4/3 Yoyo AMPS+4 222,+10 62,+11 127,+11.5 137,+12.25 126,+13 116,PMPS 122,+1 193,+2 256,+3 293,+4 329

Debra and Yoyo

Member Since 2018
Yoyo was 62@+10. Fed him HC food and now 127@+11. His PS will be dalyed due to feeding of low number. Do I still give insulin for tonight's cycle? I still need to retest and check where his BG is at. I know that I need to reduce .25units.
Just not understanding LARGE DROP at +10 when he was high earlier in the day!


Yesterday 4/2 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...231-11-388-pmps-394-2-359-4-274-7-281.212714/

Day 1 using New Syringe "Sure Comfort" and dose increase to 1.50 Units

I was using Monoject syringes until I found out that there is excess insulin in the hub.

Today starting at 1.50 units and will increase accordingly with assistance until Yoyo's BG numbers go lower.

Please share what syringes you are using that are accurate...thank you!
 
Last edited:
1554291600647847450126.jpg
 
Good luck with the new dose. I hope the Sure Comfort syringes work for you. I was using some syringes from Walgreens, but they did not have them in stock so I bought some Monojects from ADW. I didn't realize they had the hub issue. I'll probably try and get the Walgreens syringes again when I finish up with the Monojects. Of course I bought a lot of them.
 
Good luck with the new dose. I hope the Sure Comfort syringes work for you. I was using some syringes from Walgreens, but they did not have them in stock so I bought some Monojects from ADW. I didn't realize they had the hub issue. I'll probably try and get the Walgreens syringes again when I finish up with the Monojects. Of course I bought a lot of them.

When I started using the monoject syringes I had previously been using BD syringes. I checked everything over and over yesterday and what I found is that the BD's and the monoject's both have an excess of insulin. Of course this is only my findings and this may be different with the monoject syringes that you or someone else may have. Everyone measures differently with different conclusions. If you didn't see a difference when you made the switch, I wonder if the Walgreens have an excess of insulin too!

Yoyo's BG is going to be high until he gets the correct amount of insulin again. He is probably going to have a couple of increases coming his way. I just didn't want to continue with the monojects as each syringe was different and some had much more of an excess of insulin than others. That is probably why Yoyo had those sudden dives where he dropped I believe to 44. Too scary for me. I need to use a syringe which hopefully is more constant. Time will tell.

Please, anyone who is reading this quote, make your own conclusions about the syringes and do not go by what I have written.
 
Last edited:
I have not noticed an excess of insulin. I've noticed air bubbles with the Monojects that I didn't get with the Walgreens syringes. I don't like the round thing at the end of the Walgreens syringes that sticks out near the zero line. That makes it harder for me to measure using calipers. It seems to be a trade off between the round thing blocking my calipers or air bubbles for me.
 
I have not noticed an excess of insulin. I've noticed air bubbles with the Monojects that I didn't get with the Walgreens syringes. I don't like the round thing at the end of the Walgreens syringes that sticks out near the zero line. That makes it harder for me to measure using calipers. It seems to be a trade off between the round thing blocking my calipers or air bubbles for me.
Carla

I discovered this with the MJs long, long ago. They have a hub above barrel of the syringe. When I first started using them, I noted the needle came down through the hub into the barrel. Perfect. Then Gracie’s numbers got really wonky and I looked closely and found the end of the needle was now in the hub and so it was drawing insulin from the barrel and the hub. When I measured it, it was about 0.5u if insulin in there but it seemed to vary. Ella also noted this and did a drawing.
https://docs.google.com/document/d/18Sy-_ED9Vi_119OVGEF71zZ0PM6op2R_07oz578xaWU

My thought is that if you are seeing consistent numbers and you like the MJs, don’t change. If you are seeing a bit of winking SS that you can’t really account for, then it’s up to you. It does make dosing with calipers a challenge as you have no idea how much insulin is in the hub. Or you might get a box that is perfect and there’s no insulin in the hub.

I’m glad he’s headed down, Debra. We will get him back going again! I would decide on a syringe and stick with it because the doses don’t always translate exactly from syringe type to syringe type and we want to be as consistent with him as we can.

I did use Walgreens syringes once and I don’t recall a hub but that was long, long ago. Things change.
 
