4/4 Eddie AMPS 261, +7.5/226

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=116592

Just when I thought spring might be on the way, we got 8+ inches of snow overnight and this morning. Gross. :cry:

No movement for the PM cycle last night - just more yellow. :YMSIGH:

Today:

AMPS 261 (2.2u)
+2.5 = 231
+7.5 = 226

He is down slightly at AM +2.5 today, but at this rate, I'm not going to get too excited. With the snow today, DH is planning on going home early, so he should be able to get some mid-cycle numbers just in case Eddie decides to move this cycle. I normally go home at lunch, but the parking lot of our building was not plowed this morning, so there's a huge chance I'd get stuck and not be able to get back out if I tried to go home at lunch. Our building management people are awful about snow removal. :roll:
 
Re: 4/4 Eddie AMPS 261

I feel your pain, Jen. Seems like it's April - it should feel more like Spring. We sent our snow yesterday to you (sorry) but here, was mosty slushy and messy....

Almost the renal threshold this am. If he'd have a nadir in the blues and no bounce for pmps, it could be the start of better cycles, fewer bounces?
 
Re: 4/4 Eddie AMPS 261

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I feel your pain, Jen. Seems like it's April - it should feel more like Spring. We sent our snow yesterday to you (sorry) but here, was mosty slushy and messy....

Almost the renal threshold this am. If he'd have a nadir in the blues and no bounce for pmps, it could be the start of better cycles, fewer bounces?

Sue, you could have kept the snow! :-D :lol: It does seem like fluffy wet stuff, so a couple days above freezing and it should all melt away, but it sure is a pain in the rear!

This is the fourth cycle of the trial reducie. I'm thinking if nothing happens during the AM cycle to bring him back up just a hair for the PM, in the hopes that it will bring him down a bit overall, rather than crashing into the 40's. Is that too much to hope for? Something in between flat yellow and hypo territory? ohmygod_smile ;-)
 
Re: 4/4 Eddie AMPS 261

+7.5 = 226

Eddie just doesn't seem to want to budge out of that low to mid 200 range...ah well. Up we go this evening!
 
Well, spoke with our vet today, after talking to our tech about possibly switching to Lantus, and our vet looked over Eddie's SS and agreed that it would be appropriate for him to try a switch, and that Lantus' gentler action may be a better fit. She's familiar with TR and said we're doing great job on the SS. :-D

The order's being sent to our pharmacy for pick up as early as this evening. So.....is it time to take the plunge?? nailbite_smile
 
Good chance he'll do well on Lantus, most cats do. Because he doesn't have extreme highs, it should work well.

Time to start a whole new education in FD..
 
I'm debating whether to immediately make the switch with tonight's cycle (I don't think there's a waiting period?), and waiting till next weekend to start. Ugh. A decision. :?
 
That may be just what Eddie needs. Deb. is right - it is completely different from PZI. Doses based on nadirs, not preshots. No early or late shots, a strict 12/12 schedule. You'll be well taken care of in TR Lantus.

But we will miss you so! You have been an invaluable help on PZI. Come back and tell us how things are going.
 
Thanks Sue! I'm awful at making decisions anyway, and this is a big one.

I will DEFINITELY check on the other PZI kitties and pop in to help when I can. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top