4/30-5/1 Bagheera PMPS 298 +2 221 AMPS 321 PMPS 303

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/30-5/1 Bagheera PMPS 298 +2 221 AMPS 321

It looks like we're getting closer! To give you an idea of how much he's improved, for March, his BGs were averaging around 267. For April, his BGs are now averaging around 242. For May, let's see those numbers even lower! :mrgreen:

bagheerathediabeticcat said:
As you can see, my blood sugar jumped. I think part of that was because I was not in the mood to eat the wet food for whatever reason. My human thinks it's the Castor and Pollux food he mixed in there. I don't seem to like it, and neither does Jacey. He used it because he had a coupon, but I don't think he'll be buying more of their canned food. Their dry food, though, he might have to look into. It's got a nice high protein level, and it is grain free.

So, since I didn't want to eat the wet food, I nibbled on some of the dry food that's around. Now, I know that you humans want my human to get rid of it all, but Jacey and I like our crunchies. So the portion of my food that is dry will drop, but it probably won't go to zero. We like it too much. It's down to like 1/3 dry, 2/3 wet now and my human is hoping he can drop it to 1/4 dry, 3/4 wet.

If they haven't fully gotten off the dry the next time you go shopping, I would recommend getting a lower carb dry food for them instead. You can check out Janet and Binky's Dry Food list for the carb info on dry foods. The only ones really considered low enough in carbs for cats (much less diabetic ones) are the Innova Evo Cat & Kitten, the Wellness Core, and the Young Again Zero Carb (not on Janet and Binky's list because it's newer).

Also, not sure if I shared this with you yet, but it's my own wet food list for Michelangelo. I took the catinfo.org food chart and added in a protein/fat ratio column (Mikey does best on foods over 50% protein-to-fat) and sorted it first by carbs then by protein/fat. (I also have the food separated out with non-Seafood, only Poultry, and contains Seafood tabs).
 
Re: 4/30-5/1 Bagheera PMPS 298 +2 221 AMPS 321

KPassa said:
It looks like we're getting closer! To give you an idea of how much he's improved, for March, his BGs were averaging around 267. For April, his BGs are now averaging around 242. For May, let's see those numbers even lower! :mrgreen:.

Well, I guess he should be happy. But he's not. So he will keep on working on things.

Sigh. I keep telling him he is working hard and I love him, but he stubbornly insists on trying to make things better for me.
 
Re: 4/30-5/1 Bagheera PMPS 298 +2 221 AMPS 321

Are you guys needing another pair of patience pants? :lol: If it makes you feel any better, take a look at Michelangelo's progress over the last 6 months (he also started with much lower BGs than Bagheera and has never tested over 400**). You'll both get there soon; I know it! You're working too hard for it to not happen. :thumbup


**ETA: well, once he was barely over 400, but with meter variance, if I had tested him again, he would have probably been high 300s
 
How have his numbers been? I'm thinking if he's still been running high, he might be due for another increase to 5u?

Has anyone mentioned testing for Acro or IAA to you yet? Usually, when cats start getting into the +10u a day range, testing for high-dose conditions is recommended. Since Bagheera is such a big boy, he might actually need that much insulin, but it's something worth thinking about and might help with his dosing needs (if he does indeed have a high-dose condition).
 
Not much change. My human will probably bump the numbers up starting tonight.

Humans are normally clumsy, but he was more clumsy than normal when he got home last night. And then when he woke up, he was kind of making noises like he didn't feel good. I think he had a hairball, because he did what Jacey and I do when we get them.

Usually when he does this, he spends extra time with me and Jacey the next few days. Something about not wanting to drink anymore. But humans are like us felines and they need water, so I don't understand why he says he won't drink.

KPassa said:
How have his numbers been? I'm thinking if he's still been running high, he might be due for another increase to 5u?

Has anyone mentioned testing for Acro or IAA to you yet? Usually, when cats start getting into the +10u a day range, testing for high-dose conditions is recommended. Since Bagheera is such a big boy, he might actually need that much insulin, but it's something worth thinking about and might help with his dosing needs (if he does indeed have a high-dose condition).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top