Carla

I discovered this with the MJs long, long ago. They have a hub above barrel of the syringe. When I first started using them, I noted the needle came down through the hub into the barrel. Perfect. Then Gracie’s numbers got really wonky and I looked closely and found the end of the needle was now in the hub and so it was drawing insulin from the barrel and the hub. When I measured it, it was about 0.5u if insulin in there but it seemed to vary. Ella also noted this and did a drawing.
https://docs.google.com/document/d/18Sy-_ED9Vi_119OVGEF71zZ0PM6op2R_07oz578xaWU

My thought is that if you are seeing consistent numbers and you like the MJs, don’t change. If you are seeing a bit of winking SS that you can’t really account for, then it’s up to you. It does make dosing with calipers a challenge as you have no idea how much insulin is in the hub. Or you might get a box that is perfect and there’s no insulin in the hub.

I’m glad he’s headed down, Debra. We will get him back going again! I would decide on a syringe and stick with it because the doses don’t always translate exactly from syringe type to syringe type and we want to be as consistent with him as we can.

I did use Walgreens syringes once and I don’t recall a hub but that was long, long ago. Things change.

Last night I started with the Sure Comfort syringe because I had previously purchased them but after receiving them in the mail I found that their markings were so sloppy that I chose to switch syringes and found Monojects-bad choice:):):) I didn't know about hubs at that time, but now that I am more educated I thought that the Sure Comfort would be a starting point as I don't see a hub with them.

So last night I did some research on line and I found a brand called Comfort E Z. I was going to purchase them at ADW and give them a try. I understand what you are saying about doses not always translating exactly the same way. What do you think, should I buy the Comfort EZ and try them or stay with the sloppy markings with Sure Comfort?
If you know of a syringe that I should be using, please tell me.
 
Last night I started with the Sure Comfort syringe because I had previously purchased them but after receiving them in the mail I found that their markings were so sloppy that I chose to switch syringes and found Monojects-bad choice:):):) I didn't know about hubs at that time, but now that I am more educated I thought that the Sure Comfort would be a starting point as I don't see a hub with them.

So last night I did some research on line and I found a brand called Comfort E Z. I was going to purchase them at ADW and give them a try. I understand what you are saying about doses not always translating exactly the same way. What do you think, should I buy the Comfort EZ and try them or stay with the sloppy markings with Sure Comfort?
If you know of a syringe that I should be using, please tell me.
I don’t think you should use a syringe that you feel has sloppy markings. Been there, done that and even with calipers, it’s frustrating.

I wish I knew of a syringe that I could recommend but we still had plenty of Terumos when my little love crossed and I sent them all to Lyresa. If you like the look of the Comfort EZ, then give it a go. Of course, I’m not a good one to talk about switching syringes as I used ReliOns, Walgreens, BDs, and MJs before I finally found the Terumos. Get the ones you like and we will make adjustments as need be on his dose.
 
I don’t think you should use a syringe that you feel has sloppy markings. Been there, done that and even with calipers, it’s frustrating.

I wish I knew of a syringe that I could recommend but we still had plenty of Terumos when my little love crossed and I sent them all to Lyresa. If you like the look of the Comfort EZ, then give it a go. Of course, I’m not a good one to talk about switching syringes as I used ReliOns, Walgreens, BDs, and MJs before I finally found the Terumos. Get the ones you like and we will make adjustments as need be on his dose.

Thank you for just being YOU! You always set my mind at rest and seem to know where I am coming from.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I called ADW and unfortunately the syringe called Comfort EZ does not come in half units, so forget that!
So for now I will stay with the sloppy ugly worn off lines and make the best of it. If and when I find somethng else, I will always tell you before making the switch to a different syringe.

ADW looked through all their suppliers and couldn't offer me any other syringe. The man I spoke with wanted me to know that there are regulations with how syringes are made and that they should all be the same and I should not have any problems with excess insulin. I tried to explain but I feel I was talking to someone who just didn't want to understand so I let it go.

You mentioned that you used ReliOns. I've heard that name before from other members regarding BG meters. is ReliOn any good for a syringe? Should I try it? The Monojects were just nice looking, their lines were clean and straight and pretty accurate with the zero line, better than other brands. I could always still use the Monoject BUT ALWAYS PULL THE PLUNGER DOWN and check the amount of the dose. What do you think about that? I'm probably going to always pull the plunger down and check my dosages now with any syringe; I have become neurotic or should I say more neurotic;)

Well time to check Yo before his PMPS.
Hope you're having a good day.
Hope everyone is doing well.:bighug::bighug:
 
Well looks like the syringes were more accurate than we thought. With a 37, you should take 0.25u reduction to be safe.

