4/3 Raven AMPS 366 +3 313 +5 302 + 6 327 +9 300 PMPS 362

SophieFRA

Member Since 2023
Sorry for skipping the post yesterday. Busy weekend. Numbers remain higher than I’d like to see and I would consider a dose increase tomorrow although I’ll be away at work.

However I’m beginning to suspect my insulin could be past its prime. According to the stamp it’s good until 2024, but I got it from my rescue organization open and I’ve used it for close to 2 month myself. So will try another open bottle I recently received tonight to see if that makes a difference before increasing the dose further. Just read that you shouldn’t use insulin for longer than 6 weeks. So I’m way beyond that.

@Margaret (and Pearl) - regarding your question on Raven’s treatment plan, the vet did indicate that steroids might be considered in the future if diet change does not solve the problem long term. She said she’d stick with the raw diet, probiotics, and psyllium husk if it works and said she would recommend 2 vet visits a year for diabetes as well as this with potential blood work if indicated. But no matter of course regular ultrasounds without further reason.

@Margaret (and Pearl)
@Bandit's Mom

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-1-raven-amps-338-3-288-6-242-8-322-pmps-402.275973/
 
Last edited:
However I’m beginning to suspect my insulin could be past its prime. According to the stamp it’s good until 2024, but I got it from my rescue organization open and I’ve used it for close to 2 month myself. So will try another open bottle I recently received tonight to see if that makes a difference before increasing the dose further. Just read that you shouldn’t use insulin for longer than 6 weeks. So I’m way beyond that.


For an unopened/not yet used, the pen/vial is good until the expiration date printed on the label. For an in-use pen/vil the manufacture says good for 28 days or so. However, that is if unrefrigerated. The manufacturer says nothing about if refrigerated.
The 28 days refers to humans
I have used a lantus pen for up to six months, keep your insulin in the fridge middle shelf
 
For an unopened/not yet used, the pen/vial is good until the expiration date printed on the label. For an in-use pen/vil the manufacture says good for 28 days or so. However, that is if unrefrigerated. The manufacturer says nothing about if refrigerated.
The 28 days refers to humans
I have used a lantus pen for up to six months, keep your insulin in the fridge middle shelf
Oh I see. Thank you! This has been refrigerated and transported on ice. So less likely that that this is an issue. I think I’ll switch just in case to make sure there is no issue.
 
So I decided to increase the dose to 2.75 this evening after 5 cycles on 2.5 given the continued high numbers. This way I can at least do some checks later this evening. I’ll be in the office all day Tuesday through Thursday.

I tried the other (half empty) lantus bottle I was recently gifted to see if I’d get different results with a different batch, but there was some kind of vacuum situation that kept pulling all the insulin back into the vile. So I decided not to mess with it. Need to read up on whether this can be remedied somehow. Has anyone had this issue before?

@Bandit's Mom @Diane Tyler's Mom @Margaret (and Pearl)
 
I tried the other (half empty) lantus bottle I was recently gifted to see if I’d get different results with a different batch, but there was some kind of vacuum situation that kept pulling all the insulin back into the vile. So I decided not to mess with it. Need to read up on whether this can be remedied somehow. Has anyone had this issue before?
I think that with a vial, you need to inject air into it with the syringe before drawing out the insulin. With a pen you don't need to since the pen has a reverse pressure mechanism built in.

I'm going to tag @Wendy&Neko for her inputs on the ultrasound results / IBD Dx that you posted on a previous thread:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3059503/
 
I think that with a vial, you need to inject air into it with the syringe before drawing out the insulin. With a pen you don't need to since the pen has a reverse pressure mechanism built in.

I'm going to tag @Wendy&Neko for her inputs on the ultrasound results / IBD Dx that you posted on a previous thread:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3059503/
Thank you! Yes I do that every time but with this vial something was off with the pressure -even though I did this. The membrane was also slightly curved in like there was a vacuum. This was donated half empty - so not sure if previous user mishandled it.
 
Back
Top