4/30 AMPS Misty 81 no shot +2 174 shot

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
Good Morning,
Well after more than a week of shots and furshots and getting the right needles it seems I am finally back to handling another sugar kitty. I have a much different schedule than I did with my other 3 so I had to adjust to that as well. Seeing red and black with a slight dip into blue one day was hard. However the surprise was coming home this morning to an 81. I am not going to shoot her that low but I will monitor her for a few hours. If she goes back up I will shoot. I actually have some hope. Yesterday we talked about possibly having to put her down and boom today she is right as rain playing with the others.
As always thank you all.
Linda
Update fed as usual and at +13 she was 148 then +14 174 so I Shot 2 hours late.
Update +7 55. Fed some gravy food will check again in 1/2 hr.
Update +14 82
 
Last edited:
Congrats on the first green, that's promising. How was she acting yesterday that made things look so bad? Good to hear she perked up today.

Shooting 2 hours late means your can move shot times back by 1/2 hour once per day (so only 1.5 hours late tonight) or 15 minutes once per day. In case you didn't remember. ;)

On the spreadsheet, the 174 needs to go in the AMPS cell. You can write it as 148@+14, so we know it was two hours late. The other tests can go in the PM+11 cell as 81@+12, 148@+13.
 
Congrats on the first green, that's promising. How was she acting yesterday that made things look so bad? Good to hear she perked up today.

Shooting 2 hours late means your can move shot times back by 1/2 hour once per day (so only 1.5 hours late tonight) or 15 minutes once per day. In case you didn't remember. ;)

On the spreadsheet, the 174 needs to go in the AMPS cell. You can write it as 148@+14, so we know it was two hours late. The other tests can go in the PM+11 cell as 81@+12, 148@+13.
She was wobbly and unable to control her bladder. Today is like a new cat. Engaged and happy and in the litter box. She is a frail and tiny kitty. Could it be the depot has just finally filled up?
 
The 0.5 unit depot had already filled up, it takes 5-7 days to do so when starting Lev. I see that 55 today.:D:eek: I hope you fed a bit of LC and will be testing again soon. This 0.75 units dose might be too much for her.
 
I've been wondering if SLGS dosing method might be a better match for you. She's an older cat with issues, and your work schedule keeps you away a lot of nights. If you cannot get those night time tests, you might want to try SLGS for a bit and see how it goes. If you do, that 55 means a reduction back to 0.5 units dose, and no shooting if under 90. Since Misty, but not you, is new to Lantus, an argument could be made for not even shooting if she's under 150 tonight. Can you get a +11 test tonight or at least one soon so we can see where she's trending?
 
Hi Wendy,
I did do another test at +11 and it was 56. She is currently eating a can of LG. Food. I will wait a half hour to test again.
I think changing to slgs is a good idea. I will lower her next dose and only give it if she goes above 150.
 
I think a skip might be in order tonight. We usually suggest that you withhold food for a couple hours before shot time, unless low of course, so the PS number won't be food influenced. At least until you get a better idea how much she goes up with food.

Could you put SLGS in your signature? That'll help those who stop by with dosing suggestions. Maybe also a note that can't test overnight due to work. So people stop commenting on it.
 
I will change my signature. So far I have not been called in and I am grateful for the extra time with her. +12 is 58 so I won’t shoot her tonight but I will continue to test as long as I am home.
 
Back
Top