I’m out and will write more later but wanted to address this number.
 
Well looks like the syringes were more accurate than we thought. With a 37, you should take 0.25u reduction to be safe.

I’m out and will write more later but wanted to address this number.

Thank you for responding.
I almost fell off of the bed when I saw 37 on human meter. I immediately retested and got 38. Then I tested with Alphatrak2 and got 62. So I know all the meters are correct. But I don't understand Yoyo at all! I am home all day with him and could have tested at any time but I knew he was on the high side and didn't think a +5 or later check was necessary. Wrong, wrong, wrong.

I fed him 2 t HC and I guess he responded well to that food cause his numbers doubled with pet meter and almost tripled with human meter. Is this normal to go so high after 20 minutes of eating HC food?

If you get this before his PMPS what do I do? I need to stall as I fed him at 5:20 pm so I can't recheck for PS until 2 hours after eating. Normal PS and shot is around 7pm, today if I give him his insulin it will be around 7:30pm eastern time.
I'll put a "?" out there in his thread for advice incase I don't hear back from you unitl later.
 
Thank you for responding.
I almost fell off of the bed when I saw 37 on human meter. I immediately retested and got 38. Then I tested with Alphatrak2 and got 62. So I know all the meters are correct. But I don't understand Yoyo at all! I am home all day with him and could have tested at any time but I knew he was on the high side and didn't think a +5 or later check was necessary. Wrong, wrong, wrong.

I fed him 2 t HC and I guess he responded well to that food cause his numbers doubled with pet meter and almost tripled with human meter. Is this normal to go so high after 20 minutes of eating HC food?

If you get this before his PMPS what do I do? I need to stall as I fed him at 5:20 pm so I can't recheck for PS until 2 hours after eating. Normal PS and shot is around 7pm, today if I give him his insulin it will be around 7:30pm eastern time.
I'll put a "?" out there in his thread for advice incase I don't hear back from you unitl later.
A general rule of thumb is that if you change anything, you should monitor more closely. I should have advised you to watch him today since you were changing syringes and he was headed down.

Yes, that is normal if you feed him HC late in the cycle that he would go up. It can really nip the duration to give HC late in the cycle. However, I will say that you don’t have any data as to how he reacts to HC late in the cycle so I can see why you’d do that instead of giving him LC or MC. A 37, especially when you are expecting higher, is scary.

I posted above that, according to the protocol, he should be reduced with a 37. We were going to hold him for three drops between 40-50 but the guidance also states “or one drop below 40” which is where we are. While I’m sure you are thinking what I’m thinking (“I’d like to give him more time at this dose”), the reality is that we have to be safe and we have a new syringe in the mix which can be affecting his BG because we don’t know how accurate it is. And there’s also the question of whether you took the time to determine the caliper reading or whether you just drew up 1.5u on the syringe as it was. That can factor into it as well.

We might have to go up and down around this dose a bit until you get a syringe you like and we can get to more consistent dosing. I know that’s not what either of us want to do but we have to keep him safe. Agreed?
 
A general rule of thumb is that if you change anything, you should monitor more closely. I should have advised you to watch him today since you were changing syringes and he was headed down.

Yes, that is normal if you feed him HC late in the cycle that he would go up. It can really nip the duration to give HC late in the cycle. However, I will say that you don’t have any data as to how he reacts to HC late in the cycle so I can see why you’d do that instead of giving him LC or MC. A 37, especially when you are expecting higher, is scary.

I posted above that, according to the protocol, he should be reduced with a 37. We were going to hold him for three drops between 40-50 but the guidance also states “or one drop below 40” which is where we are. While I’m sure you are thinking what I’m thinking (“I’d like to give him more time at this dose”), the reality is that we have to be safe and we have a new syringe in the mix which can be affecting his BG because we don’t know how accurate it is. And there’s also the question of whether you took the time to determine the caliper reading or whether you just drew up 1.5u on the syringe as it was. That can factor into it as well.

We might have to go up and down around this dose a bit until you get a syringe you like and we can get to more consistent dosing. I know that’s not what either of us want to do but we have to keep him safe. Agreed?

