4/3 SIUJIM amps (360) +2 (372) +4(320) + 6 (288) +8 (378)

Status
Not open for further replies.

sun

Member Since 2010
siujim sugar is still quite high. yet, she feels better and in good living condition after visiting the animal communicator.
these are the figures we had and vet suggested for a day hospital stay to make sure figures i had at home are correct and she has further raised to 3 unit on 3rd april (in the hospital stay).
pls note previous reading here:
http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key= ... utput=html

one thing though i raised the suggestion some of you folks mentioned here that we can try all over agian from 1 unit. the vet rejected it and said only further raise is the way. pls note.

1st april: amps (445), +4 (369), +8 (349), pmps (414)

2nd april: amps (432), +3 (378), pmps (390) and her urine level is quite ok, pmps (though it means 2 hrs before) is 50-100mg, also, she is better today. emotionally quite calm. i talked to her a lot, i think the animal communicator did help a lot

vet suggested raised to 3 unit, figures at a full day stay in clinic: amps (360), +2 (372) +4 (320) + 6 (288) +8 (378) pmps (396)

vet suggested to try 3 unit for 2 more weeks and see how siujim does.

what is your opinion?
also, the line is pretty flat, means she is not really responding to the insulin, or she can't produce insulin by herself at all. may i ask, what is your experience on such kind of figures?

she only weights 2.56kg and now on 3 unit. vet said usually 0.5 unit/kg can put a cat in remission...

another question: as siujim likes fish more, i realize there is a new recipe in wellness which is grain free yet with potato and sweet potato and egg whites.
is this suitable for diabetes cat?
http://www.wellnesspetfood.com/cat_well ... _tuna.html

then i don't need to add vit myself on the shrimp + tuna raw because i don't have all the vit/supplements.

thxssssssssss a lot!
 
I'm glad to see that you're testing more now! That is the very best way for you to know what is going on with Siujim.

It does look like she needs more insulin, so in my opinion an increase was the right thing to do. Keep testing - there is a chance this is too much insulin, since your earlier dose increases were done without much data. If that is the case, then you might catch Siujim at a lower number at some point in the middle of a cycle. In some ways, the mid-cycle tests are almost MORE important than the ones at shot times (though of course you need to keep doing those too!). Those mid-cycle numbers will tell you if Siujim is in safe numbers all day long, and will help you start to see what her patterns are.

With regards to your vet's comment about 0.5u/kg leading to remission, we have had a LOT of cats here over the years and we have not noticed a correlation between weight and dose. We generally use 0.25u/kg as a good starting dose, but most cats need to go up from there. 3 units is not an uncommon dose around here, usually the high flat numbers just mean that the cat has not gotten to their breakthrough dose yet. At some point, you will do a dose increase and all of a sudden Siujim will have a breakthrough and start getting lower numbers in the middle of the cycle. That's why it is so important to keep testing. Great job!
 
Hello! I just wanted to stop by your condo. Hope you get some nicer numbers soon. The people here have lots and lots of experience with diabetes dosing, so you are in good hands.
 
thanks for your support.

what worries me is that it seems like the higher the dose, the higher the sugar level which is very abnormal. it's been more than 3 months.
from the figures, since 1.25 unit to 1.75, then 2, then 2.5, and now 3.
sugar level is higher and higher. not a single time lower.

do u have any idea what it means?
thanks.

Boo said:
Hello! I just wanted to stop by your condo. Hope you get some nicer numbers soon. The people here have lots and lots of experience with diabetes dosing, so you are in good hands.
 
It means your cat has feline diabetes (FD). A lot can change over 3 months.

One of the (many ;) ) backwards things about feline diabetes is that too little insulin and too much insulin can both show similar results. In the short term, too little insulin MIGHT be dangerous... but too much is much more dangerous..

