4/3 Hershey - Does this mean no bounce from 4/2???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Very Active Member
4/2
PM +12 (184) - Trying to catch (200)
+12.5 (262) - Missed it, again!! Was going to shoot .2u as close to (200) as possible.

4/3/12
AMPS (262) - Shot .3u at 3:30am - He ate ~1/2 of what I gave him. I had increased his food since he'd been losing weight, but the last two cycles he's left food - seems he's telling me it's too much. Went back and forth about the dose. Was planning to up the bottom of the scale...but he may be more sensitive to insulin after last night...but... Hoping to be able to drag myself out of bed for the +3

+3 (198) - DNF PS food - finishing it now
+6 (192) - fed 1/2 meal
+8.5 (291) - fed 1/2 meal

PMPS (356) - +12 Shot .7u at 3:30pm - MAJORLY BUMMED
+4 (195)
+6 (220)

Am I still to expect a bounce from yesterday??
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey - +3 (198) - +6 (192)

+6 (192) - fed 1/2 meal

Going to try feeding 1/2 meal at +6 and 1/2 meal at +8 and see what that does. Can't do that every cycle, though -

Really thinking it might be time to lower my 'line in the sand' of (200). Kind of chicken, but wondering if maybe I should try lowering to like...I was thinking, especially for like this morning and 3/23...For this morning it jumped from (184) to (262) in :30, so I could lower to like (180) - but 3/23 it jumped from (160) to (213) in :30 and I'm really not sure I'm comfortable moving it down to include the (160). Guess I'll keep thinking on it...

After 3/23, 3/31, 4/2 PM and today, been wondering - dare I hope - that this is a trend?? Praying...

Would appreciate your thoughts about lowering the 'line in the sand'...I love how we can share our thoughts and advice, then (as I've heard Carl say) leave it to 'the one holding the needle' to make the final decision - and not get upset if they don't take our advice that time.

Thank you for walking with us!!!
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey - +3 (198) - +6 (192)

Libby
I regularly shot mid to low blues with Bob. Two reasons....confidence, and ignorance. Mostly didn't know it was abnormal to do so. The advantage you have is that you know a helluva lot more than I did then, so you can shoot low more safely than I did. It can help you, and him out if you are willing to do it.
But you HAVE to be confident about it. Tiny doses and "as needed" as far as timing.

Carl
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey - +3 (198) - +6 (192)

Libby, I know exactly what you mean about being scared. Mine line was 200. It didn't ever work for me. So I knew I had to change it. I had to get myself mentally prepared for the line change. When I was ready I just went for it. I couldn't put to much thought into it or I would have thought my way out of it. Look I shot .2 into 162 this morning. Some might call me nuts. I say I need to know what .2 will do in 160 range.
I also knew it was fear holding me back. I thought I have all the tools to get Baxter out of a hypo situtation so what am I really scared of? Fear is a very powerful feeling, but don't let it stop you from doing things or learning something new.

Sometimes you just have to go for it. Don't let fear stop you from learning something new.
You have to do what is comfortable for you & what you think is best for Hershey.
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey

+8.5 (291) - fed 1/2 meal

Well, was hoping to learn something by dividing his meal...hoping the numbers would stay lower. But, I don't feel like I learned anything. :YMSIGH: Not that I'm complaining about the (291) or anything

Jenn - I know what you're saying about fear. Really not sure I could do the (162) at this point. Am seriously considering more like the (180) range, though, and feeling pretty confident about it. Hey - he doesn't go that low often, so I wouldn't even have to do it that often! ;-)

Carl - I hear people talk about "as needed," is that not still the 12/12 schedule? Or how does that work? Sure wish I could figure his timing out - thought, for sure, I could catch the (200) this morning and it slipped right through my fingers...again...

So, would you think, for example - 180-200 .2u??
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey

Carl - I hear people talk about "as needed," is that not still the 12/12 schedule? Or how does that work? Sure wish I could figure his timing out - thought, for sure, I could catch the (200) this morning and it slipped right through my fingers...again...