I always AGREE to keep him safe.
Is it safe to give him insulin tonight? My fear is that the HC food is giving a higher reading when he would be lower if I had fed MC food. He seems to be holding around 80 human meter. Pet meter seems to be holding at 126/127. I fear that he will drop again. I don't like this feeling of him being able to drop so low so late in the cycle. I don't even know if he was lower than 37. I never checked him!
 
I always AGREE to keep him safe.
Is it safe to give him insulin tonight? My fear is that the HC food is giving a higher reading when he would be lower if I had fed MC food. He seems to be holding around 80 human meter. Pet meter seems to be holding at 126/127. I fear that he will drop again. I don't like this feeling of him being able to drop so low so late in the cycle. I don't even know if he was lower than 37. I never checked him!
I would have expected him to be higher after the HC late in the cycle. It should have worn off by now.

Here’s what I can tell you. If it was me with my cat, I’d reduce the dose to 1.25u, shoot, and monitor closely starting with a +1. Can I guarantee you he won’t go lower tonight? No, I cannot. But you are in control with testing and food! The question to ask yourself is will he be ok with extra testing if necessary, do you have all your supplies, and are you available and able to test through what might be a long cycle. Always be prepared for the most demanding scenario ;)

Conversely, he will shoot up if you skip insulin but he will also come back down in a couple cycles. You could also choose to shoot a reduced dose if you are really worried about what he might do tonight but you feel you don’t want to entirely skip. I will caution you that even with shooting a reduced dose, because of the depot, most of the cycle will likely play out as it would have if you had shot the full dose. Often times after shooting a reduced dose, we see the effects late in the cycle or perhaps in the next cycle. Sometimes, because of the depot, we don’t see any effect at all.

I’m just laying the options out for you but you are the one that has to decide. I will be around this evening until 2 a.m. your time to keep an eye out and help you if he drops low but you know how to handle low numbers :) But I will definitely check in with you until we know he’s safe and sound.

Does that help any?
 
I always AGREE to keep him safe.
Is it safe to give him insulin tonight? My fear is that the HC food is giving a higher reading when he would be lower if I had fed MC food. He seems to be holding around 80 human meter. Pet meter seems to be holding at 126/127. I fear that he will drop again. I don't like this feeling of him being able to drop so low so late in the cycle. I don't even know if he was lower than 37. I never checked him!
I just compared syringes....the sure comfort is measuring greater than .25units but less than .50 units. Approx .35 units greater than monoject. I filled monoject with water at 2 units. Put that water into sure comfort syringe and sure comfort measured aprox 2.35units. So this new syringe is greater by .35 units. So Yo got today actually .35 units more + his Increase of .25units. He got aprox .60 units extra today.
So now how much should I give him as we now know new syringe is greater by .35 units by eye?
 
Here’s what we know:
  • you were drawing the MJs pretty consistently as his numbers were fairly good
  • he looked like he needed more than f1.25u dose with the MJs but he was really safe at that dose
  • he went really low on the Sure Comfort syringe today and it looks like it is off by about 0.35u
My suggestion for safety:
  • shoot the f1.25u with the MJs again to keep him safe
  • let’s see how he does a cycle or two keeping consistent with that syringe; if he needs more insulin, we will continue to use the MJs and raise the dose
  • take the time to investigate other syringes and decide what you want to do and compare to the MJ
Right now, there are just too many variables going on and we need to do what’s best for him until you decide what you want to do about syringes. I will tell you that Ella eventually went back to the MJs and JoyBee uses them. I don’t know who else does. He’s had some variations and ups/downs but nothing that I could specifically point to the MJs as the cause.

NOTE: normally we would reduce the dose to 1.25u due to the 37 but Debra has verified that what she thought was 1.5u was more like 1.85u so we are going to go back to a dose where we know he was safe. Please do not copy this!!!! This is for YoYo only with this circumstance of syringes.
 
Here’s what we know:
  • you were drawing the MJs pretty consistently as his numbers were fairly good
  • he looked like he needed more than f1.25u dose with the MJs but he was really safe at that dose
  • he went really low on the Sure Comfort syringe today and it looks like it is off by about 0.35u
My suggestion for safety:
  • shoot the f1.25u with the MJs again to keep him safe
  • let’s see how he does a cycle or two keeping consistent with that syringe; if he needs more insulin, we will continue to use the MJs and raise the dose
  • take the time to investigate other syringes and decide what you want to do and compare to the MJ
Right now, there are just too many variables going on and we need to do what’s best for him until you decide what you want to do about syringes. I will tell you that Ella eventually went back to the MJs and JoyBee uses them. I don’t know who else does. He’s had some variations and ups/downs but nothing that I could specifically point to the MJs as the cause.