So when we see a new cat come in with very little BG meter testing.. and things are a little fuzzy about how they got to the dose they are at, we error on the side of caution. This also gives the owner a chance to get familiar with BG meter testing, develop a routine as far as testing goes and learn about how their cat specifically reacts to insulin.

The problem (or blessing hehe) with a lot of cats with FD is that the their body doesn't know how to use insulin properly, there isn't even necessarily a shortage of it available.

I'm sure that someone can come up with a better analogy.. but I'll give it a shot. Insulin carries energy from your cats blood stream into it's muscles and brain that it needs to function. But in many cats, there's a net in the way, blocking part of this process. So we flood the body with insulin so that SOME of the energy gets through the net to where it needs to go. Eventually, the net breaks. Sometimes it's gradual, but sometimes it happens VERY quickly. For example, one cat that is starting their remission trial today went from a 5U dose to 1U in one week.

If Siujim is one of those cats that it happens very quickly with, and you aren't prepared with enough data and experience (gathered through testing) in knowing how your cat typically reacts, it can be fatal.

Now, like I said, too much insulin and too little can look almost identical. But Libby has a really good eye for FD.. if she thinks that Siujim is one of those cats with a big "net" in the way, then there's a pretty darn good chance that there is. The problem now is, that net could break at any time, and you aren't testing enough.

If you choose to aggressively try to break the net, you have GOT to test more. We can tell you really care about your cat, and that's why we nag you so much. It is VERY important. You have to test preshot, and in the middle (day and night) whenever you can. We realize that real life (school/work/whatever) make it difficult, but I just can not emphasis enough how important this is for your cat.
 
thxxx so very much.
i will try as much as i can.
in fact, i am the only one in the family who can take care of siujim.
and i need to work full time.

again, i will try as much as we can.

in hong kong, we do have acupuncture as well. and i may also try.
her kidney problem is healed by acupuncture and supplement. not medicine.
 
There are lots of single cat moms and dads around who work full time. It's definitely not easy.. but do your best, that's all Siujim expects of you. Get preshot tests, get a test when you get home from work, before bed, on days off test a lot more.. set an alarm for the middle of the night to grab a test at +5 or 6 when you can, etc. You may have to get creative about it, but I think you can make it happen.

With practice (and it's not easy at first that's for sure).. doing a test only takes a couple minutes.. and every bit of data helps.
 
thxxx a lot.
i will try my best.

also am trying to make sure things that i feed her is ok.

since late feb until last week. she was on a potassium supplement because her blood test showed her k was very very low.
it did help her to resume vitality/mobility

yet, i later realized the type of potassium is potassium gluconate (kaminox by vet plus, a UK company).
http://www.vetuk.co.uk/index.php?main_p ... cts_id=327
she was on 4ml (900mg potassium gluconate) per day for 3 weeks, then 1-2ml for day until 1 week ago, i quit this as i doubt if it makes her not responding to the insulin.

do u know whether is there anything to do with the problem -- the higher the dose of insulin and higher the sugar level?

thanks

Dawn & Nova said:
There are lots of single cat moms and dads around who work full time. It's definitely not easy.. but do your best, that's all Siujim expects of you. Get preshot tests, get a test when you get home from work, before bed, on days off test a lot more.. set an alarm for the middle of the night to grab a test at +5 or 6 when you can, etc. You may have to get creative about it, but I think you can make it happen.

With practice (and it's not easy at first that's for sure).. doing a test only takes a couple minutes.. and every bit of data helps.
 
I have no idea about those suppliments. I know that insulin can do weird things with potassium levels but I don't know enough about it to offer you any insight.

Maybe search online for human diabetes? Feline diabetes and human diabetes have a lot of differences, but a lot of similarities too.. maybe you can find some information to help you guess?
 
Oh you could try asking in the "Feline diabetes health" forum.. more people will see it then in a daily condo.
 
thx. i posted a message there.
thx.
anson
Dawn & Nova said:
Oh you could try asking in the "Feline diabetes health" forum.. more people will see it then in a daily condo.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top