So, would you think, for example - 180-200 .2u??

First, on the dose question, yes I think that would work.

"As needed"... no, you pretty much toss the 12/12 schedule out the window. You draw your line in the sand, and you shoot when he crosses that line. Usually, it's past the time he was supposed to get a shot. This is for kitties who are running longer than 12 hours most of the time, and a lot of people do it when they are about to try an OTJ trial, or during the OTJ trial when the BG goes just a tad too high. When I decided Bob wasn't getting insulin anymore, after a couple days he went over 120, so I gave him .25 right when I got the number. That was his final shot.

The "as needed" method involves really small doses. You're just trying to support a pancreas that is just about doing the job by itself. It messes up your schedule, because when you do shoot, you have to assume you are going to have to shoot again 12 hours later. Sometimes you do, sometimes you don't. So it's like a 12/12 schedule as far as "planning" goes, but it might be shooting every 10, 14 or 16 hours depending on the BGs. It's kind of nerve-wracking, and you can get OCD about it, but it usually means the dance is almost over.
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey

I don't think we're there, yet. Do you? But, it is something to keep in mind. I can't imagine how wacky that would make your life, though! But, I guess you could still just plan on testing say +6, +10 and go from there. Not like you're doing a daily curve (which is the picture I have in my head!) -

I know I mentioned once before that sometimes it seems his insulin fizzles around +10, but then we've had a couple of +13's, so what do I know... :roll:

We're at +11 now, so I'll test again in about :45 and see what we have
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey

I don't think we're there, yet. Do you? But, it is something to keep in mind.
Not yet, but it could happen at any time. Bob went down the dosing ladder pretty quickly. From 4u bid to nothing in about 3-4 weeks.

I can't imagine how wacky that would make your life, though! But, I guess you could still just plan on testing say +6, +10 and go from there. Not like you're doing a daily curve (which is the picture I have in my head!) -
That's what I meant by "you could get OCD over it". Yes, once you are doing that sort of thing, running curves is a once in a while thing, and a +6, or +10 you can do just to make sure it doesn't go too low, or to make sure it's rising and not falling when you do shoot. I was fortunate in that I work where I live, so I could stop by the house anytime during work for a quick test or feeding. The whole island is only 4 miles long, so I was always close by.

Carl
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey PMPS (356)

PMPS (356) - +12 Shot .7u at 3:30pm - MAJORLY BUMMED

Note to Self: If he doesn't finish all of a meal (new development) then make sure to remove his bowl by +9 so it doesn't artificially inflate his numbers. Caught him with his head in the bowl +11.5. There had only been a little around the edges and there was still some when I caught him, so he couldn't have eaten much.

QUESTION: I know stress raises BG. What about playing? Hershey and Oreo were briefly (but intently) chasing up until Hershey heard me getting testing supplies together.
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey PMPS (356)

Exercise should lower BGs, because they are burning up the energy that comes from metabolized carbs. If the play was "stressful" however, it could raise it short term....like if Oreo was the chaser, and Hershey was the chasee. I think stress related BG drops off fairly quickly, once the stress is removed. The drop from exercise should last longer, as the energy needs to be replaced.

Carl
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey PMPS (356)

Their chasing is usually Hershey chasing Oreo. When they wrestle, Hershey lays out with paws in the air growling and spitting (very ferocious ;-) ). I have seen his BG increase at testing time when he gets agitated and I know it takes at least an hour to come down. I guess I was mainly concerned with overdosing since it happened right at testing time. Wish I COULD get him to exercise more, but he doesn't listen to me.
NOT_Listening_by_Momma__G.gif


Went with the .7u - measured and measured, again, until my eyes were starting to cross. I honestly can't tell you, for sure, if it was .7u or a little closer to .8u. I did find the 3/10's with 1/2 unit markings at ADW, so will be ordering them when I order more testing supplies. Almost feel like taking some with me to Walmart to show the lady at the pharmacy that they DO exist :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey PMPS (356)

Bummer on the pmps. But just think you are getting lower and lower on your dose. Awesome! It will come together soon! Hang in there!!!
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey PMPS (356)