NOTE: normally we would reduce the dose to 1.25u due to the 37 but Debra has verified that what she thought was 1.5u was more like 1.85u so we are going to go back to a dose where we know he was safe. Please do not copy this!!!! This is for YoYo only with this circumstance of syringes.
I am starting to shake....nervous....I think I will give 1 unit from Monoject syringe as that is really 1.50units. I'd rather reduce tonight due to my fears.
He has started to drop again, haven't fed him yet. Do you still feel it is safe to shoot him tonight?
 
I am starting to shake....nervous....I think I will give 1 unit from Monoject syringe as that is really 1.50units. I'd rather reduce tonight due to my fears.
He has started to drop again, haven't fed him yet. Do you still feel it is safe to shoot him tonight?
The longer you wait to shoot, the more he will drop.

If you are really scared and you can live with high numbers tomorrow for a bit, then maybe you want to skip and let the depot drain from that extra insulin he got with the Sure Comforts. I feel that is what you would prefer to do because it has you worried. Since he has no history of DKA, you are fine to do that.

If you do want to shoot, don’t wait any longer. It’s best to shoot and get food in him to start him rising. If you just want to give him 1u, that’s fine. Still remember that he will need extra testing until we know he’s still coming up past the normal +1 food spike. He still has a larger depot.
 
Hey Debra

Are you there and ok? I’m here to support whatever you’d like to do. I know this has you really stressed and I totally understand. Just take a deep breath and follow your gut. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hey Debra

Are you there and ok? I’m here to support whatever you’d like to do. I know this has you really stressed and I totally understand. Just take a deep breath and follow your gut. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Oh appreciate you more than you will ever know....never doubt my loyalty and love to you!!!

I did it and I feel good about my decision. I gave him 1 unit from Monoject syringe. And I know you don't know me but I do not lie or fib and I recheck things over and over.....well before I gave him his shot tonight of 1 unit from the Monoject syringe I pulled the plunger down and I had exactly 1 unit as I measured. So that is probably why he gets those crazy lows out of no where. Not all of those syringes have an excess. I just learned that!!! And when he goes low it is because he is probably getting that + .50 or more in excess from the faulty needle placement in the hub.

Hope you aren't disappointed in me that I only gave him 1 unit but I wanted to give him something but I didn't want to give the full dose. I know you said that he can still drop but that was the choice I made. Hope it is right!! I will watch him like a hawk. I need to go finish feeding him his 1 can. Do you think I should offer MC at +1 to be safe instead of LC? I usually don't feed again until his medicine time which is normally +2 but because of delay of insulin his +1 will be time for his medicine so I will feed him then. Do you think LC or MC even if BG number is a normal one?
 
Oh appreciate you more than you will ever know....never doubt my loyalty and love to you!!!

I did it and I feel good about my decision. I gave him 1 unit from Monoject syringe. And I know you don't know me but I do not lie or fib and I recheck things over and over.....well before I gave him his shot tonight of 1 unit from the Monoject syringe I pulled the plunger down and I had exactly 1 unit as I measured. So that is probably why he gets those crazy lows out of no where. Not all of those syringes have an excess. I just learned that!!! And when he goes low it is because he is probably getting that + .50 or more in excess from the faulty needle placement in the hub.

Hope you aren't disappointed in me that I only gave him 1 unit but I wanted to give him something but I didn't want to give the full dose. I know you said that he can still drop but that was the choice I made. Hope it is right!! I will watch him like a hawk. I need to go finish feeding him his 1 can. Do you think I should offer MC at +1 to be safe instead of LC? I usually don't feed again until his medicine time which is normally +2 but because of delay of insulin his +1 will be time for his medicine so I will feed him then. Do you think LC or MC even if BG number is a normal one?
I’d test him at +1 and see where he is. If he’s dropped a lot from PMPS, you could try a little MC. It don’t go overboard.

We are headed out for a 30 min walk and then I’ll check back in.
 
Oh appreciate you more than you will ever know....never doubt my loyalty and love to you!!!

