty has already experienced a definite nadir... i ignore that dip at the end. been fooled by it too many times when kitty dips and then skyrockets. at this point, i wouldn't be too worried about a worrisome low nadir with frankie. that will change though as his range is tightened up.

weigh it before making your decision...
In 30 mintues we'll make the call based on him either going up (yet again) or down (its happened before that he has dropped very late at +10 thru +12)

sounds good!


ps - stringing a few early shots together back to back can sometimes come back to bite you. :mrgreen:
I got a sense of that when we first started this as I was dosing him when I caught him rising (albeit at a much lower dose). It started looking lile I was dosing him TID, but that wasnt my intent.

yeah, most of us learn by experience on this one. i know i did. :/
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie AMPS 241 +2 199 +4 160 +6 204 +8 209 +10 250 +11

He dropped at +11 to 172.

Isnt that too big of a drop to ignore? Its only another 60 minutes before +12

Jay said:
Jill & Alex said:
yes, you could shoot early. many of us have shot as early as +10 or +11.
(If he is still rising, at +11 he gets a shot)

the big plus - shooting early could give you a little more bang for your buck.
(I got a sense of that)
minuses - tomorrow's shot time is 12 hours from whenever you shoot tonight. that tends to mess with the schedule.

(during the week, other then on the AM side, when I can be totally consistent, the PM side, soemtimes gets tough. Getting home with traffic out of NYC or a late call or something that needs to get done at work by yesterday has to get done. Since we have begun this process, I have been late with his PM shot by at most 30 minutes. (Not much more I can do but the best I can)

a plus or minus depending on how you look at it - shooting early *could* end up keeping you up tonight monitoring.

(If he is rising, and with food going in, I think that I can rest easy)
the extra overlap *could* also result in a lower nadir tomorrow... how low is the question and will you be home to deal with it?
(overlap? If he is rising is there really any overlap?, If at +11 he is dropping again, thats another story no?. Either way I wont be home to find out "how low he went" tomorroow as work gets in the way of my taking care of him.

weigh it before making your decision...

In 30 mintues we'll make the call based on him either going up (yet again) or down (its happened before that he has dropped very late at +10 thru +12)
I got a sense of that when we first started this as I was dosing him when I caught him rising (albeit at a much lower dose). It started looking lile I was dosing him TID, but that wasnt my intent.


ps - stringing a few early shots together back to back can sometimes come back to bite you. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie AMPS 241 +2 199 +4 160 +6 204 +8 209 +10 250 +11

blech. frankie's not cooperating. that's a big drop.
imho, 172 is too darn close to his known nadir of 160 to justify shooting early tonight.
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie AMPS 241 +2 199 +4 160 +6 204 +8 209 +10 250 +11

Jill & Alex said:
blech. frankie's not cooperating. that's a big drop.
imho, 172 is too darn close to his known nadir of 160 to justify shooting early tonight.

Ha! That's the thing about Lantus..it just ain't over til it's over. Look at my ss on 3/31 I never in a zillion years would have thought Alex would go from 233 at +8 to 74 at PMPS! IMO you are taking a chance when you shoot early unless you're shooting a really high number. But what do I know?
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie AMPS 241 +2 199 +4 160 +6 204 +8 209 +10 250 +11

caryl, this is a different set of circumstances than what happened with alex on 3/31. alex started out high and dropped steadily to pmps. pmps was his nadir. today, frankie had a nadir and was on his way up.
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie AMPS 241 +2 199 +4 160 +6 204 +8 209 +10 250 +11

Jill & Alex said:
caryl, this is a different set of circumstances than what happened with alex on 3/31. alex started out high at dropped steadily to pmps. pmps was his nadir. today, frankie had a nadir and was on his way up.

oh i know..i saw that. I'm just saying..he went down at the 11th hour. It's crazy stuff.
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie AMPS 241 +2 199 +4 160 +6 204 +8 209 +10 250 +11

The waiting is over.

Its just about time to test/feed and shoot.

Here we go!

Caryl and Alex said:
Jill & Alex said:
blech. frankie's not cooperating. that's a big drop.
imho, 172 is too darn close to his known nadir of 160 to justify shooting early tonight.

Ha! That's the thing about Lantus..it just ain't over til it's over. Look at my ss on 3/31 I never in a zillion years would have thought Alex would go from 233 at +8 to 74 at PMPS! IMO you are taking a chance when you shoot early unless you're shooting a really high number. But what do I know?
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie PMPS 184

Please!!!

I just want an uneventful night. Hang out, order chinese food in, watch tv and crash out.

Wait a minute the only Chinese food take out/delivery in my neighborhood is closed on Sunday. Amazing that they close Sunday nites. Not another one in all of the NYC metro area closes, only the one I like.

I'll kill him if he keeps me up all night! Just kidding.

I'm going to keep an eye on him for sure.


Jill & Alex said:
Jay said:
Very strange looking curve today.
very interesting! curious to see what, if anything, frankie has in store for tonight...
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie PMPS 184 +2 138

Jay said:
Looks like its going to be a long nite

Oh boy.. Nova used to pull those.. what I call "sideways S curves" all the time.. and yeah.. with her it usually meant I should try to get a nap in.. try to look at the good side though.. either he'll surf and you can sleep.. or he'll drop and you get to see green! :)
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie PMPS 184 +2 138

arrtggggggggghhh

I'm ready to fall asleep now.

I'm gonna kill the little critter, keeping me up all nite.

I guess its payback for poking him all day.


Jill & Alex said:
ahhh, frankie did have something up his sleeve. hopefully, he won't keep you up too late...
 
Re: 4.4 Frankie PMPS 184 +2 138

Dawn & Nova said:
Jay said:
Looks like its going to be a long nite

Oh boy.. Nova used to pull those.. what I call "sideways S curves" all the time.. and yeah.. with her it usually meant I should try to get a nap in.. try to look at the good side though.. either he'll surf and you can sleep.. or he'll drop and you get to see green! :)


I want to surf while catching some zzzzzzzzzzzz's, but no, of course not.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top