4/4 amps 563 1st time ever Otto wont eat!! need advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

babbie & otto

Member Since 2015
hey there - boucy boy at 4.5 for 2 days but this is the 1st time Ive seen him not hungry. Not drinking his broth like normal. This is not normal. He scarfs his food down and takes no prisoners. Any suggestions?
Fur looks dehydrated for the 1st time in days. Looks happy but this isnt right. Thinking about going to vet.
 
Sammy tends to have the same problem when he gets a little dehydrated, but sometimes his lack of appetite has more to do with being tired of the same food. I keep LOADS, and I do mean loads of different food varieties on hand for this exact situation. There have been times when I have opened up to 8 cans of food to see what he wants to eat. Also I typically give him a ¼ of a tablet of Famotadine when he hasn't eaten for several hours and sometimes that helps also.

If it is dehydration you might want to talk to your vet about the possibility of giving Sub-q fluids at home. We give Sammy Sub-q fluids every 3 days or so, and find that it really helps.
 
I have the fluids here just never done it, so Ill get instructions today. otto will eat cheetos, green beans everything he can get. This is weird. I was wondering if he is constantly rebounding as when I did the fur shot the other day, I got panicked and re shot with only 3u I think. I knew I missed as I felt it and smelled the insulin on my fingers. His glucose went down after that. Just thinking.....
 
I don't know if you know this, but it is not a good idea to re-shoot if you do a fur shot, because you really don't know how much insulin got into the cat and you just don't know if you will send the cat too low.

I have heard that green beans will bring BG down in humans, I don't know if it is the same for cats, but if so give him green beans if he will eat them. LOL! When my husband told me about the green beans, which he learned from a friend who is diabetic, I tried to get Sammy to eat them, but he just wasn't haven it. LOL!

Definitely learn how to do the fluids at home. Fluids can really help to bring down those high numbers. Check out Sammy's spreadsheet to see how his numbers came down on fluid nights. we did find that we had to give the shot on the side of the belly and the fluids in the scruff. When we gave the fluids and the shot in the scruff, even if they were on opposite sides, he dropped really fast. Also, even though Fluids can help bring the BG down it won't keep it down so insulin is still needed to help regulate the BG.

Hopefully you can get Otto to eat, I know how stressful that can be.
 
well, he just ate only because the other cat was sniffing his food. Still purring. Thanks for the advice on the fluids. I had decided to only do scruff shots because when I try the sides is when I cant tell if its gone in. I always rub the area looking for wet spots and this last time it was obvious with the fluid and smell. I think i missed the whole thing. So, youre saying to shoot on the side and fluids in the scruff b/c he dropped too fast otherwise?
 
You don't want to shoot insulin and subq fluids in the same spot at the same time. We gave punkin his insulin shots always in the scruff, and we gave fluids at +3 and moved the needle back a few inches from his scruff. He tolerated it fine, although I had to have food for him to eat the whole time we were doing fluids. If the food ran out the fluids were done.

There is a video on how to give subq fluids made by Marje. Look in the bottom section of the Where Can I Find? post for it.

Does Otto seem fine now? By the way, was there a reason you decreased his dose to 3.0u a couple of nights ago? When you finally get a lower preshot, don't panic and back away from the dose - think of it as finally beginning to make progress! That's not the time you want to reduce his insulin. It's a big learning curve - i'm not criticizing your choice, just pointing out that 362 is still a pretty high number.
 
the 3.0 was after a fur shot! I smelled it on my hands and felt it wet. Got scared to death that I didnt get any in so decided to go with 3.0. It was frightening. I knew alot did not get in.
So, Otto finally ate about 20 minutes late then was breathing pretty heavy this morning, go to vet - he's in an osmotic state. Lots of fluids and some benadryl just in case its the pollen but he thinks I need to go up on dose asap!!!! Thoughts. He's happy now but breathing some through the belly and if it gets worse I can call the vet or go to emergency clinic. thoughts on dos?
 
He is eating now really well but this hyperosmotic state is quite disconcerting and vet wants me to go up to 5u tonite and I understand his reasoning. You only get this from too high of glucose levels.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top