4/3 Jupiter PMPS-246/+2-283/+3.5-274

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to yesterdays post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=92360

AMPS - 284

Not seeing too much improvement with the increased dose - hoping to see some lower numbers today. I am still working hard to transition the cats over to the pate - mixing less and less shreds with gravy in each day.

Jupiter was a little playful this morning which made me very happy to see!!
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter AMPS-284/+2-228

+2 was 228.

I am not sure if I should test him at +3 or +4? Since thats a pretty decent size drop in his BG.

He ate right after AMPS and he ate a little right after +2.

Any opinions on when to test? Thanks
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter AMPS-284/+2-228 need opinion plz

Good job on the food transitions - lil kitties can be so picky! In looking at your numbers, I think you would be ok waiting until +4, but it's really up to you. If Jupiter doesn't mind the testing, you should do what you need to do for your own peace of mind. That's my opinion, anyway.
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter AMPS-284/+2-228 need opinion plz

At least so far, Jupiter doesn't look like he's prone to fast, early drops in his numbers. I agree with Tara, I think you could safely wait until +4.
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter AMPS-284/+2-228 need opinion plz

Thanks for your replies everyone! I will test at +4.

Katie - I am really hoping so!
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter AMPS-284/+2-228/+4-271 need opinion plz

Okay so Amps was 284 then +2 was 228 and now +4 has gone back up a bit and is 271. Since his number is a little higher now - do I still need to test him again in the next few hours?
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter AMPS-284/+2-228/+4-271 need opinion plz

All right Jupiter... are you and I going to have to have a serious talk? :lol: :lol: :lol: Well, it looks like the blues still elude... I'm still staying positive for tonight. Again, I'm no expert, but I would think that if he's back up to 271 you probably wouldn't need to test. I still have my paws crossed for you tonight.
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter PMPS-246 question

PMPS number wasnt too bad tonight..

Jupiter is being a picky eater tonight though.

Am I going to need to increase the dose soon?? Or when is the appropriate time to do the next dose increase?
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter PMPS-246

nice yellows. I think the rule of thumb is every 6 cycles. sienne or marje will verify but yes maybe 1.75 starting tomorrow.
let's see what the +2 is.
i am off to bed. waaaaaaaaaaay past my bed time
doing a great job
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter PMPS-246

Honestly Id rather see action during the day - not at night - but at this point I will take it whenever lol just want his numbers to come down a little bit
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter PMPS-246

if his AMPS number tomorrow was lower would i still do the dose increase? just want to be prepared
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter PMPS-246

I think it's a matter of what you mean by low. If you have a number under 150, post and ask for help. We'll walk you through what to do the first few times you run into a low pre-shot numbers. Yellows or high blues should be fine to shoot but any time you're unsure or have a question, post and we'll lend a hand.
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter PMPS-246

Thank you - I just want to be completely prepared. I worry about my baby boy Jupe all the time and I feel much less worried when I know what to do. He is being so picky with food today, he seems to only want seafood.
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter PMPS-246

All right Jupiter! Now we're getting somewhere. That's a pretty nice PMPS for him and I'm thinking at least 1 blue for tonight. Come on Jupiter... Let's go Jupiter!
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter PMPS-246

hey katie, yep im excited - that is his 2nd lowest PSBG so far.

I am not sure why but he is being so picky today, he has been getting better with the pate - there are 3 flavors he will eat plain with no shreds mixed in (beef,salmon,ocean whitefish & tuna) He will only eat the other pates if I mix shreds in. He wouldnt even eat other foods mixed with shreds today though. He wouldnt eat after his shots until I put out seafood. He usually really likes the beef kind too but just refused to eat it today. Sat next to bowl and just kept staring at me.. even meowed at me once... weird
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter PMPS-246

Well, go figure... get a good number finally and then he pulls the rug out from under you on something else. I hope it's just a temporary thing. I've been doing some more reading on the feline nutrition and remember reading about seafood for kitties. Dr. Lisa recommended not feeding seafood flavors because it can be addicting and then they won't eat anything else. Right now, Mego is eating the Friskies Turkey & Gibblets and the Ocean Whitefish & Tuna flavors. He eats both no problem, but I'm thinking of getting him on an even lower carb food and eliminating the seafood from the diet. Also, I've read that the seafood flavors can be high in phosphorous and that can be not so good for older kitties and their kidneys. As usual, there's always more reading to do.

Can't wait to see Jupiter's +2 coming up shortly!
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter PMPS-246/+2-283

I really dont understand this at all... Should I wake up in the middle of the night at all to test him tonight? Please if you could give me your opinions I would really appreciate it. Thanks
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter PMPS-246/+2-283 question again plz

Jupiter = Rebel without a cause...? cat(2)_steam Did Jupe eat just after PMPS - did he eat less than usual? Was it still more shreds than pate? I don't think this is a food spike since he typically doesn't show higher numbers at +2. I wonder if those lower numbers just shock his system because he isn't used to them and then he shoots his BG up? You'd have to check with the experts on that one.
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter PMPS-246/+2-283 question again plz

I am not sure at all. thats why I am not sure if I should wake up during the night to test or not.. was going to go to bed very soon.. maybe ill test right before I go to bed?
 
Re: 4/3 Jupiter PMPS-246/+2-283 question again plz

I think he's going to probably have a quiet night. If you're concerned, grab a before bed test.

I know you want to be prepared, Jamie, and that's the best way to be. ....have lots of strips, lancets, different foods, etc. but he's likely to throw a monkey wrench in the works sometime and we will help you through it. Don't panic or be scared...just ask for help :-D

Hope you are feeing better.
 
Before bed test at 3.5 was 274. I left lots of wet canned food out and some catsickles.

A little nervous about the dose increase again tomorrow - but I know everything will be fine because I will be home ALLLL day tomorrow to take care of Jupe.

Thanks Marje.
 
Yes...go to bed and try to rest. You know you can post here whenever you need help, have a question, need support.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top