I did it and I feel good about my decision. I gave him 1 unit from Monoject syringe. And I know you don't know me but I do not lie or fib and I recheck things over and over.....well before I gave him his shot tonight of 1 unit from the Monoject syringe I pulled the plunger down and I had exactly 1 unit as I measured. So that is probably why he gets those crazy lows out of no where. Not all of those syringes have an excess. I just learned that!!! And when he goes low it is because he is probably getting that + .50 or more in excess from the faulty needle placement in the hub.

Hope you aren't disappointed in me that I only gave him 1 unit but I wanted to give him something but I didn't want to give the full dose. I know you said that he can still drop but that was the choice I made. Hope it is right!! I will watch him like a hawk.

First, I could never be disappointed in you. I’m here to help, not judge. I trust your gut. I know how meticulous you are with him. I would not doubt you. :)

But, we need to figure this syringe thing out. One option is to keep the MJs and measure his dose with the calipers further “down” the syringe like between 1u and 2u. But that’s going to be a challenge if you get bubbles. So that option isn’t the best. If you like the MJs, maybe ask JoyBee how she is getting around the hub issue.

I also have measurements for calipers for Carepoint syringes and ReliOn and those are on the Dosing with Calipers post. Once you figure out which one you want to use, we will see how he’s doing and adjust the dose.

For tomorrow and until you decide, I would use the MJs and go back to dosing as you were at f1.25u.

One thing I discovered is that it isn’t super accurate drawing water into one syringe and seeing how many units it is in another. Logically, it should work but I did try that and couldn’t get repeatable results.
 
A little breathing room at +1!

Yes. Hopefully +2 will be normal for him.

I try and think what happened. And the only thing that I can think of is that he must have dropped all afternoon and I never checked him after his +4. So with no food he stayed low until I finally checked him. I feel awful. But I am thankful that he is fine and did not go into hypo.

My next thoughts are that every Monoject is not in excess of.5 units or more of insulin and on the days that he has had those big drops the syringe must have had an excess of insulin at .5 or greater.

BUT it is really strange that every syringe that I tested yesterday was .5 or more in excess of insulin. And I tested a lot of syringes. And yet he has only had a few low drops in BG. Doesn't make sense!! In other words with the monoject syringes I would have thought if a lot of them have excess insulin then a lot of his cycles would have gone low. That is what I don't get! But I can't think of anything else that would cause those drops. All I know is that I will pull the plunger down with each dosage to check what I am giving him. My trust is gone with syringes. Very sad! And then tonight the Monoject syringe that I used was accurate-not over at all.

Do you have any thoughts? You understand all of this much more than I do, so please tell me what you think is going on with Yoyo.
 
And the only thing that I can think of is that he must have dropped all afternoon and I never checked him after his +4. So with no food he stayed low until I finally checked him.
Makes sense. Just remember for the future, when you make a change, best to test a bit more at first. :) Lesson learned.....it happens to every single one of us.

In other words with the monoject syringes I would have thought if a lot of them have excess insulin then a lot of his cycles would have gone low
There can be other things at play: amount of absorption might have been more on those days. It might have seemed like 0.5u but perhaps it was more.

Sometimes it is clear what is going on and sometimes I don’t have an answer for you. Maybe if I was there looking at the syringes and measuring the volumes, I could perhaps know more but I don’t. I only know every syringe type has variations from syringe to syringe. There is also the variation that happens if we are eyeballing a dose (not saying you are but many do). Some people are excellent at eyeballing; I was absolutely not. Even if you aren’t really comfy with calipers and measuring it the same way every day, there can be variation.

You do the best you can and I know you are. There are days when we don’t know why the numbers do what they do. Insulin is a hormone and so we aren’t going to necessarily get the same response every day. It’s working with a lot of other physiological processes in the body that can cause variations.

I know you would like a more concrete explanation than that and I’m sorry I don’t have one. Sometimes we just have to let it go and hope it was an anomaly :rolleyes:
 
Hi,

You had asked earlier if I measured the Sure Comfort syringe by caliper.

I had a response today about coverting units into mm and the response was to do it myself by measuring the syringe at the zero line down to the 30th unit and divide that number by 30.
So I measured 1.36mm / 1unit. I added .68mm for an additional 1/2unit and the total is 2.04mm = 1.50units.
I took the caliper at 2.04mm and it was at the 1.50unit line of the Sure Comfort syringe. So there line was accurate.

But to answer your original question, I did not use the caliper when giving the dose. I used the line from the syringe.

