? 4/3 Murphy AMPS 295 +4 67 - worried !

hi everyone.. so I ran a curve on murphy monday and his nadir was in the 200’s, so I went up .25 and today his +4 is 67 and i’m
worried, im home all day and can test but is there something I should do??? please help… thank you so much. ps he’s ok for now, just scared of some bad weather



https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...276-pmps-334-dose-advice.288015/#post-3163969
Woah! I think he's technically in dark green not lime green with that number. Do you have any higher carb or medium carb wet food on hand? Also some type of syrup, like honey?

The first time this happened to me the FDMB members walked me through it. You can test every 30ish mins and if the number dips dangerously low give Murphy some syrup and higher carb food to slow the drop.

I would gather all those things so you can be ready when an experienced member responds with advice!
 
Woah! I think he's technically in dark green not lime green with that number. Do you have any higher carb or medium carb wet food on hand? Also some type of syrup, like honey?

The first time this happened to me the FDMB members walked me through it. You can test every 30ish mins and if the number dips dangerously low give Murphy some syrup and higher carb food to slow the drop.

I just rubbed some karo syrup on his gums just in case.. i’ve never had to deal with a hypo event I do have gravy lovers wet food but he didn’t want any !
 
Ok maybe you can try testing again in another 10-15 mins now that you rubbed karo syrup on his gums and see where his numbers are at.

For the wet food, did you try heating it up (maybe like 10 seconds in the microwave) to entice him to eat?
 
Ok maybe you can try testing again in another 10-15 mins now that you rubbed karo syrup on his gums and see where his numbers are at.

For the wet food, did you try heating it up (maybe like 10 seconds in the microwave) to entice him to eat?


no I didn’t know to try that but I will ! what about making him boiled chicken???
 
I don't have experience with homemade food, but I read others on this sub do it! Do you have time to try that right now?
 
Ok, if I were you I would test again. One time Falafel dipped all the way down to 42 and she was still acting totally normal! (Not to scare you!! But I would test just to see what's going on.)
 
Ok, if I were you I would test again. One time Falafel dipped all the way down to 42 and she was still acting totally normal! (Not to scare you!! But I would test just to see what's going on.)

I just retested and it went down to 61 I syringe
feed him some of the gravy from the food, and some
temptation treats !
 
no I didn’t know to try that but I will ! what about making him boiled chicken???

I'm not sure boiled chicken has enough carbs but I reckon if he eats it, it's still better than nothing. You could even mix it with the syrup, or the gravy from canned food (the gravy is usually the carb loaded part anyway). Don't feed too much at once, you want to keep him hungry so he is eager to eat in case you have to keep steering the numbers with food for a while.

Try to test every 30 mins if possible.
 
not really, he’s eating treats ! and he’s acting normal !

Stela would go as low as 38 and still act totally normal, if I didn't test you couldn't tell her BG was so low. Even with no symptoms, you definitely want to stay alert but try not to panic. You can handle this and you are already doing great :)

Btw why is the number lime green? Do you color them manually? 67 is still within the normal, dark green range but it indeed is quite a dip from AMPS
 
You definitely want to stay alert but try not to panic, you can handle this and you are already doing great :)

Btw why is the number lime green? Do you color them manually? 67 is still within the normal, dark green range but it indeed is quite a dip from AMPS

I don’t color them manually, i’m not sure why it’s doing that !
 
You definitely want to stay alert but try not to panic, you can handle this and you are already doing great :)

Btw why is the number lime green? Do you color them manually? 67 is still within the normal, dark green range but it indeed is quite a dip from AMPS

and thank you so much! I appreciate the support
 
I'm not sure boiled chicken has enough carbs but I reckon if he eats it, it's still better than nothing. You could even mix it with the syrup, or the gravy from canned food (the gravy is usually the carb loaded part anyway). Don't feed too much at once, you want to keep him hungry so he is eager to eat in case you have to keep steering the numbers with food for a while.

Try to test every 30 mins if possible.
anxiously waiting the 4 minutes to test again lol
 
You are using the spreadsheet fot a pet meter which is why numbers below 68 are showing as lime. I can help switch it to a human meter format.
As long as you can test and feed, you have the means to keep him safe, so don't worry. :bighug:

How long since the 61? And how long now since the shot? +5?

thanks so much!! so his +4 was 67, about 30 min later it was 61, and 30 minutes after that it was still 61! he got his shot at 8am so now it’s 5.5 hours since !
 
You are using the spreadsheet fot a pet meter which is why numbers below 68 are showing as lime. I can help switch it to a human meter format.
As long as you can test and feed, you have the means to keep him safe, so don't worry. :bighug:

How long since the 61? And how long now since the shot? +5?


what do I do for tomorrow when I go back to work? I wont be home to test him for 10 hours - now i’m worried to give him his increased dose
 
Back
Top