4/4 Abigail PMPS 194

Status
Not open for further replies.

mdmnore88

Member Since 2013
Looking great tonight. Going in the right direction. Of course the little turkey addict was driving me crazy when I was testing her. I even tried to give Azrael a piece and she STOLE it right from him. It get easier. I'm guessing if she gets a turkey snack every day then she will comply lol
 
LOL that is pretty much how I talked Autumn into it..except with her it was chicken...she would crawl over broken glass for chicken, although she perfers it raw, I made her compromise and get it lightly steamed...I hate the feel of raw chicken...ick.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
All I keep saying to myself is the more I know the better off she will be. So any way to test her and regulate will make me happy. She is only 7. Cats live to 17,18, even over 20 all of the time! I don't want to send her to an early grave. Not my little princess
 
Autumn is 15 almost 16 and she is a happy healthy diabetic tortietude and all. :-D Maxwell is was 12 when I adopted him and is going strong at 14. And we have lots of 18, 19, & 20 year olds on here and some are life long insulin dependent diabetic kitties...Diabetes is no more a death sentence in cats as it is in people. :-D And what constantly amazes me even after 3 years of dealing with Diabetic cats (4 of them) is how much I learned from caring for them that has improved the health and lives of my 12 civies.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I agree. My civies are getting better food now that I know dry food is the devil! So they are benefiting from that. And my civies are so much calmer so I "practiced" testing their blood sugar before Abbey because she is a handful. My big girl Miss Kitty she sits next to me on the couch every night. Love her to pieces but she is so easy going all I had to do was poke her once, she sat still and her blood sugar was great. So I learned without spending the $25 at the vet that Miss Kitty is doing just fine. With Abbey I have to put her in some sort of weird position where she is on my lap and one arm holds her the other pokes. It's a funny position.
 
Whatever works...Yeah when I first learned to test I started out on my Onyx because he was like your Miss Kitty...just absolutely chilled, more dog than cat, plus he was jet black so I figured if I could learn on those black ears I could test anything. Now Maxwell I to this day can't restrain to test, with him I just slid up beside, lean over grab an ear and test, and he is fine with that, but try to hang on, and you are in for an 8 second ride...lol And at 17lbs and fully armed not a wrestling match I want to get into. Autumn on the other hand lays down on my lap so that her head is towards my knees and she just lets me poke. And Musette like to be held like a football in order to test her...they are all difference.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Do a lot of people here start doing the tight protocal after they get their kitties normalized? I am just curious. I am not sure if I can follow the tight protocal. Only because I work full time.
 
Really I think it more a matter of preference. I easily have the time and the ability to test enough to follow it, I just chose not to. My diabetics are a little bit of a different cases as they were adopted after they were already diabetic, and I personally feel that TR changes doses a little too quickly from what I have learned about my own cats..Autumn takes far longer to settle on a dose than the standard 3 days of the TR protocol, but then again she was allowed to go 10+ months with no treatment at all after she was dxed as a diabetic.

As well as my household just doesn't allow for a lot of the things that are fairly normal from what I have seen over on TR, like with 14 cats I can't possibly feed Autumn at +1, +2, +3, +4 etc to steer her unless absolutely necessary to keep her out of hypo, because if I feed her, I have to feed the rest of the herd and any meal time takes a solid 10 minutes to complete even if I hussle, as I have 4 that need to be crated or they will either steal everyone's food or are too shy to hold their own, 3 more that will only eat with each other but not the rest of the gang and then Autumn who will eat with the rest but has to have a seperate bowl. :roll: Plus I have 16 litter boxes to clean, a house that is in the middle of being remodeled, one large dog to be let in and out and walked, plus a husband that works ungodly hours because he is a commerical roofer so he can have to be up as early as 4am and may not get home until after 9pm during the summer so setting an alarm to catch a night test just doesn't work here.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I hear you on the herd! Mine will all eat together so I am lucky. I just need to sit with Abigail and pet her to be sure she eats. It's almost like she gets bored with eating. If she stops eating the others will steal her food!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top