4/4 Biscuits +10/566 amps high +4 high ketones negative +9 high. pmps/high +3 high

Mollycat

Member Since 2019
A little confused here. I had a mix up in shot times yesterday. Did I record his test this morning correctly on the SS. I fed him after testing. I'm going to shoot , at 9 :30 am here.
Still trying to catch a urine ketone test.
I'm still learning to navigate the forum . I have yesterday and today's threads here. I know I need to link them but that's where I'm lost!
yesterdays thread
 
Last edited:
Tagging @Marje and Gracie as she is familiar with what is going on.

Maybe someone else will advise before she comes on.

I don’t see yesterday’s thread link included in this post today. Don’t worry about that now, Marje can explain that again when she sees this.

I know it is confusing, but after awhile it will be second nature. You get an “A” for effort, :)
 
Tagging @Marje and Gracie as she is familiar with what is going on.

Maybe someone else will advise before she comes on


I don’t see yesterday’s thread link included in this post today. Don’t worry about that now, Marje can explain that again when she sees this.

I know it is confusing, but after awhile it will be second nature. You get an “A” for effort, :)

I'm not a computer genius like the rest of the group but I can learn !!
Should I test him again before his shot . I tested when we got up. So the amps today will be before his shot even though I tested him earlier?
 
I'm not a computer genius like the rest of the group but I can learn !!
Should I test him again before his shot . I tested when we got up. So the amps today will be before his shot even though I tested him earlier?
If he will let you easily and it is more than 30 minutes or so, would not hurt to get another pre shot in. I am not as versed on the shot timing stuff, sorry. Could not hurt though?
 
Morning, Sandy.:) Paws crossed for a ketone test today from that handsome boy!

I want to be sure I have this right:

You shot at 9:30 and shot 4u? I also want to be sure what time you want your shot time to be as I understood 9 but I could have misunderstood :p

Here’s what I posted last night in yesterday’s condo:

We will leave him here at 3.5u one more cycle or so with you testing and if he sees nothing but black, it’s time to increase by 0.5u to 4u.

We should not be increasing his dose more often than after 4 complete cycles where we have tests. He’s been at 3.5u longer than four cycles but we don’t have data for them all :)

But, we are here at 4u and that’s ok as I would have suggested you raise him tonight anyway and e are still seeing lots of black.

Our game plan, right now, is to let each dose have four complete cycles with you grabbing the preshots and two other tests each cycle. If we don’t see anything but black, we will increase but not by more than 0.5u.

I’m a late riser so it’s already almost +3 your time so how about grabbing a +4 and +9 test today during the a.m. cycle.

Also, please let me know any time you want to go back to an earlier shooting time because we have a method to get you there fast as long as he’s high.

Be back soon to check on the +4.:bighug:
 
It was about 9:15 when I gave the shot. Does it have to be exactly on time, not even a few minutes after?
I'll test at +4 , or( I can test now)
Can I feed him now? Or wait until test
I found a fresh puddle of urine in the litterbox and tested it. I know it should be from the stream but it was negative. I'll work on that today
 
Most of us test, then feed, then shoot, all within about 15 minutes or so. Affectionality called TFS. Some shoot while cat is eating. Mine took less than 30 seconds to hoover her food, so it was after. Cats numbers can rise a lot at the end of the cycle. How long after your last shot was this test?

The link to your previous post is here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/04-03-biscuits-6-505-pmps-high.212782/
It was 10 hours after his evening shot. I tested when we got up this morning.566
Then I tested him pre shot 2 hours later, high
Then fed and gave 4 units . I'm waiting now to test +4 then I'll feed him.
This can be overwhelming!
 
Ok, so that test when you got up was a +10 test for last night’s PM cycle and can go in that cell in the spreadsheet.

Don’t worry about coordinating the timing of mid cycle tests and feeding. Just feed as you normally would. The exception to this is if he was low.
 
It was 10 hours after his evening shot. I tested when we got up this morning.566
Then I tested him pre shot 2 hours later, high
Then fed and gave 4 units . I'm waiting now to test +4 then I'll feed him.
This can be overwhelming!
Yes testing at +10 and then PS was correct. Great job.

As Wendy said, for now while numbers are high, you can feed him when he needs to be fed but if you are also planning to test, grab the test really quick before you feed.

By the way, good job on the condo today!!!! You are learning and it is a steep curve but everyone gets there.
 
Last edited:
Also, you can always find your own posts by clicking on your User ID in the upper right corner and then “your content”.
 
Hello there! I just wanted to stop by your condo to say hello and welcome! It looks like you've got a lot done already - great job on the Spreadsheet! I hope as you continue to set up your schedule and get your insulin injection time consistent that you'll start to see better numbers - I see you're still adjusting your insulin accordingly. I also see that you've gotten some great advice from some of the experts!:D:D

Lots of help on this forum - please continue to ask questions - and soon you'll be an expert too! I know at first it seems overwhelming. Just please be sure to take the time to read those stickies at the top of the forum. When I first came on this forum I felt overwhelmed! Not only by all the information but the fact that my cat was diagnosed with diabetes and I was trying to test her - and it was really difficult. It took two of us to hold her and test and it always left us exhausted and worn out - and I found out that I had to test her frequently because as I soon learned Luci is a diver - she likes to run way down, real fast...and mostly scare me to death:eek:...so I test a lot. Please feel free to look at my spreadsheet - and that of others - it'll help you to see our schedules, how much insulin we give and the ups and downs of it all.

So, I'm wishing you well...and hope Biscuits (he's a cutie btw!) will figure out what he's supposed to be doing pretty soon and show you some better numbers. Looking forward to seeing your posts....:bighug::bighug:
 
Well, you just increased his dose this morning so we need to let it work for four cycles. Lantus takes a bit of time to fill the depot to the new dose so we can’t rush it anymore than that and that is aggressive as it is. Normally, we wait six cycles to increase a dose but we have some latitude for kitties stuck in these really high numbers.

Just know that every test you get is helping us figure this out. This is the part that takes patience.

For tonight, you want to shoot 4u again and within 30 minutes max of your shot time this morning.
 
@Marje and Gracie, Are you saying shoot 4u tonight and then again within 12-12.5 hours later again... in morning?
I’m saying that for tonight’s shot, she needed to shoot 4u again. She shot around 9:30 this morning so she could shoot at 9 pm tonight or even 10:00 p.m. if she needed to although that wouldn’t be the best option.

You can safely shoot within 30 minutes of your previous shot as long as you don’t do it every cycle. For example, my normal shot time was 7 a.m. However, if I needed to, I’d shoot at 6:30 a.m. and then 7 p.m. It didn’t affect Gracie. What I wouldn’t suggest any new or inexperienced member do is, for a normal shot time of 7/7, shoot at 6:30 a.m. and the next cycle at 6 a.m. For experienced members who know their cats, that’s probably not a big deal but for members without much data or who don’t know their cats, they shouldn’t shoot early by 30 mins two cycles back-to-back.
 
Back
Top