Gonna go get a +3:nailbiting::nailbiting:;););)
 
Makes sense. Just remember for the future, when you make a change, best to test a bit more at first. :) Lesson learned.....it happens to every single one of us.


There can be other things at play: amount of absorption might have been more on those days. It might have seemed like 0.5u but perhaps it was more.

Sometimes it is clear what is going on and sometimes I don’t have an answer for you. Maybe if I was there looking at the syringes and measuring the volumes, I could perhaps know more but I don’t. I only know every syringe type has variations from syringe to syringe. There is also the variation that happens if we are eyeballing a dose (not saying you are but many do). Some people are excellent at eyeballing; I was absolutely not. Even if you aren’t really comfy with calipers and measuring it the same way every day, there can be variation.

You do the best you can and I know you are. There are days when we don’t know why the numbers do what they do. Insulin is a hormone and so we aren’t going to necessarily get the same response every day. It’s working with a lot of other physiological processes in the body that can cause variations.

I know you would like a more concrete explanation than that and I’m sorry I don’t have one. Sometimes we just have to let it go and hope it was an anomaly :rolleyes:

Ok....+3 even higher at 205 human meter and 293 pet meter. Would you say he is bouncing already from the low 37 today? Is this something you thought could happen just like he could have also gone low?

Can you also tell me how to get back on track with his normal PS times. Can I do a half hour earlier everyday or 15 minutes each cycle per day(2x) or do I need to skip a day to do this pattern?

Thank you for all your time tonight. (As if I'm the only thing you have to do all night)!
I know you must be busy, so please know I appreciate everything you do for Yo and me...
Many Thanks:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ok....+3 even higher at 205 human meter and 293 pet meter. Would you say he is bouncing already from the low 37 today? Is this something you thought could happen just like he could have also gone low?
Yes. He could be bouncing already. Yes, I’m not surprised that he’s bouncing after a 37.

You shot at +13 so, if he’s still really high at +11, you could shoot one hour early and be back on time. If he’s not high, shoot 30 mins early. Normally we say, 30 mins a day or 15 mins a cycle but as long as he’s not in green numbers or dropping lower blue, you have enough data, etc that you could shoot 30 mins early each cycle and be back on time tomorrow night.

Hi,

You had asked earlier if I measured the Sure Comfort syringe by caliper.

I had a response today about coverting units into mm and the response was to do it myself by measuring the syringe at the zero line down to the 30th unit and divide that number by 30.
So I measured 1.36mm / 1unit. I added .68mm for an additional 1/2unit and the total is 2.04mm = 1.50units.
I took the caliper at 2.04mm and it was at the 1.50unit line of the Sure Comfort syringe. So there line was accurate.

But to answer your original question, I did not use the caliper when giving the dose. I used the line from the syringe.

Gonna go get a +3:nailbiting::nailbiting:;););)
Well, that’s not the way I did it or would do it. :blackeye: I suggested in the video to find several perfect syringes and measure one unit. When you find several good ones, the variation should be minimal.

I’m always happy to help you and sweet Yo. Rest well tonight.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yes. He could be bouncing already. Yes, I’m not surprised that he’s bouncing after a 37.

You shot at +13 so, if he’s still really high at +11, you could shoot one hour early and be back on time. If he’s not high, shoot 30 mins early. Normally we say, 30 mins a day or 15 mins a cycle but as long as he’s not in green numbers or dropping lower blue, you have enough data, etc that you could shoot 30 mins early each cycle and be back on time tomorrow night.


Well, that’s not the way I did it or would do it. :blackeye: I suggested in the video to find several perfect syringes and measure one unit. When you find several good ones, the variation should be minimal.

I’m always happy to help you and sweet Yo. Rest well tonight.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Ok....I will measure again and do it your way.

I'll get a +4 soon. If still high I'll try and sleep a little and set my alarm for 2 hours to retest. I'm more paranoid now than ever; I feel like I need to be the energizer bunny....I can see that commercial now....sorry-I'm sleep deprived:)
 
Ok....I will measure again and do it your way.

I'll get a +4 soon. If still high I'll try and sleep a little and set my alarm for 2 hours to retest. I'm more paranoid now than ever; I feel like I need to be the energizer bunny....I can see that commercial now....sorry-I'm sleep deprived:)
He’s on the way up...you should just sleep.

Night!
 
Back
Top