Thanks, Lori - I was cautiously hopeful...and pretty bummed about the PMPS. I read all of these remission stories and think...maybe?? But, don't dare be too hopeful...I know we all just want our kitties to be as healthy as possible

Sure helps to have others who understand the high's and low's of this dance. My family and friends, for the most part, don't get it...at all...
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey PMPS (356)

angry(2)_cat
I think we have all been there where the cycle is good & then...blast off. It's frustrating.
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey PMPS (356)

Yeah, Jenn, I was just on your thread. That little cat comes pretty close to where I was at PMPS time. It's like, I keep watching the clock until it's time for the next test...hoping for a better number...but, isn't that like wishing your life away?? :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey PMPS (356)

Doug N Libby said:
Almost feel like taking some with me to Walmart to show the lady at the pharmacy that they DO exist :YMSIGH:

Have you checked another WalMart? Ours carries them, so maybe they were just outa stock? Or maybe go at a different time? I think someone said Walgreens had them too.

Sorry to see the big PS - but what goes up, always comes down. Sometimes even further down for Hershey!

C'mon Hershey - give Mama some pretty numbers!!!
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey PMPS (356)

I only checked at the one WM because that's where I do my major shopping and was there on Sunday. The lady at the pharmacy didn't say they were out of stock, she said they didn't exist. Had Doug thinking I was some kind of crazy bird! (Like he needs any confirmation after almost 22 years of being married to me! :lol: ) I'll try to get to another WM - not so easy these days with Doug taking one vehicle to work and Jessica taking the other to school/work...

Testing in :30 - hoping for a nice safe drop...I'd take some more green...I know - I know - that'd be greedy :smile:
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey PMPS (356)

The lady at our WM brought out all three [open] boxes of the U100s they carry. We looked at each and I bought the sealed box of the ones w/ 1/2 unit markings.

Even though I'm doing the large doses now, I still prefer them - makes me feel like I've at least got a guide to follow... a sense of security that I've drawn the right amt!
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey

+6 (220)

He was getting a little agitated with me, not sure why...but wondering if that could've elevated his numbers...but, who knows...+4 has been his nadir before
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey PMPS (356)

Doug N Libby said:
Yeah, Jenn, I was just on your thread. That little cat comes pretty close to where I was at PMPS time. It's like, I keep watching the clock until it's time for the next test...hoping for a better number...but, isn't that like wishing your life away?? :YMSIGH:


The +4 looks good.

I know sometimes I just clock watch & think geez I live my life in 2-3 hr increments.
 
Re: 4/3 Hershey

Jenn & Baxter said:
[I know sometimes I just clock watch & think geez I live my life in 2-3 hr increments.

I do the same, but the longest 4 minutes is when I give Grayson his fluids.... and he decides to be a wiggle worm!
 
Hershey stayed green yesterday for several hours. Ordinarily, that would've meant sky-high numbers today. But, I haven't seen them, yet. (Not that I miss them or anything!) But, should I expect to still see one??

I was thinking of starting a revised scale today - of course, that was before last night. Now, trying to decide if I should start the new scale of wait until after the bounce...
 
Hello Libby, when you're next at Walmart ask the pharmacy for their insulin syringes with the number 81131-0311-78 printed on the box. They are the ones with the 1/2 units marked and short needles. It does say short needle but nothing about the 1/2 units on the box. Box is white and the stock number is printed on 4 sides of the box. Good luck! Hershey is darling and I enjoy reading your posts.
 
Thank you, Sophie, I'll take that number with me. Sure will be easier on my eyes! @-)

Thanks for the kind words about Hershey; he's a sweetie!
 
Great +4. Love those blue's. Looks like you are not going to bounce. Great improvement. Got to celebrate those baby steps.

Look forward to seeing how he does rest of cycle.
 
I was hoping no bounce, but that's never happened before. Dare I hope that maybe he's getting used to lower numbers? Celebrating all the steps! :-D

I hope you and Copper have a great night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top